We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Cabin In the Woods” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cacapon Resort State Park

Save Saved
You added Cacapon Resort State Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cacapon Resort State Park
818 Cacapon Lodge Drive, Berkeley Springs, WV 25411   |  
Hotel amenities
Columbia, Maryland
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Classic Cabin In the Woods”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

We just got back from a four night stay at Cacapon State Park. We stayed in cabin #9 which is a standard cabin with a bath with shower and kitchen with a stove, 'frig and utensils but without a microwave and dishwasher. This was a classic log cabin with a beautiful stone fireplace (see pictures).

The park staff lovingly maintains these CCC vintage cabins and makes certain that there is plenty of firewood on hand. If making a fire is not on the agenda, the main cabin room has a window air conditioner/heater for climate control. The bath is functional with towels and the requisite indoor plumbing including a shower. Housekeeping occurs only between guest stays with the exception of self-serve linen changes that are available twice a week.

There is no TV or WiFi. Internet access is only possible via wireless broadband if you absolutely must be connected.

Cacapon is a great place to find nature. Wildlife abounds around the cabin with birds (Pileated Woodpeckers) and deer conspicous outside your cabin door as well as numerous hiking opportunities. There is an excellent golf course nearby and a swimming lake open in the summer time. The nearby lodge has good American comfort food/drink. Berkeley Springs with its history, arts and waters is nine mile up the road.

If you want to get away from the madness that is DC or Baltimore and don't want to drive more than two hours away, check it out. A stay here just could be an annual ritual and the memory of a lifetime.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    47
    19
    4
    2
See reviews for
35
27
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

We stayed several days and enjoyed the small but clean lodge rooms, swimming in the lake with the clean white sand beach, golf, and skeet shooting. The restaurant was also pretty good, much more so than the place we tried in downtown Berkeley Springs.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Enterprise
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

Wonderful place and time. Rooms clean. Very scenic. Nice time.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

This park is so close to us, I don't know why we've never visited it. That was our mistake because it's a wonderful place. We rented three of the bungalow cabins for what is turning out to be an annual family summer get-together. We usually go to a state park in Maryland, but decided to try Cacapon this year. We rented bungalows because they were the only cabins we could reserve for less than a week. It was a good choice. We had a great time.

The bungalows are small and rustic and anyone expecting any form of luxury will be disappointed. On the other hand, they had kitchens, bathrooms, linens and towels, air conditioning, and screened porches - so much more than a camper cabin at not much more money. Our cabins were an easy walk to the tennis courts/playground/beach area.

In the short time we were at Cacapon we went trap shooting (wonderful instruction, very patient and encouraging), horseback riding, tubing (outside the park), and geocaching. We also played tennis in the morning, spent an entire afternoon at the lake, and attended the ranger's campfire for roasted marshmallows and singing. Every kid, from the little ones to the teenagers found something to do.

Cacapon is a very nice, affordable, family-friendly resort.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

We held our family reunion at Cacapon State Park Resort. The rooms are kinda small (some have 2 doubles, some have 1 queen and 1 single) but fine for the amount of time we spent in them. I wouldn't suggest 4 adults in 1 room though. There is 1 handicap room which is larger than the others...the only problem is that there is still a tub in the bathroom so it was hard for my uncle who uses a walker to get into it.

If you are going to have senior citizens in your group you are better off not getting the group discount...the group discount is only $5.00 off of the golf course view rooms...that's it!! You get more off for a senior citizen discount.

Anything you do with group services you need to put in writing...they didn't take very good notes when on the phone and ended up charging us for more people than we had for the meals (breakfast and dinner) that we had pre-arranged. I guess my thoughts are if you are in group services and do it for a living you should know what information you need and when you need it by and tell the customer...the customer is depending on you to follow up and make sure everything runs smoothly.

We had dinner at the CCC pavilion which was nice...although they only sent 1 girl to set up and serve dinner...luckily we had some very helpful guys in our group to help unload and load her truck...without their help dinner would have been later than it already was.

The game room downstairs was great for the kids...but there were some machines that were not working. The room off of the lobby was very nice...it had a bunch of tables and board games and puzzles, a tv and some soft chairs and a fire place (we didn't see that in use since it was July).

