We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fishing at the State park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cacapon Resort State Park

Save Saved
You added Cacapon Resort State Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cacapon Resort State Park
818 Cacapon Lodge Drive, Berkeley Springs, WV 25411   |  
Hotel amenities
Waldorf
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fishing at the State park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My wife and I stay at a cottage on the Cacapon River every year. This year the river was a raging torrent due to heavy rain in the area. We were looking for another place to fish, and stumbled on the lake at the front of the Cacapon State Park. First of all, the park was clean and well cared for. The restrooms were spotless, despite being outside. The staff at the boathouse were courteous and helpful. The fishing was great! For a small lake, my wife and I caught several largemouth bass between 1 1/2 to 5 pounds over 2 days. We were using artificial baits, ( I'm not going to say which) and we had to work for them, but no one around us was doing much good with natural bait. I would recommend to anyone who has the patience to work the lake, the bass are plentiful, but finicky. Switch baits often and try different techniques.

Room Tip: We didn't stay here, only fished.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    47
    19
    4
    2
See reviews for
35
27
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
University Park, Maryland
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is a wonderful place, the cabin that they upgraded us to was perfect. You can hike, eat out, eat in, chill, go out, you name it this is the place. Close enough to the DC area that it should be more crowded during the week but grateful it isn't. I can 't wait to return. If there is a bad review it must be from people who are not used to being outside in nature. My friend and I had a wonderful time and I personally wish there were more insects.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Family has been going to Cacapon for sixty years. We take a number of cabins for a week, and do very little productive (unless naps, reading, drinking, golfing, siting by the lake, talking, and eating are productive).

The cabins aren't luxury by any means, but they're air conditioned and the bathrooms have been updated (I remember the old concrete showers). There are no dishwashers, and in the newest cabins, the ADA height sink can make the dishwasher's back hurt.


The golf course is top notch, and I always seem to up my game. A not to walkers though, as the course sits at the feet of Cacapon Mountain, it's quite hilly.

I haven't stayed in a lodge room, but my brother and 8-month pregnant sister-in-law did. Their only complaint was that the slope of the ceiling made one side of the bed tight.

All in all, Cacapon is perfect for what we use it for, an opportunity to get away (although cell service now extends into the park) and enjoy some down time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed 3 mostly quiet days in the woods. The cabin was quite rustic,pretty clean but yes there were some bugs and mice etc. lets try to remember where you are....in the woods. There were deer everywhere, squirrels, chipmunks, frogs...the whole spectrum of wildlife. We hadn't counted on one of our neighboring cabins bringing microphones, amps, electric guitars and Karaoke equipment for a late night party. Most likely a family reunion. If you are planning a big party, you should invite the neighbors....right? The bungalows can sleep up to 6 .....but max should be two adults with small children. With only two of us we were bumping into each other.....and watch your head getting out of the bunk beds. I now have a soft spot.
The park is a treasure with golf, hiking trails, swimming area and friendly staff. Go and enjoy. If you have a problem with bugs...stay at the lodge.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed over 4th of July. This is a well-run, extremely clean, and extremely well maintained property. We stayed in the lodge. The room was comfortable with nice beds and bedding. This is a mid-century modern style architecture building, so the rooms are smaller than most chains and so are the bathrooms, but well-maintained. The only small issue is waiting for hot water.

The dining is very well done American cuisine with no frill, just hearty substance. They cook the way you do at home plus a deep fryer. The choices are varied enough that there is something for everyone, even a vegetarian. The prices are fair.

The golf course is immaculate. The fees very low, about $35 on a weekend for 18 holes.

We did not avail ourselves of all the activities, such as horseback riding, clay pigeon shooting, or the beach at the pond, other guest were happy enough.

It is a. Budget friendly, family friendly place with very nice staff.

Room Tip: A golf course view near the water heater.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We went to Cacapon State Park as part of our trip to West Virginia this past June. We were given cabin 26 which was supposed to sleep four. First off, the car we were renting was more spacious. Upon entering, the kitchen was on the right and bunk beds were on the left. So much for sitting up in bed! To get to the upper beds which were in a loft, you had to climb on the kitchen table to get to the stairs to climb up. The beds up there were small...like a doll house. The room was dark and musty. We asked if we could upgrade out of the bungalow to something bigger and they gave us another cabin. We arrived to the new room at 11 pm and were greeted by more insects than I could imagine being in a structure. There were stink bugs all over the place including on the beds, in the bathroom, and on the curtains. There were cockroaches, spiders, and other bugs I couldn't identify. We spent 1.5 hours killing bugs so that we could sleep and called the front desk to let them know what we were experiencing. They had room in the lodge for the next night so we had to sleep in the cabin. In the morning, there were larve on the floor that weren't there the night before. The lodge was nice. Wouldn't stay in a cabin ever again, but would stay in the lodge.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

My family spent 2 nights here over the Easter weekend. We stayed in the lodge and got 2 rooms. The lodge itself is very nice with rocking chairs overlooking the golf course, recreation room, a social area with a huge TV and several board games on the table. The rooms are small but clean. However, there was a dated smell in our rooms. The staff were just ok. They were professional enough but not friendly and accommodating. I hardly see anyone smile.

The State Park outside was great. They had the Easter egg hunt while we were there and my niece enjoyed it. We hiked one of the trails using the trail guide. For those who like nature, this is a great place to unwind. The price is very reasonable and it's a great value.

The only thing we did not like here was the restaurant. Their food was ok. When we had our buffet breakfast in our first morning, we came later and the pancake had already gotten stale and tough at that time. We asked for new, freshly cooked ones but the manager and cook refused at first. The servers were great about it and suggested that we order off the menu. One of us did and was brought fresh pancakes. We shared that person's pancake. We just can't understand why they cannot put some fresh pancakes in the buffet table and we told the manager that. However, he just brushed us off. On Easter Sunday, we all went to get the Easter Sunday brunch buffet and when the manager saw us, he started to have an attitude with us. My husband thinks it's because we complained about the pancakes the day before. The manager has a very poor customer service attitude. He is very selective though because it seems like he was nice with others. We were even wondering that he did not like the idea that a majority of the people in our group are minorities. We hate to think that but it seems like it was that way.

As much as we like the rest of our experience at Cacapon, I would stay away from the restaurant because of the manager. Again, the servers were great, efficient and friendly but the management needs to be taught a thing or to about customer service and proper management. That being said, there are restaurants in town that have good food and great customer service. Go there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cacapon Resort State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cacapon Resort State Park

Address: 818 Cacapon Lodge Drive, Berkeley Springs, WV 25411
Location: United States > West Virginia > Berkeley Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Berkeley Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golf course and lodge located in a state park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Cacapon Resort State Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cacapon Resort State Park Hotel Berkeley Springs
Cacapon Hotel Berkeley Springs
Cacapon Hotel State Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cacapon Resort State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.