We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capernwray House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Capernwray House to your Saves list
Capernwray House
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Hobsons Lane, Capernwray, Carnforth LA6 1AE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Capernwray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Saltash, United Kingdom
1 review
“First Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We do not usually stay in B&B accomodation but for ease we booked the Capernwray House and were not dissappointed in any way. Roy and Mel were charming and were welcomed with a cuppa and a delicious home made bun. Breakfast was very good and they paid attention to small details which does make a difference. All in all a very pleasant experience and will definately use them again should when we visit the area again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
188
23
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was our first visit to Capernwray House, unfortunately for only one night. However, we were so impressed that we've already booked for a longer stay in 3 weeks time. Can't wait!
From our arrival everything was excellent, from the very warm greeting accompanied by coffee/tea and home made real cream buns in the beautiful, comfortable lounge. There were lots of books and games here for poor weather days.
The room (Kingfisher) was more like a suite, having a queen size, extremely comfortable, bed, and an expansive shower area aswell as lovely little extras like body lotion in the large washroom area.
There were also lovely views to the Lake District fells which could be enjoyed as an alternative to watching the ideally-positioned large (but not over-large) TV.This is, incidentally, a lovely idyllic area with much to offer. On a hot night, which was surely the ultimate test, we both had a perfect night's sleep.
We woke in the morning to enjoy a perfectly cooked breakfast with masses of choice in the delightful dining room, and were only too sorry to leave Mel and Roy, who after only one night we felt had already become friends. They could certainly teach a lot of hoteliers a lot about how to run a hospitality business.
As I said, we can't wait to return, as this is, to quote the song "Simply the Best" we've stayed at.I can't recommend it highly enough

Room Tip: All rooms were excellent (we were kindly shown them all)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This was our third stay here. As on previous visits we received a very warm welcome from Mel and Ray and within a short time of arriving we were relaxing with tea and cakes in the lounge. We stayed in Kingfisher, which was beautifully fitted and had a very comfortable bed and a luxurious shower room. The weather was kind and so we were able to sit out and enjoy the lovely garden until well into the evening. Excellent breakfast with local produce. Would certainly recommend Capernwray House to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here and would definitely go back again!
Our rooms were the Teal and Robin rooms which had beautiful views, very comfortable beds, a tea kettle, blow dryer, neat as a pin, modern bathroom that was stocked with good quality, wonderfully scented shampoo, bath wash, soap and lotion. The room had fully functioning, free wifi internet access.
Breakfast was very good and consisted of an offering of cereals, milk, yogurt, fresh fruits including delicious berries, toast, juices coffee, cooked to order porridge and traditional English breakfast of eggs, sausage, blood pudding, tomatoes and mushrooms. Very tasty! They also had a few specialty items that you could order the night before for your breakfast.
The house is set in the beautiful countryside, but not too far off the highway on our road trip north
The hosts were wonderful. Our only regret is that we couldn't have stayed longer to enjoy it more.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowbridge
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our stay at Capernwray House was nothing short of perfect. The quality and standard of the accommodation, the location along with the warm welcome from our hosts Mel and Roy, with cups of tea and home made Brownies made for an excellent start to our break. It then got even better at the start of the day with an excellent full English breakfast made to order cooked and served up personally by Roy and Mel.

Mel and Roy are professionals and as guests we really couldn't have asked for more, we're looking forward to returning when next in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Really comfortable room, views to die for, warm and welcoming hosts and a full English breakfast of such proportions to set you up for the day! We had the joy of 4 nights here and would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelSmith, Owner at Capernwray House, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thanks so much for your great review .. Appreciate it ... Hope to see you again soon xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

What a B & B this was! Absolutely brilliant, so quiet, nothing was too much trouble. I mistakenly called it "Home" but it showed how relaxed I felt! Immediately we arrived we were offered a cup of tea, Mel brought the tea with some lovely home made Brownies - what a lovely touch. Bathroom toiletries were excellent, the bed was so comfortable that we didn't want to wake up, but we knew if we didn't wake up we wouldn't get the excellent breakfast. A great husband and wife team offering a fantastic place to stay. There is one thing for sure we will be staying again. I would give it 12/10!! Excellent.

Room Tip: We saw three out the four rooms and they were all lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelSmith, Owner at Capernwray House, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thanks so much for your super review ... We so enjoyed meeting you all and very pleased you enjoyed it and your steam train day .... Hope to see you again soon

Mel and Roy xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capernwray House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capernwray House

Address: Hobsons Lane, Capernwray, Carnforth LA6 1AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Carnforth > Capernwray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Capernwray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Capernwray House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ETB 5 star silver award family run country house B&B - gateway to Lake District and Yorkshire Dales, Lancaster and Morecambe. Set in the heart of beautiful countryside and yet within 5 min of M6 .. Extremely peaceful. Our reviews say it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Capernwray House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capernwray House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.