We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dian-Lee House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bluefield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dian-Lee House
2109 Jefferson St, Bluefield, WV 24701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Bluefield B&B and Inns
Iaeger
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My daughter had her wedding there this past weekend and we were treated GREAT! They went out of their way to make her happy and I can not thank them enough!!!! The top room was wonderful and she got to spend the night before her wedding with good friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    6
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
10
30
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Martinsburg, West Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Our stay was wonderful in every way. Preston, seemed to be every where, to see to every need. I would recommend a stay in this house in lieu of any hotel, in the Princeton, Bluefield, area. The decor, was equal to walking through a museum. The grounds, and rooms, are surely something to be remembered, long after any trip, or vacation is through. At times I felt as if I were in Savannah, or at least further south. If your planning a trip near The Lee House. It is the place to stay..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I'm a native of Bluefield W Va but hadn't been back in almost 25 years. The AAA Guidebook apprised me of a nice B&B only a few blocks from where my dad used to live. It was a wonderful surprise to find a "historic district" surrounding the Dian-Lee House--which used to be the showplace home of the coal companies' favorite federal jurist, Judge Maynard. The accomodations are outstanding, even elegant downstairs. Parking, although on a typical West Va 45-degree slope, is ample & convenient. Rockers on the spacious front porch brought back childhood memories of leisurely relaxation. The "Lincoln" suite, however, was a bit gloomy (like its namesake) and the window AC roared too loudly all night--although the cooling was welcome on a warm summer night. The breakfast is served on a lovely sun porch, and nobody scrimped on the quality or the portions (I even got my own off-the-menu pancakes). The best thing, really, was the hospitality, enthusiasm and helpfulness of Daniel Clark. His pride in the Dian-Lee House is both justified and infectious! Also, Daniel took time to patiently fill me in on local developments and answer my questions about places & people I remembered from back in the day. As our third small-town B&B on this trip, it was a really good $$ value and proved the rule that congeniality is EVERYTHING in a B&B experience.

Room Tip: The back stairs are convenient, but tough on a rickety knee--try a room at the top of the main stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, VA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Wonderful old home with six rooms (I think) with private baths. Decorated in turn-of-the-century style with many true antiques. Hosts were gracious and helpful. They provided excellent advice and directions to activities near-by. It was almost as if staying with a relative you had not met before. The bed was comfortable and the room was too. Everything was spotlessly clean. The breakfast was wonderful, fresh fruit, orange juice, coffee/tea, and personal cheese & ham quiche with bacon and toast. All this for a great price. Will stay again anytime in this area. The only, and very small, drawback is that it is on a hillside with a steep driveway to off-street parking area.

Room Tip: Enjoyed the Scarlette O'Hara room, but check the web site for options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Visited July 10, 2012. This was our second stay- prior in 2007. Preston our friendly innkeeper made us feel very much at home. Provided interesting history on the house. Breakfast was yummy and filling. He sent us on our way with our favorite teas-what a sweetie!! We'll be back for more front porch sitting!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Just a beautiful place to stay. Keep in mind there is nothing else to do in this town. They restored this home to it's former glory and didn't skip any detail. Breakfast was great and the service was top notch. Nothing but great things to say about our stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

My husband stayed at the Dian-Lee house in June for a family reunion. This inn is beautiful! It is full of southern charm-perfect for a Gone With the Wind lovin' girl like me! The inside of the property and our room (Scarlett O'Hara) were perfect. We especially loved the outside grounds and the huge wrap around porch. It was a wonderful place to relax. The food prepared for breakfast was delicious. Preston & the rest of the staff took great care of us! I definitely recommend this place to anyone staying in the area and I hope we have a change to visit again one day!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dian-Lee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dian-Lee House

Address: 2109 Jefferson St, Bluefield, WV 24701
Location: United States > West Virginia > Bluefield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bluefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Dian-Lee House is an old southern mansion. Restored and refurnished with victorian style remanants and period antiques. Taking the traveler back in time to wonders of yesteryear. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dian-Lee House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dian-Lee House to your Saves list