We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything they say about the popcorn is true!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Star Theater

Star Theater
Washington & Congress Streets, Berkeley Springs, WV 25411
304-258-1404
Improve this listing
Type: Movie Theaters
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Travel back in time to when a night at the movies was still affordable and fun: this 300 seat Depression-era movie house features sofa seating (only 3) and a super tub of popcorn with real butter for $4. A real mom and pop theater. On the West Virginia Historic Theater Trail. In 2013, the Star went digital!
Virginia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Everything they say about the popcorn is true!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

We ended a fun Sunday in Berkeley Springs with a movie at the Star Theater. We saw "Magic Mike" and enjoyed the old fashioned red leather seats, decor and of course, the popcorn. We got the large size with 6 tablespoons of real butter. It has a special name but we couldn't remember. Three of us finished the whole tub before the movie even began! It was yummy!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
popcornempress, Owner at Star Theater, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
It's called the POPCORN MAN SPECIAL! We have to admit to teasing our customers about all that butter but....it's their arteries. We support the healthy popcorn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    13
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hagerstown
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Unique and very cost friendly!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Step back in time to the old theater atmosphere of this unique movie theater. Smell the aroma of fresh popped popcorn. Sit back and enjoy a movie with your family without breaking the budget. Our family of 4 can go here to catch a show, have snacks and a fun evening together for under $30. And that is with a lot of snacking! They show a variety of movies, but are only open on weekends. They show one movie each weekend. This is abou half the cost of the mall movie theaters. Plus you can't beat the small town charm of Berkeley Springs!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Movies back in time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I watched Men in Black 3. Very fun movie and experience. The theater is an old-fashioned icon. The way movies used to be watched decades ago in large, showcase houses. The price was 3.50 for the feature. I believe for an extra 50 cents you can get seating on a couch or large chair. Definitely something to consider, as the theater seating is uncomfortable with my knees scrunched against the next seat. They should really remove a few rows and create some sitting space because it is very tight. Fortunately no one was next to me, or in front, so I could maneuver my legs. Aside from the tight space, the Star Theater was great fun. I hope it stays open and showing movies for a long time.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Vintage”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

Saw the Avengers here last weekend. Not the best quality picture and sound.
I guess it's the best you can expect in a small town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
popcornempress, Owner at Star Theater, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Unfortunately, we cannot control either the quality of the sound or image since that comes from the physical film. However, we also noticed a diminishing of image quality in general and replaced both the projector light sources and installed a new screen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yikes!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

This place was outdated and the seats were uncomfortable. The sound was awful and the movie was like 3 months old. The person behind candy counter was rude to my son but the popcorn was good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
popcornempress, Owner at Star Theater, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
The Star is an historic theater. Tickets are $3.75. The weekend in question, the Star was showing The Avengers which had been released 6 weeks earlier and was still being shown as first-run. The sound system is up to industry standards. The reviewer attended on a night when more than 200 people had to be served at the concession stand within 40 minutes. There was no time for any interaction beyond finding out what someone wanted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star Theater also viewed

 
Berkeley Springs, WV
 

Been to Star Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Theater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Star Theater to your Saves list