We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traveling gem in WV” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dian-Lee House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bluefield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dian-Lee House
2109 Jefferson St, Bluefield, WV 24701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Bluefield B&B and Inns
Marion, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Traveling gem in WV”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The Dian-Lee House was a great to break up our trip on our way home from Myrtle Beach to Ohio. The accommodations were not only comfortable but also beautiful. It felt like we were stepping back in time to the early 1900's. We enjoyed sitting on the veranda and sharing a glass of wine in the early evening. We stayed in the Abraham Lincoln room and it was decorated beautifully. It also had modern conveniences in case we needed them like an ironing board, mini-frig and microwave. It was nice to have a private bathroom adjoining also. The house was clean and comfortable. Preston helped with dining options in the area and also gave us a preview of breakfast the next morning. Breakfast was delicious and served with other guests in the sunroom. This was a fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    6
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
10
30
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed in the Rhett Butler room as an overnight stay en route to a family reunion. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was beautifully furnished. The house is a real showplace - it looks like it probably did when first built 100 years ago. We had a fantastic breakfast - very laid back - no set eating time - we were told we could eat any time between 8 a.m. and 10 a.m. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and accommodating. We felt like we were saying goodbye to family when we had to leave. We will definitely stay there again when our travels take us through Bluefield.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at the Dian-Lee House while on our way home from vacation. The home is beautiful and has wonderful antiques as decor. The B&B has a great manager, Preston, who is very friendly, informative, and helpful! Preston made us feel at home right away! We enjoyed reading on the large, beautiful porch! Our breakfast the next morning was delicious!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Martha Washington Room, where we had a private entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHARLOTTE
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We recently spent five days at the Dian Lee House, Dec. 27 to Jan 1, 2013. The house (B&B) is beautiful with stunning antiques. The gentleman (Preston) who manages the property does everything from cleaning to cooking, entertaining to helping you make plans. He is one of a kind and a guy I would love to clone. The only bad thing about Bluefield is that there is just a handful of decent restaurants and one has to drive twelve miles or so to eat well.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iaeger
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My daughter had her wedding there this past weekend and we were treated GREAT! They went out of their way to make her happy and I can not thank them enough!!!! The top room was wonderful and she got to spend the night before her wedding with good friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Our stay was wonderful in every way. Preston, seemed to be every where, to see to every need. I would recommend a stay in this house in lieu of any hotel, in the Princeton, Bluefield, area. The decor, was equal to walking through a museum. The grounds, and rooms, are surely something to be remembered, long after any trip, or vacation is through. At times I felt as if I were in Savannah, or at least further south. If your planning a trip near The Lee House. It is the place to stay..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I'm a native of Bluefield W Va but hadn't been back in almost 25 years. The AAA Guidebook apprised me of a nice B&B only a few blocks from where my dad used to live. It was a wonderful surprise to find a "historic district" surrounding the Dian-Lee House--which used to be the showplace home of the coal companies' favorite federal jurist, Judge Maynard. The accomodations are outstanding, even elegant downstairs. Parking, although on a typical West Va 45-degree slope, is ample & convenient. Rockers on the spacious front porch brought back childhood memories of leisurely relaxation. The "Lincoln" suite, however, was a bit gloomy (like its namesake) and the window AC roared too loudly all night--although the cooling was welcome on a warm summer night. The breakfast is served on a lovely sun porch, and nobody scrimped on the quality or the portions (I even got my own off-the-menu pancakes). The best thing, really, was the hospitality, enthusiasm and helpfulness of Daniel Clark. His pride in the Dian-Lee House is both justified and infectious! Also, Daniel took time to patiently fill me in on local developments and answer my questions about places & people I remembered from back in the day. As our third small-town B&B on this trip, it was a really good $$ value and proved the rule that congeniality is EVERYTHING in a B&B experience.

Room Tip: The back stairs are convenient, but tough on a rickety knee--try a room at the top of the main stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dian-Lee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dian-Lee House

Address: 2109 Jefferson St, Bluefield, WV 24701
Location: United States > West Virginia > Bluefield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bluefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Dian-Lee House is an old southern mansion. Restored and refurnished with victorian style remanants and period antiques. Taking the traveler back in time to wonders of yesteryear. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dian-Lee House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dian-Lee House to your Saves list