There were rocking chairs out on the back porch where you could sit and enjoy the view of the golf course and the woods. We spent many hours out there!!!

The restaurant was nice...the food was pretty good. Some of the servers need to get a personality though.

The front desk staff was good, (Josh was very personable and helpful).

There are some places in Berkley Springs that we also enjoyed...Tari's is a cute little place with good food as was George's Pizza and Pasta (?) in the Food Lion shopping center.

I'm only giving a 2 for value because I feel that we should have been told about the senior discount prior to booking through group services. I am giving a 3 for the rooms because they were small and kinda crowded. I am giving a 3 for service because of some of the wait staff and front desk staff not being a friendly and attentive as they should have been.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suburban D.C.
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

Spent last week there in Cabin No. 17. Great fun for grandchildren . Boy (13) played 9 holes every week day with grand mother; terrific course at modest price. Girl 911) went on 4 one hour trail rides with very friendly and competent outfitters. played tennis (courts are only OK) each day. Nature Program is extensive and Naturalists were wonderful. Grandson did Skeet (twicw) for first time and got a weapons safety training - he loved it! Three year old loved the sandy beach at the lake ; the lake is separated into shallow and deep. But water was cold for teenagers. They did the kayaking and paddle boating ($3/half-hour) several times.
Cabin is good size with air-conditioning and fireplac (dry wood supplied). Two bed rooms with one Queen and two Twins; we got a cot from the lodge for the three days the little guy was with us. Tip: they exchange linens and towels twicw a week but the bed linens are THIN!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowhere
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

If you have simple needs and enjoy the outdoors (e.g. hiking, birding, etc.) and relaxing on your porch in the forest with cool summer breeze, CRSP is the perfect place for you. We were pleasantly surprised, however, at the number of amenities at CRSP but were not so pleasantly surprised at our unsavory experience in one of the "standard cabins". Given the amenities and nearby towns, this is an excellent location for families with younger children (ages 5-12). We're definitely going back to this timeless spot.

We hiked a killer (as in it-nearly-killed-us) trail, for which the trail head was 200 feet from our cabin door. Beautiful forest, flowering mountain laurel, small rock outcroppings, and pretty good views. Speaking of views, don't miss the viewpoint (4 mile drive from the lodge area) via a well-kept gravel road. The small Nature Center puts on many kid and adult friendly activities and hikes. Just don't go to the Center expecting it to be open during one of these activities. Since we kept to the great outdoors given the beautiful weather, we didn't get to enjoy the game room's pool table, air hockey table, room-sized shuffle board, and numerous arcade games, though it did look compelling for a rainy afternoon. Nor did we have time to use the really nice looking basketball, volleyball, shuttle cock, and tennis courts or small playground. We did visit the "beach" (free for guests) and snack bar. The sandy area and pond were large enough to accommodate one hundred or so sunbathers and swimming kids and paddle boats (which could be rented).

Nothing here is fancy. Despite all the activities, it didn't feel busy or touristy. Actually, it was very similar to the summer camps I attended as a kid: close to nature, rustic, and loads of outdoorsy things to do. BUT...the standard cabins are a bit too close to nature: ants, cockroaches, spiders, and mice abound INSIDE the cabin. I'm o.k. with all of that EXCEPT the mice feces. Pretty gross, especially with a baby who wanted to crawl on the floor. The CRSP personnel seemed reluctant to remove the couch that clearly served as the mouse house. On a positive note, it was very cool to stay in a 1930s log cabin in the woods, with a large fireplace, free wood, nice linens, comfortable beds, outdoor grill and picnic table, and a well-stocked kitchen. Next time, though, we're considering one of the modern cabins, despite the fact that they aren't as remote, to avoid the mice.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cacapon Resort State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cacapon Resort State Park

Address: 818 Cacapon Lodge Drive, Berkeley Springs, WV 25411
Location: United States > West Virginia > Berkeley Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Berkeley Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golf course and lodge located in a state park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Cacapon Resort State Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cacapon Resort State Park Hotel Berkeley Springs
Cacapon Hotel Berkeley Springs
Cacapon Hotel State Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cacapon Resort State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.