We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet location, workable lodging” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cacapon Resort State Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cacapon Resort State Park to your Saves list
Cacapon Resort State Park
818 Cacapon Lodge Drive, Berkeley Springs, WV 25411   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sweet location, workable lodging”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed in the lodge. This is a state park venue - so don't expect the Ritz - but the staff was terrific. Very friendly and responsive, open to suggesting places to eat etc. Rooms were tight but clean. The hot water issue is for real - ask for a room nearest the hot water heater, and you'll be fine. The rooms at the end of the bldg are farther away and you can wait fifteen minutes or opt for a cold shower. The restaurant is a tough sell, even for a state run facility. There are places in town with excellent food. Golf was outstanding, hiking trails lovely, mountains lovely, fishing was great in the swimming lake down the road. Low key operation with well-maintained grounds. People couldn't have been nicer. Storm knocked out the internet in the whole valley, which allowed us to relax and enjoy the scenery. Kick back, slow down, and you'll have a nice time here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    56
    22
    7
    2
See reviews for
40
36
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I traveled in mid week in April. There were very few cars in the parking lot and few people in the hotel. I was surprised that I was given a room with a view of a roof (with the mountains behind it). I had asked for mountain view and to be fair you could see the mountain.
Room 7 had a queen and single bed. It was very small with only a few feet around the beds. The queen was pushed under a roof over hang so that you could not get out on that side of the bed without crawling to the bottom of the bed.
The hotel is older but well maintained and very clean.
The web site said that horse back riding was available during the week by arrangement and for some reason they pointed out where the stables were when I checked in. When I asked about making arrangements they told riding was only available on weekends. There was no information about the hotel in the room or provided.
I was told the restaurant was open from 8-10 for breakfast and 5-8 for dinner. It was open on Thursday for lunch as well. I ordered crab cake dinner for $20. The crab cakes were good and well cooked - crispy on the outside and moist on inside. The Spanish rice was gooy. There were no onion or bell peppers in the rice. The corn and beans mix was covered with some kind of oil - I couldn't decide if it was butter or not.
It is a beautiful setting a lot of creeks, falls and lakes. There are a number of hiking trails, fishing, and golfing. There is a lovely back porch complete with rocking chairs running along the back of the lodge.

Room Tip: avoid rooms 7,5,3
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

we stayed here for Easter weekend as a stopping place to take our son back to WVU. Small, quiet but clean rooms. The resort is geared for outdoor activities- lots to do when it's not raining! the clay pigeon shooting range was open and the teenagers loved it. The ranger was fantastic with the kids and made it alot of fun. The restaurant was not open all the time and local restaurants in Berkely Springs were a bit far away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We enjoyed our one night stay at the lodge. Though the rooms aren't fancy, I was expecting old, banged up furniture and was pleased to find decent amenities. There is a very nice flat screen tv and everything is spotlessly clean. Only down sides are the slightly ugly bed spreads and the long wait for hot water. The breakfast buffet was decent and it was great to be able to go for a hike immediately after breakfast. We wish the reception desk folks would have known a bit more about the trails, but at least there was a map. Overall nice stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

I booked a stay at the Cacapon State Park Resort for October, 2011 after seeing a favorable review in a travel magazine. The review specifically stated that it was one of the best vacation spots in the U.S. for the price, and I would certainly be inclined to agree! Not everything about my trip was great, but the overall experience was well worth the long drive. In summery:

Pros: The location is spectacular. If you have ever encountered anyone expressing wariness about visiting the Appalachian Mountains, they have no idea what they are talking about and probably haven't seen it in person. Beautiful landscapes, untouched local ecosystems, abundant wildlife and true rustic living place this state park near the top of my list for a nature retreat. The only place I think is better may be Mesa Verde in Colorado, and it is a very close call between the two.

I stayed in a Classic Cabin (I forgot the number) for around four days, during my time here. The surrounding area is simply breathtaking to behold, and in spite of living "off the grid" during this time I found my stay to be very enjoyable. The immediate area around my cabin was well accommodated with a picnic table to take in the view, along with a well positioned trash disposal area at the end of the foot path to the road. (All of this is located in black bear country, so it is wise to keep your garbage sealed and well away from any living areas.)

The cabin itself was comfortable. The bed linens were well tended and very clean, and I could appreciate the 1930's construction of the cabin, itself. Not only was it very solid, but it looked like it could retain a lot of warmth during the Winter months. The front door was well constructed and very secure, so I would guess that it takes noticeable effort (meaning someone staying nearby would hear it) for anyone to break in. The bathroom was small but serviceable, and there was everything you needed to sustain yourself during your visit.

The resort lodge had a good restaurant, especially for the meal prices. All of the staff were friendly and helpful, the other guests were respectful of everyone and non-intrusive. While there wasn't a visible Security presence in the resort area, it probably isn't needed. Local law enforcement officials are likely familiar with the area and have easy access to it.

Cons: Disappointments were few and far between during this outing, except for two big caveats. And one of them is something I know cannot be helped by anyone at the resort. First, the website specifically listed a microwave oven as one of the cabin amenities. Mine didn't have one, but to be fair I never asked about it. All of the food I brought could be cooked on a stove. Second, the entire area, as well as my cabin, was overrun with small green stink bugs. This is an invasive species that's more of a nuisance than anything else, and hardly a huge issue if you're quick with a fly swatter.

Also, be aware that if you stay in a classic cabin, your cell phone reception may be blocked inside.

If I do come here again, and I may well do so, I'll probably opt for one of the lodge rooms or a modern cabin. Beyond the two small issues which came up during my vacation here, I'm very glad that I took the time to visit Cacapon State Park. And I would recommend it for anyone else, be it an anniversary, family reunion or simply a solo trip to the edge of the wilderness in West Virginia.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needmore, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Dated, but clean. Spent 2 days at the lodge on a business trip. Very small rooms but a nice view. Water does not get very hot. Reserve well in advance. There is WiFi and cable. Limited menu at restaurant. Convenient parking. Nice trails, but no bike rental. Not many local restaurants were open on a rainy Tuesday night -- beware. Rec room downstairs includes ping pong, pool (for $1/game), arcade games, etc. and was fun. Board games also at hand. Staff were all friendly and accommodating. Cute gift store with more variety than would be expected. Nice porch areas to sit and relax. Meeting rooms were spacious and well-furnished; a projector screen was provided for free. However, they are below ground level and somewhat claustrophobic. Beverage service was subpar; tea tasted strongly of coffee although staff service was always 5 star. Beautiful scenery and well maintained.

Room Tip: Lodge rooms to the front have a nice view of the golf course. Roof slopes sharply - be careful sitt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Rooms small. Recently painted recarpeted. Rooms have wi ti and flat screen Tv. Considering age facility in good condition. Staff very good and helpful.

Good dinning room wait staff. Good value. Home cooklng - veggies overcooked.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Cacapon Resort State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cacapon Resort State Park

Address: 818 Cacapon Lodge Drive, Berkeley Springs, WV 25411
Location: United States > West Virginia > Berkeley Springs
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Berkeley Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golf course and lodge located in a state park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cacapon Resort State Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cacapon Resort State Park Hotel Berkeley Springs
Cacapon Hotel Berkeley Springs
Cacapon Hotel State Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cacapon Resort State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.