We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The West Virginia Room - CLOSED

The West Virginia Room
110 South Washington Street, Berkeley Springs, WV 25411
304-258-2210
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
South Park Township, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stopped here for lunch this past Wed. We used to stop here annually on our way to vacation in NC and have usually enjoyed the meal, but it has been several years since our last stop. This time was a disappointment.
1. Service was indifferent (FYI to management: our receipt indicates server #1) and neglectful. Server did not even ask us if we wanted a beverage to start. Didn't even have a pot of coffee ready to pour.
2. Menu was limited to say the least. We were told the kitchen was out of chicken. Who runs out of chicken?! They were out of other items too. Sweet potato fries were over-done. Portobello mushroom sandwich was overcooked and actually tooth-resistant and we got the last one of those.
3. Decor needs to be spruced up. Granted it's supposed to be a Colonial atmosphere, but fresh paint and clean carpets would be nice.
We understand there has been a recent change of ownership. We hope they address these shortcomings.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
2 reviews
“Great food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I enjoyed that the West Virginia Room was convenient to get to as it is located in The Country Inn. The service was top notch!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The perfect place for guests of the hotel to dine. The menu is great, but more than a few items were not available.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksville, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lunch with Ladies”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Lunch was tasty and plenty for leftovers! Only complaint was I asked to switch cheeses on my sandwich and that was overlooked. However, the waitress made our table sweet tea upon our request, so over all that was redeeming! Would go back.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantsville, Maryland, USA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Far better than the last time I ate there!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

The last time I ate at the Country Inn was literally during a changeover of management. We sat, and sat, and sat... No information until we finally heard the problem was (apparently) a flying changeover of management including (also, apparently) the kitchen staff. That was several years ago, and I had avoided the place until a couple of days ago. I was very pleased with my lunch meal -- perfectly cooked sliders that were very interesting. I have not tried the menu beyone this one meal, but the prospects seem excellent.

Service was perfect and WV-friendly (including a disucssion of ramps since they were garnishes for the day).

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The West Virginia Room also viewed

Berkeley Springs, WV
 
Berkeley Springs, WV
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The West Virginia Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.