We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“July 4th bungalow in the woods” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cacapon Resort State Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Cacapon Resort State Park to your Saves list
Cacapon Resort State Park
818 Cacapon Lodge Drive, Berkeley Springs, WV 25411   |  
Hotel amenities
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“July 4th bungalow in the woods”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed 3 mostly quiet days in the woods. The cabin was quite rustic,pretty clean but yes there were some bugs and mice etc. lets try to remember where you are....in the woods. There were deer everywhere, squirrels, chipmunks, frogs...the whole spectrum of wildlife. We hadn't counted on one of our neighboring cabins bringing microphones, amps, electric guitars and Karaoke equipment for a late night party. Most likely a family reunion. If you are planning a big party, you should invite the neighbors....right? The bungalows can sleep up to 6 .....but max should be two adults with small children. With only two of us we were bumping into each other.....and watch your head getting out of the bunk beds. I now have a soft spot.
The park is a treasure with golf, hiking trails, swimming area and friendly staff. Go and enjoy. If you have a problem with bugs...stay at the lodge.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    48
    19
    4
    2
See reviews for
36
27
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
VA
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed over 4th of July. This is a well-run, extremely clean, and extremely well maintained property. We stayed in the lodge. The room was comfortable with nice beds and bedding. This is a mid-century modern style architecture building, so the rooms are smaller than most chains and so are the bathrooms, but well-maintained. The only small issue is waiting for hot water.

The dining is very well done American cuisine with no frill, just hearty substance. They cook the way you do at home plus a deep fryer. The choices are varied enough that there is something for everyone, even a vegetarian. The prices are fair.

The golf course is immaculate. The fees very low, about $35 on a weekend for 18 holes.

We did not avail ourselves of all the activities, such as horseback riding, clay pigeon shooting, or the beach at the pond, other guest were happy enough.

It is a. Budget friendly, family friendly place with very nice staff.

Room Tip: A golf course view near the water heater.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We went to Cacapon State Park as part of our trip to West Virginia this past June. We were given cabin 26 which was supposed to sleep four. First off, the car we were renting was more spacious. Upon entering, the kitchen was on the right and bunk beds were on the left. So much for sitting up in bed! To get to the upper beds which were in a loft, you had to climb on the kitchen table to get to the stairs to climb up. The beds up there were small...like a doll house. The room was dark and musty. We asked if we could upgrade out of the bungalow to something bigger and they gave us another cabin. We arrived to the new room at 11 pm and were greeted by more insects than I could imagine being in a structure. There were stink bugs all over the place including on the beds, in the bathroom, and on the curtains. There were cockroaches, spiders, and other bugs I couldn't identify. We spent 1.5 hours killing bugs so that we could sleep and called the front desk to let them know what we were experiencing. They had room in the lodge for the next night so we had to sleep in the cabin. In the morning, there were larve on the floor that weren't there the night before. The lodge was nice. Wouldn't stay in a cabin ever again, but would stay in the lodge.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

My family spent 2 nights here over the Easter weekend. We stayed in the lodge and got 2 rooms. The lodge itself is very nice with rocking chairs overlooking the golf course, recreation room, a social area with a huge TV and several board games on the table. The rooms are small but clean. However, there was a dated smell in our rooms. The staff were just ok. They were professional enough but not friendly and accommodating. I hardly see anyone smile.

The State Park outside was great. They had the Easter egg hunt while we were there and my niece enjoyed it. We hiked one of the trails using the trail guide. For those who like nature, this is a great place to unwind. The price is very reasonable and it's a great value.

The only thing we did not like here was the restaurant. Their food was ok. When we had our buffet breakfast in our first morning, we came later and the pancake had already gotten stale and tough at that time. We asked for new, freshly cooked ones but the manager and cook refused at first. The servers were great about it and suggested that we order off the menu. One of us did and was brought fresh pancakes. We shared that person's pancake. We just can't understand why they cannot put some fresh pancakes in the buffet table and we told the manager that. However, he just brushed us off. On Easter Sunday, we all went to get the Easter Sunday brunch buffet and when the manager saw us, he started to have an attitude with us. My husband thinks it's because we complained about the pancakes the day before. The manager has a very poor customer service attitude. He is very selective though because it seems like he was nice with others. We were even wondering that he did not like the idea that a majority of the people in our group are minorities. We hate to think that but it seems like it was that way.

As much as we like the rest of our experience at Cacapon, I would stay away from the restaurant because of the manager. Again, the servers were great, efficient and friendly but the management needs to be taught a thing or to about customer service and proper management. That being said, there are restaurants in town that have good food and great customer service. Go there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, SC
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We pulled into the Lodge at the State Park after a day of traveling in the rain. The warm welcome by the staff, the friendly chatter and their wish to please us made our check in (without reservations) very smooth. We went into the great room and truly appreciated the fireplace that was in use! Our room (20) was on the second floor, overlooked the golf course, was perfect for these travel weary people. Unfortunately for us, our cell phone did not work at the Lodge but the in room phone charges for long distance were reasonable. While the accommodations are not cutting edge, they are exactly what you would expect from a well kept state park lodge. The flat screen TV and the in room wifi are nice to haves, although the wifi can use a bit of a boost. By the way, we had tons of HOT water!

We wandered down to dinner on site and had a decent choice of wines and meals. My crab cake was the best I'd had in ages, I thought I was on the Atlantic coastline!

Will be back as soon as possible and will definitely be back after the scheduled updates.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Fresh mountain air, good country food, well-marked hiking trails... the Cacapon Mountain lodge has lots to offer. Rocking chairs overlooking the golf course, a rec room with video games, foosball, air hockey and pool, a library, a fireplace reading room.... Something for everyone. The rooms in the lodge are a bit dated, but it's like stepping back in time and enjoying a simpler time. They have cabins as well but must book far in advance.

Room Tip: Choose from Mountain View or Golf Course view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed in the lodge. This is a state park venue - so don't expect the Ritz - but the staff was terrific. Very friendly and responsive, open to suggesting places to eat etc. Rooms were tight but clean. The hot water issue is for real - ask for a room nearest the hot water heater, and you'll be fine. The rooms at the end of the bldg are farther away and you can wait fifteen minutes or opt for a cold shower. The restaurant is a tough sell, even for a state run facility. There are places in town with excellent food. Golf was outstanding, hiking trails lovely, mountains lovely, fishing was great in the swimming lake down the road. Low key operation with well-maintained grounds. People couldn't have been nicer. Storm knocked out the internet in the whole valley, which allowed us to relax and enjoy the scenery. Kick back, slow down, and you'll have a nice time here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cacapon Resort State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cacapon Resort State Park

Address: 818 Cacapon Lodge Drive, Berkeley Springs, WV 25411
Location: United States > West Virginia > Berkeley Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Berkeley Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golf course and lodge located in a state park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cacapon Resort State Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cacapon Resort State Park Hotel Berkeley Springs
Cacapon Hotel Berkeley Springs
Cacapon Hotel State Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cacapon Resort State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.