We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast and dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Earth Dog Cafe

Earth Dog Cafe
398 S Washington St, Berkeley Springs, WV
(304) 258-0500
Website
Update restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Breakfast and dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We recently visited Berkeley Springs and Earth Dog Cafe was a few blocks away from the cottage we rented. We had dinner there on one evening, shared the 2-meat BBQ platter (brisket and pork), and still had so much leftover! A couple of days later we went for breakfast. Again, portions were generous and hubby had to take some of his breakfast home. Two different waitresses but no complaints about service. Very attentive. Reasonable prices.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    38
    43
    13
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
King William, Virginia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Barbecue and I mean Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We ride through here every time we visit family but never have time to stop. Well, we made it a point to stop and boy was it great. We didn't want to eat too much so we just got a sandwich each -- a pulled pork and a brisket. We halved them and shared so we could both try. The meat was so juicy and tender -- I just couldn't believe it. And, everyone was so friendly. And, the portions were huge. We were in for an early lunch and they serve breakfast all the time. So, we also got to see their great omelettes and fried potatoes. We'll be back and we encourage you to go!! it's the best barbecue we've had -- ranking above some that we've had in Memphis and Nashville. Way to go guys and gals of Earth Dog Café!! Hope to eat with you soon!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Breakfast Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

While spending the weekend near Berkeley Springs we went to Earth Dog Cafe for Sunday breakfast. Typical breakfast menu (served all day) and the food was great with large servings. Service was good- everyone very friendly and attentive. We lucked out and were seated upon arrival, but supposedly they get pretty crowded on Sundays as there aren't a lot of places in Berkeley Springs. Definitely would go back to try their other menu options.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluefield, West Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best place to eat in Berkeley!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I didn't expect to get a good salmon steak this far from the water but it was FANTASTIC! The bartender really aimed to please, and the home-made potato chips were to die for! We recommend the Cape Cod flavor. The best Long Island Iced tea I ever had in my life!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, West Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lots and lots of food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stopped for lunch and ordered a platter... three piggies( choice of 3 out of 5 meats), and a pulled pork platter. There was enough food for two meals on each. The pulled pork was excellent as was the beef brisket. The BBQ chicken was typical and nothing out of the ordinary. The ribs were ok. Not the worst I've had, but not the best either. Again this was a late lunch around 2:00. I would certainly stop again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Earth Dog Cafe also viewed

Berkeley Springs, WV
Berkeley Springs, WV
 
Berkeley Springs, WV
Berkeley Springs, WV
 

Been to Earth Dog Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Earth Dog Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added Earth Dog Cafe to your Saves list