We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest Review "please read before you book here"” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Near Bluefield College

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Near Bluefield College to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Near Bluefield College
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3400 Cumberland Rd, Bluefield, WV 24701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bluefield
Grundy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Honest Review "please read before you book here"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for an appointment that I had in Princeton the next day. I am a nurse and had just came off of a 16 hour shift, plus the 2 hour drive it took us to get there. We arrived in Bluefield a little after 1:20 pm and check in was at 3.... needless to say I was exhausted, my husband explained this to the man at the front desk and asked if we could check in so I could get some much needed rest. But before he could give us an answer, the phone rang and he excused himself to make a reservation for the caller, not that there was anything wrong with that, but by the time he got back to us it was almost 1:45. He said that the room was ready and we could check in early.... for an additional $20 fee. This was on top of the $76.40 that we had already paid, bringing our total for the room to just under $100. The room was clean but not worth the price. The bed was uncomfortable and the pillows were those thin cheap $5 pillows from Wal-Mart, but I was so tired I could have fallen asleep on a rock. When we booked the room one of the amenities that was advertised was that they had a "FREE BREAKFAST". At most hotels this usually means items like cold cereal, doughnuts, fruit, coffee, milk and juice. -NOT HERE- when my husband went down to get us something there was nothing there with the exception of 2 small cake doughnuts and a bowl of tiny butter pats. My husband asked the man at the desk about the breakfast, which was the same man he had dealt with the day before. What he did next was almost comical...if it was happening to someone else... he reached behind the desk and took out a loaf of dry bread and put 4 slices on a little plastic plate and handed it to my husband. YES... THIS REALLY HAPPENED... This was listed as a 2 star hotel and it just simply isn't , there is no elevator for guests on the second floor, the hotel is situated on a hill that causes your car to scrape the pavement coming in and going out, the water pressure for the shower is abysmal and the rooms are clean but very outdated and not worth the price we paid. this is the type of hotel that I would expect to pay $39 a night at most. If you have the choice there are much better places to stay for around the same price just up the road in Princeton. I really hope this helps someone not make the same mistake we made.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subhash55, Manager at Econo Lodge Near Bluefield College, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
we appolize for inconvenience.
surendra
Econolodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    4
    5
    7
See reviews for
12
3
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Ended up in Bluefield at 10:30 pm., and simply wanted a place to sleep. This is the first place I stopped. Got a decent rate for the night. The owner was very accommodating and recommended I park my motorcycle on the sidewalk outside my door in case of bad weather. The room was in decent shape, reasonably clean, and quiet. There were not many peopole staying for the evening. The breakfast was sparse but the coffee was hot as was the shower. Good for an overnight stay. Very friendly owner.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subhash55, Manager at Econo Lodge Near Bluefield College, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
thank you for staying at EconoLodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevierville, Tennessee
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

People were friendly, Enjoyed the stay, But carpet was dirty around base boards and doors slaming.The pillows was to thin.They need to add pillows or Change them. It's a great place to stay if they can fix these problems.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subhash55, Manager at Econo Lodge Near Bluefield College, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for choosing Econo Lodge Near Bluefield College for your recent stay in Bluefield.

We’d be grateful if you would review us on TripAdvisor. It’s the world’s largest travel site, helping millions of visitors every month plan the perfect trip.

Our guests often tell us how helpful it is to read past guests' reviews before booking their own visits. And we're always eager to hear what you liked and how we can improve.

Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Econo Lodge Near Bluefield College the next time you're in Bluefield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABERDEEN
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

They have update the rooms with new fixtures, carpet, granite counter tops and shower surround. They are one of the nicest hotel in the area. Even the mattress seem new. Looking forward in going back and see what else they will update. Wish they had recycle containers . They have excellent customer service and reasonable rates. Also the repanted oustside and inside looks great!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subhash55, Manager at Econo Lodge Near Bluefield College, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for your response. We have thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the future. Thanks, Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

While certainly not 5-star accommodations, this was exactly what I was looking for: a basic hotel with clean, pleasant furnishings and WiFi. They nailed it.
Manager was pleasant and I enjoyed chatting with him about our travels. Not much in the way of restaurants in the area, but that can;t be helped.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, OH
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We've stayed here before, and it gets worse all the time. This will be our last visit. The rooms are small, and they stink. The furniture looks like it hasn't been replaced in years, although when we were her the last time, it looked like they were replacing some of it, along with some carpeting. The bathroom was filthy with visible mold on the floor and tub - I wouldn't even go in there with my shoes off, and I waited until the next day when we reached our destination to shower. The phone didn't work, and neither did the TV. The mattress was soft and lumpy, as were the pillows. The continental breakfast is a joke, served in a room about the size of a bathroom, and is only good if you like coffee with a piece of toast or cereal. People screaming at each other all night, in other rooms and in the parking lot (this visit and past visits). The staff is very nice, but it doesn't make up for the place being a complete dive.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Near Bluefield College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Near Bluefield College

Address: 3400 Cumberland Rd, Bluefield, WV 24701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Bluefield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bluefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Near Bluefield College 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EconoLodge Offers a free continental breakfast,free wireless internet access,free cable with HBO. The hotel is located near Mercer Mall as well as Bluefield college. Parking for large trucks is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Near Bluefield College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluefield Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Bluefield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Near Bluefield College, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.