We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B with very helpful, personable staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dian-Lee House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bluefield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dian-Lee House
2109 Jefferson St, Bluefield, WV 24701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Bluefield B&B and Inns
Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful B&B with very helpful, personable staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at the Dian-Lee House while on our way home from vacation. The home is beautiful and has wonderful antiques as decor. The B&B has a great manager, Preston, who is very friendly, informative, and helpful! Preston made us feel at home right away! We enjoyed reading on the large, beautiful porch! Our breakfast the next morning was delicious!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Martha Washington Room, where we had a private entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    6
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
10
30
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CHARLOTTE
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We recently spent five days at the Dian Lee House, Dec. 27 to Jan 1, 2013. The house (B&B) is beautiful with stunning antiques. The gentleman (Preston) who manages the property does everything from cleaning to cooking, entertaining to helping you make plans. He is one of a kind and a guy I would love to clone. The only bad thing about Bluefield is that there is just a handful of decent restaurants and one has to drive twelve miles or so to eat well.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iaeger
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My daughter had her wedding there this past weekend and we were treated GREAT! They went out of their way to make her happy and I can not thank them enough!!!! The top room was wonderful and she got to spend the night before her wedding with good friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Our stay was wonderful in every way. Preston, seemed to be every where, to see to every need. I would recommend a stay in this house in lieu of any hotel, in the Princeton, Bluefield, area. The decor, was equal to walking through a museum. The grounds, and rooms, are surely something to be remembered, long after any trip, or vacation is through. At times I felt as if I were in Savannah, or at least further south. If your planning a trip near The Lee House. It is the place to stay..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I'm a native of Bluefield W Va but hadn't been back in almost 25 years. The AAA Guidebook apprised me of a nice B&B only a few blocks from where my dad used to live. It was a wonderful surprise to find a "historic district" surrounding the Dian-Lee House--which used to be the showplace home of the coal companies' favorite federal jurist, Judge Maynard. The accomodations are outstanding, even elegant downstairs. Parking, although on a typical West Va 45-degree slope, is ample & convenient. Rockers on the spacious front porch brought back childhood memories of leisurely relaxation. The "Lincoln" suite, however, was a bit gloomy (like its namesake) and the window AC roared too loudly all night--although the cooling was welcome on a warm summer night. The breakfast is served on a lovely sun porch, and nobody scrimped on the quality or the portions (I even got my own off-the-menu pancakes). The best thing, really, was the hospitality, enthusiasm and helpfulness of Daniel Clark. His pride in the Dian-Lee House is both justified and infectious! Also, Daniel took time to patiently fill me in on local developments and answer my questions about places & people I remembered from back in the day. As our third small-town B&B on this trip, it was a really good $$ value and proved the rule that congeniality is EVERYTHING in a B&B experience.

Room Tip: The back stairs are convenient, but tough on a rickety knee--try a room at the top of the main stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, VA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Wonderful old home with six rooms (I think) with private baths. Decorated in turn-of-the-century style with many true antiques. Hosts were gracious and helpful. They provided excellent advice and directions to activities near-by. It was almost as if staying with a relative you had not met before. The bed was comfortable and the room was too. Everything was spotlessly clean. The breakfast was wonderful, fresh fruit, orange juice, coffee/tea, and personal cheese & ham quiche with bacon and toast. All this for a great price. Will stay again anytime in this area. The only, and very small, drawback is that it is on a hillside with a steep driveway to off-street parking area.

Room Tip: Enjoyed the Scarlette O'Hara room, but check the web site for options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Visited July 10, 2012. This was our second stay- prior in 2007. Preston our friendly innkeeper made us feel very much at home. Provided interesting history on the house. Breakfast was yummy and filling. He sent us on our way with our favorite teas-what a sweetie!! We'll be back for more front porch sitting!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bluefield
Restaurant, Poo...
Show More
3.7 mi away
Quality Hotel and Conference Center
Free internet...
Show More
12.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Princeton
Free internet...
Show More
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Near Bluefield College
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free Breakfast...
Show More
6.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Bluefield
Comfort Inn Bluefield
#1 of 1 in Bluefield
3.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
Budget, Pool, F...
Show More
11.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Princeton
Hampton Inn Princeton
#2 of 13 in Princeton
4.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
Free Parking, B...
Show More
11.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Princeton / I-77
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dian-Lee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dian-Lee House

Address: 2109 Jefferson St, Bluefield, WV 24701
Location: United States > West Virginia > Bluefield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bluefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Dian-Lee House is an old southern mansion. Restored and refurnished with victorian style remanants and period antiques. Taking the traveler back in time to wonders of yesteryear. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dian-Lee House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dian-Lee House to your Saves list