We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, good drinks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambrae House

Ambrae House
98 N. Washington Street, Berkeley Springs, WV
304-258-2333
Update restaurant details
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Had an AMAZING dining experience last night at The Ambrae House, a new B&B in Berkeley Springs, W.V. Starting with the open air patio to the up-scale friendly beer and wine bar to the quaint restaurant, the ambiance of the establishment is a 10! And then there is the food, if the ambiance is a 10, the food is a 12! The Maryland Crab Chowder is a must; the Maryland Crab Cakes are full of crab, and any filler is sparse, the best we have ever had! This will be a weekly date night for us.
Waynesburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Food, good drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We ate lunch here. The panini I had was really good. Everything was cooked to order. We like the staff and the atmosphere so much that we came back later in the day for drinks.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    25
    19
    8
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nebo, Illinois
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Up Scale Establishment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Excellent atmosphere and cuisine A little gem in rural West Virginia. Located in old downtown, close to antique shops and spa. Have to try their grilled Ruben sandwich.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great OURDOOR Seating and Live Music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Everything always taste better outdoors, The beer was cold and the food was hot.

John the solo troubadour knew every song we could muster and throw at him, he was
outstanding on a rain soaked evening and we all enjoyed his music & humor.
Great way to top off the day with an evening at the bar and great fellow travlers,
Looking forward to a return visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable, casual restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

During my stay at Berkeley Springs, I went to Ambrae House because they had outdoor seating and a band playing. It seemed like a fun place to eat dinner. Although the atmosphere was fun and casual, the food was pretty average. We ordered oysters (maybe that should have been a hint. Who eats oysters in West Virginia!?!) and it was the worst oysters I ever had! It tasted as if they were dipped in chlorine to be cleaned. My sandwich with a side of fries was nothing memorable. So although the atmosphere was fun with the music, the food was nothing to rave about.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yummy Lunch place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had lunch at the Ambrae house, and it was fantastic. My burger was really juicy and well seasoned. The fries were crispy and delicious. My husband had a grilled chicken sandwich which was also juicy and delicious. Great food and great prices!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ambrae House also viewed

 
Berkeley Springs, WV
Berkeley Springs, WV
 

Been to Ambrae House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambrae House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added Ambrae House to your Saves list