We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation would recommend without hesitation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capernwray House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Capernwray House to your Saves list
Capernwray House
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Hobsons Lane, Capernwray, Carnforth LA6 1AE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Capernwray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Excellent accommodation would recommend without hesitation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Friendly, clean and spacious furnished and decorated to a high standard. Staff helpful and attentive and good breakfast. Ample parking. Nice quiet place to stay, good sized room with plenty of seating. Will use again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
187
23
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
manchester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The facilities an hospitality shown at Capernmray House were excellent. Every thing was top class which made our stay so enjoyable. We shall certainly recommend it to our friends and look forward to staying there again sometime.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We spent two nights here, 19th. and 20th. of September. On arrival we were delighted to be offered tea and homemade cake, which we enjoyed in the guests lounge.
Our room, Teal, had a superking size bed with wonderful views over the surrounding countryside towards the Lake District. The room was spotlessly clean, comfy and spacious with everything you would need including luxury bath robes.
The breakfast menu was extensive with plenty of choices to suit all tastes.
Mel and Roy were lovely hosts who made us feel very welcome in their beautiful home.
We enjoyed the peace and tranquility of Capernwray, and would definitely stay there again.
Roger and Diana T.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We enjoyed our stay with Mel & Roy in their lovely home, Capernwray House.
They made us feel very welcome and it was a pleasure to meet them. The location is beautiful, away from the hustle & bustle of city life, but not too far away from the beautiful Lake District.
My husband & I enjoyed our breakfasts and the facilities were second to none. Our bedroom, the Teal Room was spacious, clean & airy with a very comfortable bed & an en-suite bathroom.
It was a pleasure to stay at Capernwray House & we hope to reurn for another enjoyable stay in the future.

Room Tip: I should imagine that all the rooms are well appointed---I think that two of them have baths with ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We spent two nights here (20th/21st Sept ), with friends and the whole experience was fantastic. Excellent food, comfortable and spotless accommodation of the highest standard and Mel and Roy Smith who could not do enough for you. We have stayed in many B&Bs, hotels, lodges and cottages all over the UK, and this comes top of the list!

We will certainly visit again when we next meet up with our friends from our home town - Bolton - as we now live near Cockermouth.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

I only stayed for one night, but a welcome cup of tea refreshed me after a 6 hour drive from London.

A well decorated room and ensuite, free wifi and a lovely breakfast.

Clean and tidy and great hosts

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in this delightful b&b. Mel and Roy were such lovely hosts, warm and welcoming. We had the kingfisher room. The room was perfect. Large comfy bed, free wifi, tea making facility, wall mounted tv, iPod docking station, fantastic large bathroom with walk in shower. The breakfast provided was delicious with local sourced produce and generous servings.
We would recommend this charming b & b for anyone who is looking for a quiet location, comfortable rooms, and delicious breakfasts. We will certainly be returning when we are next in the UK.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capernwray House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capernwray House

Address: Hobsons Lane, Capernwray, Carnforth LA6 1AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Carnforth > Capernwray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Capernwray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Capernwray House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ETB 5 star silver award family run country house B&B - gateway to Lake District and Yorkshire Dales, Lancaster and Morecambe. Set in the heart of beautiful countryside and yet within 5 min of M6 .. Extremely peaceful. Our reviews say it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Capernwray House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capernwray House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.