We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We always come back, likely the best kitchen in town.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lot 12 Public House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Lot 12 Public House
117 Warren St, Berkeley Springs, WV 25411-1491
304-258-6264
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“We always come back, likely the best kitchen in town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We've dined here several times over the last few years. It's always one of our favorites while in Berkeley Springs. The wait staff is enthusiastic and friendly and the kitchen does a great job with most of the dishes we've tried. It's clear they aim high.

I'm hard pressed to put a label on their style of cuisine. Comfort food with continental influences would be my best description.

There are clearly Italian influences seen in the pastas and flatbreads. Also seen are classic dishes from other parts of Europe recast with Carolina low country comfort food influences. Duck confit crisped in the style of pulled BBQ and served on grits is one enjoyable example.

Please don't expect a big-city 5 star experience, if you go in with that expectation you're missing the point. This is fine dining in a West Virginia arts community. The owners express their creativity every night within the limitations of available products and a sagging local economy. Often the results are amazing, but even when not the complete package still works amazingly well.

If you visit Berkeley Springs plan to have dinner at Lot 12.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    18
    11
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal, fantastic service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

My husband and I recently spent a getaway weekend in Berkeley Springs. Having done my homework in advance, we had Saturday evening dinner reservations for Lot 12. Earlier in the day, we happened to meet a young lady who waitresses at Lot 12. We said we had reservations for later that day and told her our name, and when we arrived at Lot 12, and asked for her, we were told it had already been taken care of. The service was exceptional! The food was outstanding! We had the mussels appetizer. Hubby had the watercress salad and I had the Bibb lettuce salad. We shared the swordfish special of the day entree as well as the creme brulee dessert. The meal was pricey, no doubt, and we shared several courses, but we tipped as if we had not shared because the servers were exceptional!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in Berkeley Springs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We recently attended the Apple Butter Festival this past weekend and we were looking forward to our dinner at Lot 12. We noticed Lot 12 had a vendor spot at the Festival. You guys had excellent lunch wraps!

We arrived at Lot 12 and sat in the small bar area. Sky, the bartender, was great and shared with us his ties to the community as a local farmer. Support local farms and businesses, do it America!! Sorry, I got sidetracked. Sky and the drinks were great.

The starters and salads were very yummy. I especially liked the Pear Intermezzo. However, the best part of my dinner was the evening special, Filet and Crab Cakes. The sear on the Filet was delicious. Everyone in our party enjoyed their dinner. We will definitely return!!

Your staff went out of their way to cater to all of our party's needs. We did have one very demanding individual that was over the top with requests,concerns, and comments. I just want to say thank you to our waitress and host!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Berkeley Springs is lucky to have Lot 12”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Lot 12 is evey bit worth the extra scratch. The experience of dining there rivals any top rated resturant in DC (where I spend most of my time.) The food is heavenly to say the least. If you go, make sure to come early to have a drink in the bar with Sky. Berkeley Springs is lucky to have such an outstanding restaurant.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Maybe it's just me............”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I had the Jerk Trio. I wasn't crazy about mine. I've had jerk chicken before done by Jamaicans and this didn't come close. About the only thing similar was the heat. Additionally, it was supposed to include Andouille sausage, but this was also homemade by the chef and not like ANY Andouille sausage I've ever had. Not a pleasant experience at all. I'm sure the chef took artistic license when making it. My husband had the duck. He said his was okay, but didn't seem too enthused. I will give them extra points for gluten awareness. Then take away a few points for the steep steps that have to be climbed to get too the restaurant. It just happened that I was having back problems at that time and this made it very difficult. Maybe if I tried another dish, I might be happier. So far I can only rate it so so. We were celebrating our anniversary, and the ambiance would have been great, if not for the noise level. We could hardly hear the waitress when she was telling us about the specials.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lot 12 Public House also viewed

Berkeley Springs, WV
 
Berkeley Springs, WV
Berkeley Springs, WV
 

Been to Lot 12 Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lot 12 Public House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.