We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sofa Viewing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Star Theater

Star Theater
Washington & Congress Streets, Berkeley Springs, WV 25411
304-258-1404
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Travel back in time to when a night at the movies was still affordable and fun: this 300 seat Depression-era movie house features sofa seating (only 3) and a super tub of popcorn with real butter for $4. A real mom and pop theater. On the West Virginia Historic Theater Trail. In 2013, the Star went digital!
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Sofa Viewing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The movie may not have been so great. In fact, it was horrible. Don't see: The Big Wedding !

However when watching a movie from the upper sofa at the Star, you can still have a great time. Fresh popcorn with real melted BUTTER, tasty apple cider and the charm of the historic movie house, how could you go wrong a the Star?!?

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
popcornempress, Owner at Star Theater, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
We have to remind people we don't make the movies, we only show them. It's a challenge to find 50 movies a year to show. Thanks for appreciating the parts we can control.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    15
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, PA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Old Tyme theater.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

What couldn't you like? A movie for 2 that costs what a multi-plex charges for one ticket? And for just 2 bits - you can get a couch. The staff was friendly and if we had room after our dinner at Tari's, we would have enjoyed the snack bar!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
popcornempress, Owner at Star Theater, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thanks. We always love it when folks "get" the Star. More fun per penny than anything else around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Movie in a museum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Took teenagers and younger son while staying over Easter break in Berkely Springs. Very retro- older, good for younger people to see how it used to be. Saw a newer movie- quality of technology of movie was great. Price is very reasonable. Not sure what the hype over the popcorn was- we didn't care too much for it- a bit soggy from the hot butter but overall very happy with experience and the kids saw things they never would have seen.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
popcornempress, Owner at Star Theater, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Glad you enjoyed the historic aspect of the experience. When you return, for your own well being don't say anything about the popcorn being less than sublime -- a long line of ardent fans may be less than pleased.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA (USA)
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“retro night at the movies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

If you can,call to reserve one of the couches to enjoy a first run movie at 1970 prices, with popcorn and snacks (all about a dollar). The owners are obviously enjoying their work. Don't forget to look up at the ceiling, and windows for a star-studded view.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
popcornempress, Owner at Star Theater, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
It's good to have a theme and we love showcasing ours. The stars we painted on the ceiling ourselves back in the beginning; the star-themed art is what comes of living in a noted arts community. Glad you noticed -- and enjoyed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Reminds me of my childhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Almost first-run movies at a bargain price. Buttered popcorn with real butter (clogged arteries be damned). The new digital projection and sound system are a great improvement. And, as a regular, you gotta love being able to punch your own card.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
popcornempress, Owner at Star Theater, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We appreciate all the help we can get, like folks punching their own card. Now that's an inside joke you'll have to ask about folks, next time you come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star Theater also viewed

Berkeley Springs, WV
Berkeley Springs, WV
 

Been to Star Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Theater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.