We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible restaurant service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cacapon Resort State Park

Save Saved
You added Cacapon Resort State Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cacapon Resort State Park
818 Cacapon Lodge Drive, Berkeley Springs, WV 25411   |  
Hotel amenities
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Terrible restaurant service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The lodge is in a beatiful place, the rooms are small but enough for the purpose, but the restaurant service was erratic and slow during all the time we stayed there. Once they prepared us several lunch boxes for the trail and we requested half of them with ham and half with turkey as there were some vegetarians in the group. For our surprise each sandwich had turkey and ham and were in cutted in halves. The vegetarians hated it!! There is an ice maker on the first floor and a coffee/tea maker on ground floor.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    47
    19
    4
    2
See reviews for
35
27
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Richmondville, NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here overnight on our vacation south by motorcycle. The staff was friendly and check in and out was fast. The room we stayed in was in the lodge. It was a little small but manageable. Our view was overlooking the golf course. The only thing that would have been nice would have been a little refrig. We found that after running the hot water for a good length of time still gave just lukewarm water. A shower was not possible.

We ate in the dinning room and the staff and food was excellent. The grounds were lovely and the area very relaxing. There were plenty of chairs and rocking chairs on the patio for everyone to use. The lounge and game room were very inviting. I would consider staying again but hoping the hot water situation would be better.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odenton, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I didn't use the golf course, but the state park also offered fishing, camping, hiking, and a shooting range! The resort's onsite dining was overpriced, as is typical, but the food was good and staff friendly. The room was reasonably priced, but offered few extra amenities. I would stay again to avoid the hassles of tenting with small children.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Four good friends and two of their dogs just returned from Memorial Day weekend trip. We stayed in two bedroom modern cabin. The spacious cabin had cable tv, air conditioning, kitchen and outdoor grill.
We hiked, cooked, and played golf on the Robert Trent Jones golf course. Course was in great shape and our twilight rounds were inexpensive, fast and great fun.
Looking forward to returning in cooler weather to utilize fire place and see the leaves changing.
Highly recommend for families and outdoors types who don't need a lot of pampering.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We'd been to Cacapon about 15 years ago, staying in one of the rustic cabins. We decided to go back and hike in the park. We had a great time. The park is beautiful. We walked around the swimming and picnic area. It is well laid out, plenty of room for games and the family cookout. We did the wobble trap shooting and had a blast. The overlook where you can see the 4 states was really pretty.Many nice hiking trails ranging from easy to very difficult.
The lodge was built in (I believe) the 1930's so you have to expect the room would be small. They were, and very well maintained. I had no problems with my room. They are planning a big 76 room addition in the future. We had wonderful food at both dinner and breakfast (no buffet, ordered off the menu). The one problem I saw was the very slow internet connection in the common room. Rates are reasonable. We would stay there again.
We don't golf, but many people who stayed there were golfers. They have a full 18 hole course and a nice golf club house.

Room Tip: Get a room on the golf course side. You'll have a better view on mountains and greens versus mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, West Virginia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Room was dated and small. Food was average to below at breakfast buffet. The Park was truly very beautiful and the overlook view of 4 states specticular. There was a lecture from 3 River Avian on Birds of Prey which was spectacular as were the birds including a Bald Eagle. Excellent for the kids! (even those of us a bit older).

Room Tip: Avoid ones close to steps or lobby....door slams loudly
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We just returned from three nights at the Cacapon Resort State Park lodge. What a gorgeous, relaxing and inexpensive vacation this was! Located right over the Virginia state line in Berkeley Springs, WV, it is a very easy drive from the Washington, DC/Baltimore area. Deep in the woods, you will see tons of deer every day.

We stayed in the lodge, which is very old, but clean and comfortable. The staff is outstanding. Everyone from the front desk to the maids are very friendly and go out of their way to help you out. Yes, the rooms are small, but they are adequate. We were in Room 19 and had no trouble with hot water. It came on immediately and was plentiful. There are no hair dryers or refrigerators... just you, your beds, a table with two wooden chairs, a telephone, a nice flat panel TV, and your bathroom. However, if you are like us and don't spend a lot of time in your room, this shouldn't matter too much to you. We prefer to pay less for a room and use the money we save on other things.

We took advantage of many activities while visiting Cacapon. First, there's the wonderful swimming lake and white sand beach -- love it! Note it is NOT handicapped accessible (you have to come down an uneven, stone staircase to reach the beach). It is free for lodge or cabin guests, or costs a minimal fee if you just want to come swim for the day. There's a small snack bar, and paddle boats (only $3 per half hour!).

The nature center has some cool exhibits, and the rangers conduct nature programs all the time. These activities might be things like searching for evidence of animals from their droppings, tracks, etc., searching for critters in a creek, creating a plaster of paris mold of animal tracks, watching a medieval knight re-enactment (I think that was a special activity they don't normally do), etc. These programs are free. The only negative is that over by the nature center, there are millions of tiny nats that fly around the picnic areas. Wish there were some way to get away from them. They don't bite or sting, but they are highly annoying. Perhaps they go away during other seasons (we were there at the end of July).

My husband did some clay pidgeon shooting (extra fee), which he enjoyed. The instructor was very good and took a lot of time showing him what to do. We also took a horseback ride (extra fee), which was very nice. It is a simple trail ride made for beginners, and my almost 8-year old had no trouble. We drove 4 miles to see a gorgeous scenic overlook, which was lovely.

We also enjoyed the basement of the lodge, where they have ping-pong, shuffleboard, etc. There are also board games and puzzles for rainy days. We ate several meals at the lodge and found the food to be good and the prices reasonable. Their "Italian Buffet" Night had yummy meatballs, spaghetti with meat sauce, lasagna, salad, soup, garlic breadsticks, Italian-style green beans, and nice desserts, like Boston Creme Pie.

At twilight, we enjoyed rocking on the large rockers overlooking the golf course and panoramic vista with tons of deer. We even spotted the elusive white deer that some of the other guests told us about.

I'm sure the hiking is breathtaking, but we were unable to do that on this trip. We were not able to picnic, fish, or use the playground either, but I'm sure they are great.

We were told they are beginning construction on a new wing of the lodge this fall. It will have 80 rooms or so. They're also adding a swimming pool and other amenities. I think the whole renovation will take 2 years. They will probably go back and renovate the old rooms after they have built the new ones. I'm sure the upgraded rooms will cost more, so for now, I am content to pay a low nightly rate for the quaint rooms they currently have.

I was very pleased and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cacapon Resort State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cacapon Resort State Park

Address: 818 Cacapon Lodge Drive, Berkeley Springs, WV 25411
Location: United States > West Virginia > Berkeley Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Berkeley Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golf course and lodge located in a state park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Cacapon Resort State Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cacapon Resort State Park Hotel Berkeley Springs
Cacapon Hotel Berkeley Springs
Cacapon Hotel State Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cacapon Resort State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.