We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An outstanding Guest House with unrivalled comfort and hospitality.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capernwray House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Capernwray House to your Saves list
Capernwray House
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Hobsons Lane, Capernwray, Carnforth LA6 1AE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Capernwray B&B and Inns
Halesowen
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“An outstanding Guest House with unrivalled comfort and hospitality.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

We recently visited Capernwray, as we have done for a number of years now, and it says everything that we keep returning and that we have immediately booked for next year! The service is genuinely friendly, with a warmth that relaxes any visitor. Our room was excellent - spacious, modern and clean, and with all expected amenities available. The location is beautiful - quiet countryside, with the delightful village of Over Kellett 2 min away in the car. Ideal also as a base for Lancs, Yorks and Lakes. We love the fact that it feels more like a home than guest house, and our only disappointment is that we have to return to the Midlands!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
178
22
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
doncaster
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

Capernwray House offers 5* accommodation and good food - nothing is too much trouble for Roy and Mel. We have been staying here twice a year for at least ten years and will be going back again in October. Would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chesterfield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

great stay overnight on business.the most comfortable bedroom ever stopped in anywhere in the country,woke refresshed for the day ahead.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

We had a very comfortable and relaxing stay with excellent food, coffee and company. Mel & Roy looked after our every need. Our room, Sandpiper, was very comfortable and relaxing and we were able to enjoy the stunning views of the countryside. Both of us are looking forward to our next visit all ready! We shall definitely recommend Capernwray House to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

This is a B&B that takes the best of all things- 1) quiet, large room, with bathroom in our suite, 2) tastefully decorated room and nice, comfortable furniture, 3) updated accommodations, 4) excellent full breakfast and optional dinner menu, 5) hosts (Mel and Roy) that are personable and friendly, but respectful, 6) wireless access.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capernwray
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

They welcomed me right in! Roy carried my heavy backpack up to my room, showed me around and let me just sleep! The bed is very comfortable and the room was cozy with an amazing view of the country side! Internet worked very well and was fast!! Bathroom was right next to my room and had no issues with it!! Food was delicious and homemade!! Wonderful place!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notts England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

Very welcoming and with recently updated accommodation,with a friendly atmosphere.
Rooms very clean.
Food is excellent.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capernwray House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capernwray House

Address: Hobsons Lane, Capernwray, Carnforth LA6 1AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Carnforth > Capernwray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Capernwray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Capernwray House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ETB 5 star silver award family run country house B&B - gateway to Lake District and Yorkshire Dales, Lancaster and Morecambe. Set in the heart of beautiful countryside and yet within 5 min of M6 .. Extremely peaceful. Our reviews say it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Capernwray House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capernwray House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.