We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cacapon Mild & Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cacapon Resort State Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cacapon Resort State Park to your Saves list
Cacapon Resort State Park
818 Cacapon Lodge Drive, Berkeley Springs, WV 25411   |  
Hotel amenities
Southport, North Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Cacapon Mild & Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at Cacapon enormously. The room, although small, was rustic and the beds were very comfortable and wonderful for sleeping. The lodge was perfect for a mountain getaway with an excellent restaurant, spacious great room and good game room in the basement for the kids. The deer were everywhere as we saw them on our horseback rides, on the golf course and on our hikes in the woods. The Nature Center was very informative. The Golf Course was in excellent condition and a good mix of challenging and picturestic holes, and had a well-stocked pro shop. The Park also had a wonderful beach for swimming. Berkeley Springs was a short ride with it's mineral baths and some excellent restaurants and shops. We highly recommend Tari's Cafe and Panorama-at-the-Peak restaurant. A truly relaxing and pleasurable experience and only a short ride from DC.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    58
    22
    7
    2
See reviews for
41
37
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
68 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

We stayed at this wonderful place for one week. The location was amazing. The staff was very kind and patient. The food at the restaurant was pretty good too. The rooms were always clean, didnt have any negative experiences. Loved the walks in the evening and loved seeing the herds of deer hanging around and all the wildlife.
Its really worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, DE
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

My fiancé and I stayed at Cacapon Resort State Park for a weekend getaway in early April. The first thing we noticed was how quiet it was at the lodge. This is a great place to escape from the city. We hiked on trails behind the lodge during the day and sat out on the patio chilling out on rocking chairs after dinner. The restaurant had great food and the staff was all exceptionally friendly. If you are looking for a no frills quiet weekend, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorton, VA
Level Contributor
126 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

Cacapon Resort State Park is one of those little gem State Parks that is perfect for a short getaway from town. Roughly 1-2h from DC (and Baltimore) this park is located in the eastern panhandle of West-Virginia and beautifully situated on a ridge of the mountains. You are in the middle of nowhere there, and there is barely any cell phone coverage. Ask the rangers for the good places of some carriers.

I stayed in the resort/hotel which is a typical case of a government run place. Decent, slightly out-of-date yet very adequate. The food in the restaurant was pretty good, and the lunch bar they have is delightful. The rooms are small, sober and adequate.

There is some great hiking in up the ridge and there are some golf courses for those interested. I was there during a misty snowstorm, and it led to some wonderful snow hiking and mystical meetings with deer having breakfast.

The cabins look good and sober for those who want to try them. Dogs are allowed in some, but you pay a hefty price tag for the first night. That's too bad, because it makes it too expensive for a weekendtrip with the dog.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

I recently stayed at Cacapon State Park's cabin #17 (one of the "modern cabins") for a weekend getaway, and was pleasantly surprised! The cabin was very spacious and clean with a newly refurbished fireplace that worked great. There were 2 bedrooms with beds that weren't bad, a nice clean bathroom and shower, and a pretty well-equipped kitchen that came with all the basic utensils and equipment you would need for a weekend stay.

While at Cacapon, we went for a long walk around the roads in the park and enjoyed the beautiful views. We also went to the wobble shooting range and had a blast. The rangers were very friendly and knowledgeable and really made it a great experience. We also played a bit of ping pong in the lodge.

Overall, this place exceeded my admittedly low expectations for a cabin in the woods!

If you're heading to the park in order to visit berkeley springs, i'll just note that it's a solid 10 mile drive from the park to the hot springs.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

We just returned one day earlier than planned from a weekend stay in Standard Cabin #10 at Cacapon. While the park's scenery was everything we could have hoped for and the town of Berkeley Springs was very enjoyable, our cabin left a lot to be desired. Don't misunderstand, we enjoy a rustic setting and certainly did not expect all the comforts of home in a cabin like this, but, seriously, there were three important things that made us cut our stay short.

First, of all the "modern ammenities" we might be inclined to miss at a cabin, overhead fluorescent lighting would not be one of them. Yet, all the overhead lights in our cabin were just that - a glaring anomaly for such a natural setting. The sleeping and living rooms did all have a table lamp, but the bulbs were so low voltage, that it was impossible to see.

Second, the cabin had a lovely stone wood-burning fireplace, which would have been perfect for savoring a glass of wine in front of -- if only there had been a piece of furniture that served this purpose for 2 people. Unfortunately, the living room was furnished with a long dining table and six straight back dining chairs, one in-table, a desk and one small rocker. The video tour of standard cabins on the Cacapon web site showed at least a 2-person bench, but unfortunately, there was nothing like this in our cabin and we were told that nothing was available. We were regretting not bringing our nice reclining lawn chairs....

Next, the mattress on the full bed in the bedroom was just well beyond service...after two nights attempting sleep, we just had to give up...

Finally, I can easily live without a microwave or a television, but a cutting board is helpful for slicing the fresh bread that naturally goes with the apple butter from the Berkeley Springs Apple Butter festival. All I ask is that it be stored somewhere OTHER THAN right under the mousetrap!!!

Next time we visit Berkeley Springs, I think we'll opt for a private cabin rental and just visit the park for the hiking trails....

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

We just got back from a four night stay at Cacapon State Park. We stayed in cabin #9 which is a standard cabin with a bath with shower and kitchen with a stove, 'frig and utensils but without a microwave and dishwasher. This was a classic log cabin with a beautiful stone fireplace (see pictures).

The park staff lovingly maintains these CCC vintage cabins and makes certain that there is plenty of firewood on hand. If making a fire is not on the agenda, the main cabin room has a window air conditioner/heater for climate control. The bath is functional with towels and the requisite indoor plumbing including a shower. Housekeeping occurs only between guest stays with the exception of self-serve linen changes that are available twice a week.

There is no TV or WiFi. Internet access is only possible via wireless broadband if you absolutely must be connected.

Cacapon is a great place to find nature. Wildlife abounds around the cabin with birds (Pileated Woodpeckers) and deer conspicous outside your cabin door as well as numerous hiking opportunities. There is an excellent golf course nearby and a swimming lake open in the summer time. The nearby lodge has good American comfort food/drink. Berkeley Springs with its history, arts and waters is nine mile up the road.

If you want to get away from the madness that is DC or Baltimore and don't want to drive more than two hours away, check it out. A stay here just could be an annual ritual and the memory of a lifetime.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkeley Springs
9.6 mi away
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
The Country Inn of Berkeley Spri...
#1 of 6 in Berkeley Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
8.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Berkeley Springs Inn
BEST WESTERN Berkeley Springs In...
#2 of 6 in Berkeley Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 217 reviews
15.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#2 of 2 in Hancock
4.0 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Martinsburg
Hampton Inn Martinsburg
#1 of 13 in Martinsburg
4.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
23.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Clear Spring
17.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Martinsburg South - Inwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cacapon Resort State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cacapon Resort State Park

Address: 818 Cacapon Lodge Drive, Berkeley Springs, WV 25411
Location: United States > West Virginia > Berkeley Springs
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Berkeley Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golf course and lodge located in a state park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cacapon Resort State Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cacapon Resort State Park Hotel Berkeley Springs
Cacapon Hotel Berkeley Springs
Cacapon Hotel State Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cacapon Resort State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.