We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maria's Garden and Inn

Maria's Garden and Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berkeley Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maria's Garden and Inn
Save
You added Maria's Garden and Inn to your Saves list
42 Independence Street, Berkeley Springs, WV 25411   |  
Hotel amenities
VA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Last minute trip up to Berkeley Spring WV to take in the "waters" of the Hot Springs and we stayed at this very nice B&B lodge, just a short walk from the "Springs". The rooms were spacious, clean and quiet. The food excellent. They have a full service restaurant that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The highlight of the stay was a great conversation with the owner Peggy. She is a great weaver of interesting facts and has wonderful way of engaging her guests in her stories. I would highly recomment this place for a restful stay with good food and service.

Jim

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    9
    5
    5
    8
See reviews for
12
5
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Last weekend my BF decided we would drive into Berkeley Springs for dinner and we opted to try Maria's (the last time I was there the place smelled wonderful). The decor was slightly amusing as the place was covered with Catholic paintings, portraits and other decorations, but the place was warm and friendly and the staff were both pleasant and attentive.

We both opted for the Italian selections from the menu after asking the waitress what she liked the best. The sauce was excellent and judging by the fact that the spaghetti noodles were a mile long, I am thinking they were homemade as well. The meat stuffed shells were excellent as well.

We also had dessert. My BF said the lemon pie was good and I had THE most massive apple dumpling imaginable! It was divine and was served with the sauce and ice cream on the side (warning, this is a good dessert to SHARE, it was that big).

The prices were excellent as well, and I definitely plan to go back!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson, Maryland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

We have been staying at Maria's Garden when we come to Berkeley Springs for the past 5 years. Peg & Alysa always welcome us warmly on the phone and recognize who we are.

We stay in the Guadalupe Suite which is comfortable and clean. I sleep peacefully. Breakfast is included in the price and is totally delicious and plenty of it. You get your choices of breakfast -- pancakes or eggs plus home fries and bacon.

The location is PERFECT! 2 blocks walk from the center of town and shopping/spa all around.

I like the the family atmosphere best. Peg and her staff and family are always warm and welcoming. The back porch has a glider and nice chairs. It is a covered porch and I always enjoy watching folks pass by.

If you don't feel like going out to eat, the Maria's Garden restaurant is right there in the bldg. You can even order take out and bring it to the room. I especially recommend the home made meatballs and potato soup.

Check the website and view some of the newly rennovated rooms. They are beautiful and cozy. Cordelia (the head housekeeper) took us on a tour of the new rooms. Good, positive energy!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend getaway. This place is in downtown Berkeley Springs, within easy walk of the springs themselves and downtown spa places like Atasia. They do not have a parking lot but there was easy on street parking.

The establishment is a shrine to the Virgin Mary, and filled with lots of very traditional Roman Catholic Art. I really enjoyed the ambiance but I can see how it might not appeal to some people.

The room was clean and comfortable. The only downside was that too much light leaked into the room from outside street lights and the morning sun. They need to put better shades on all the windows.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jef-ind
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

This looked like a good place to go for family-friendly lunch. We were one of only two tables being served on a September weekday. The service was ok, but the food was not up to expectations. Would not go again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

Where to start? Went for dinner with family on short holiday to Berkeley Springs. Read the story of the restaurant and was intrigued. Nice to see people unafraid of religion in the workplace and public space. Owner (?) was surly when we arrived but waitress was friendly. Food arrived without too much delay. But really, it was terrible. Just awful. How to ruin a burger? Cook it to death and put it on a stale crumbly bun. (Meat tasted a little strange as well). The rest of the party had food that was obviously frozen and prepared (nuked to death) in a microwave. Rubbery dead chicken, "green beans" were a mess of slop, pizza was terrifying (serving frozen pizza is bad enough, but microwaving it???). Was the microwave frozen food to save money? Surely purchasing food items fresh and preparing them yourself couldn't be more expensive from buying them pre-prepared and frozen from some faceless restaurant supply company, could it? Travelers should avoid this ghastly food at all costs. Even a fast food drive through is of higher quality and better taste at a fraction of the cost.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travler78
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

Berkeley Springs is a quaint town in the panhandle of West Virginia. The diversity of businesses there go quite well with the diversity of people who live and visit there. Maria's Garden has the most wonderful rooms, they range from suites with jacuzzi baths to rooms with double beds and a shared bath. There is a room for what ever your looking for as well as the price range your looking for. A full breakfast comes with your stay. The food is Italian-American, and is all made right there in the family style kitchen.....right down to stuffing her own shells. I've been vistiting Maria's Garden for over 20 yrs. now and often visit Berkeley Springs to do just that.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maria's Garden and Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria's Garden and Inn

Address: 42 Independence Street, Berkeley Springs, WV 25411
Location: United States > West Virginia > Berkeley Springs
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Berkeley Springs
Number of rooms: 11

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maria's Garden and Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.