We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great OURDOOR Seating and Live Music” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambrae House

Ambrae House
98 N. Washington Street, Berkeley Springs, WV
304-258-2333
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Had an AMAZING dining experience last night at The Ambrae House, a new B&B in Berkeley Springs, W.V. Starting with the open air patio to the up-scale friendly beer and wine bar to the quaint restaurant, the ambiance of the establishment is a 10! And then there is the food, if the ambiance is a 10, the food is a 12! The Maryland Crab Chowder is a must; the Maryland Crab Cakes are full of crab, and any filler is sparse, the best we have ever had! This will be a weekly date night for us.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great OURDOOR Seating and Live Music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Everything always taste better outdoors, The beer was cold and the food was hot.

John the solo troubadour knew every song we could muster and throw at him, he was
outstanding on a rain soaked evening and we all enjoyed his music & humor.
Great way to top off the day with an evening at the bar and great fellow travlers,
Looking forward to a return visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    21
    10
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable, casual restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

During my stay at Berkeley Springs, I went to Ambrae House because they had outdoor seating and a band playing. It seemed like a fun place to eat dinner. Although the atmosphere was fun and casual, the food was pretty average. We ordered oysters (maybe that should have been a hint. Who eats oysters in West Virginia!?!) and it was the worst oysters I ever had! It tasted as if they were dipped in chlorine to be cleaned. My sandwich with a side of fries was nothing memorable. So although the atmosphere was fun with the music, the food was nothing to rave about.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Yummy Lunch place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had lunch at the Ambrae house, and it was fantastic. My burger was really juicy and well seasoned. The fries were crispy and delicious. My husband had a grilled chicken sandwich which was also juicy and delicious. Great food and great prices!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Unique and Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My husband and I stopped at the Ambrae House for a date night. We chose to sit indoors as it was kind of noisy on the patio seating area. The indoor seating was perfect! Quiet and cozy. We ordered artichoke dip and chips for an appetizer and some seasonal peach tea. Yum! We were off to a great start. The spinach salad was simple but delicious! My husband really liked the fish tacos he ordered too. They have a nice selection on their menu that should suit most anyone, plus drinks, desserts and appetizers. The service was very good and we really enjoyed the whole experience. We will be looking forward to going back again soon. Great place for date night or out with friends or family.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Cute bar with amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Loved the atmosphere and the food. They have a deck with a bar that has full food service. I found the service to be very friendly and speedy. We had the steak with salad and baked potato. Tap beer choices were some of the best I've seen in the town.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ambrae House also viewed

Berkeley Springs, WV
Berkeley Springs, WV
 
Berkeley Springs, WV
Berkeley Springs, WV
 

Been to Ambrae House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambrae House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.