We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WIFES BIRTHDAY PRESENT PRIME RIB” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Angus & Ale

Angus & Ale
146 Southridge Dr, Berkeley Springs, WV 25411
304-258-7575
Website
Improve this listing
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Magnolia, West Virginia, United States
1 review
“WIFES BIRTHDAY PRESENT PRIME RIB”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We arrived early 11/08/2013 for my wife's birthday dinner.The restaurant filled up shortly after we arrived.Being local I had called ahead about the Friday $16.99 Prime Rib special.Sure nuf they had got the roast in for the special.It includes two sides we both picked the sweet potato fries with tossed salad.It also comes with corn bread(not homemade)& apple butter.We also ordered the steamed shrimp appetizer which was 18 count shrimp with cocktail sauce.The Prime Rib Roast was at 12oz both ordered medium well,and they were.We were also warned they are very slow roasted and take extra time so glad we came early.Came with the Au jus to dip,no horseradish dip offered.Mine was perfect,not the best I have ever had,but good.Hers was marbled with fat.She had a small plate of fat & gristle.We told our server Brittney to please show the chef & manager so as to let their supplier know they need to trim it up before sending to Angus & Ale.It wasn't as a complaint to the kitchen as much as it was constructive criticism to the chef & manager.They kept asking if it was OK,and it was except for that.At the end Brittney came out with a special birthday wine glass filled with red velvet cake topped with whipped cream for my wife...On the house!All in all we had a very good experience at Angus & Ale Berkeley Springs WV..we will be back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    19
    13
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Disappointed with the food but good service... ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I've had such great meals and service in the past but tonight I only got good service... The food was such a let down. I was looking forward to the Gator tail and the wings... The Gator was perfect... The wings, I ordered medium... You couldn't taste the sauce and they added some spice that ruin it completely. Was going to choose this for our wedding rehearsal dinner spot but not anymore.

Might try again but not for a while.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom l, Owner at Angus & Ale, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
As you stated you have always had great food and service when you have dined with us in the past. I thank you for keeping that in mind and planning to visit us again. Mistakes happen and are the exception and not the norm. We would like to thank you for your comments and we will share with the kitchen staff to ensure that they do not over season the wings in the future. Our servers are trained to immediatly remove any unsatisfactory food and replace with whatever will make you happy. We apologize as it sounds like it would have been an easy fix and fresh wings should have been taken out to you so that you would have enjoyed your meal, as you have all of your past visits with us. Please always let us know while you are still there and we will make every opportunity to make sure you leave happy!! We hope to see you soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“enjoyable steak special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Cannot complain. Not fancy steak house meat, but perfectly done and tasty. Waitress was very helpful explaining the various cuts of steak and specials.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Just Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

With so many choices in town, I often overlook Angus & Ale. The food is decent, but it lacks character and the staff is just okay.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A Great Value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Rather plain décor, but clean family style feeling with wooden benches and overall a pleasant atmosphere with a fairly typical Pub Type Menu. The Steak & Potato Soup was excellent! The burger, though a little rare, rather than medium had excellent flavor and hand cut fries were almost as excellent as the soup. The seemingly home made Apple Pie was also excellent, especially if you like the apples cooked soft, as I do! Plus, a great West Virginia made Amber Ale made for a great meal at an equally great price! Would definitely return here if in the area again!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angus & Ale also viewed

Berkeley Springs, WV
 
Berkeley Springs, WV
 

Been to Angus & Ale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angus & Ale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.