We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on Fairfax

Inn on Fairfax
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Berkeley Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn on Fairfax
151 Fairfax St., Berkeley Springs, WV   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is a charming home built in 1900. It is decorated with authentic antiques. Each room has a private bathroom that has been updated in a beautiful manner. It is in a great location.

We were there under unusual circumstances because The Country Inn, where we had our original reservations and had gone to many times, had just been closed down and we were offered a room at this B&B in its place. We didn't have the full B&B experience since we chose not to stay for breakfast. I would mention that we didn't get the warm cookie treatment others have mentioned.

We would recommend that they get more comfortable pillows.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    2
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Traveling with my best friend and her Mom for a celebratory birthday weekend, Ellen, the owner couldn't have been more warm and welcoming. Ellen and her husband Wesley are two of the kindest people I have ever met and Ellen does everything she can to make you happy when you stay at the inn. This includes meeting everyone's dietary needs as I'm a vegan, sharing recipes bringing down home made cookies, and sharing helpful information about the town. She's a fantastic cook and the vegan breakfasts both days were so good I asked for the recipes.

At the Inn, we had the green room and the red room and the accomodations were beautifully appointed with everything we needed in them from a hairdryer, mini-refrigerator, to shampoo and body wash in the bathroom. The location is very convenient and the kitchen is stocked with bottled water, tea and coffee. You do have to walk up two doors to the Manor Inn for breakfast and for us that was no problem. If we go back, I think I would get a room at the Manor Inn next time, but they were already booked for our weekend.

Room Tip: The green room has an incredible shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I've stayed in quite a few B&B's, and this is by far my favorite. Ellen, the owner, and her husband Wesley are two of the kindest people you can meet, and Ellen does everything she can to make you happy when you stay at the inn. This includes bringing over DELICIOUS home made cookies (we got peanut butter chocolate the first day and truly inspired lavender short bread the second), making sure everyone's dietary needs (I'm a vegetarian, and there were also vegans staying at the inn) were met, sharing recipes, and just generally being friendly and warm and lovely. She's a fantastic cook. The inn itself is lovely. My friend and I stayed in the attic suite, which is beautifully decorated and comfortable. I definitely plan on coming back to Berkeley Springs, and I will definitely stay here again. I honestly can't say enough good things about this place.

Room Tip: The attic suite is adorable, but all the rooms seem quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

This is the nicest inn that I have stayed at...and I've stayed at a lot. The owner of The Manor Inn,
Ellen is also managing this inn, Inn on Fairfax. She is an absolute delight. Friendly and easy going. It is like meeting a new best friend. The rooms and inn are perfectly decorated. The inn is only a two block to the heart of Berkeley Springs and yet it is very quiet. So nice to be able to walk to dinner and a movie. Well stay again. Helen M.

Room Tip: The Red Room is two rooms, one room has a queen bed and the porch has a twin bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk, va
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Stayed 2 days. Food was great and healthy. Accomodations great. The grounds were exceptional.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Traveling with 4 women (2 teenagers and their moms), we booked 2 rooms here. This property is being run by the very friendly owner of the Manor Inn just a few doors up the street, who provided us with the most luscious breakfasts, catered to the individual tastes of various members of our party, and shared recipes and a wealth of information about the town, "taking the waters", nearby restaurants, and places to hike.
Our rooms were very pleasant and tastefully decorated, but there was a lack of attention to detail. In our room, the Red Room, there was no latch on the bathroom door and no curtain on the glass door that was the other entry to the bathroom. (we rigged one.). The bathroom was very nicely appointed, though, including two lovely plush robes, and our claw foot tub had fantastic water pressure and was quite luxurious. The Green Room, where the girls stayed, had a lovely rainfall shower, in our room, it was impossible to open any of the windows on the sleeping porch, kind of defeating the purpose. Nor were either of our rooms cleaned during our 2-night stay.
The location was very convenient, there was a very nice kitchen with bottled water, tea, coffee, and home-baked treats available, a living and dining room with the usual type antiques, but truthfully I would recommend staying here only if you can't get a room at the Manor Inn, which was what happened to us.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We recently stayed at the Inn on Fairfax. We were hoping to stay at the Manor Inn which had excellent reviews, however the Manor Inn was full for the night we requested. Ellen, at the Manor Inn suggested we try the Inn on Fairfax. We were concerned because of the less than stellar reviews, Ellen assured us that she would meet us at the Inn, help us with any needs we might have, and we would be having breakfast at the Manor Inn! We had a wonderful stay at the Inn on Fairfax and an exceptional breakfast at the Manor Inn. With Ellen's help, the previous problems have been resolved!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkeley Springs
Suites, Free Pa...
Show More
0.1 mi away
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
The Country Inn of Berkeley Spri...
#2 of 6 in Berkeley Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
Free Parking, R...
Show More
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Berkeley Springs Inn
BEST WESTERN Berkeley Springs In...
#1 of 6 in Berkeley Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
Restaurant, Ind...
Show More
9.2 mi away
Cacapon Resort State Park
Cacapon Resort State Park
#3 of 6 in Berkeley Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
17.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Martinsburg
Holiday Inn Martinsburg
#2 of 14 in Martinsburg
4.0 of 5 stars 118 reviews
Free Parking, C...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Berkeley Springs Cottage Rentals
Berkeley Springs Cottage Rentals
#1 of 1 in Berkeley Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 61 reviews
Pool, Spa, Roma...
Show More
23.4 mi away
Rocky Gap Casino Resort
Rocky Gap Casino Resort
#1 of 1 in Flintstone
4.0 of 5 stars 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Fairfax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Fairfax

Address: 151 Fairfax St., Berkeley Springs, WV
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Berkeley Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Berkeley Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on Fairfax, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Inn on Fairfax to your Saves list