We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berkeley Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast
234 Fairfax Street, Berkeley Springs, WV 25411   |  
Hotel amenities
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“What a great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I can't say enough terrific things about the Manor Inn. We stayed here on a bike trip on the C&O Canal trail and Great Allegheny Passage, so we stayed for one night.

I would say this was perhaps the stay, out of six nights, that most showed off the town that it was in -- Berkeley Springs is delightful -- and also the accommodation of the innkeeper.

Ellen and Wesley bent over backward to make us feel welcome. Berkeley Springs is about 9 miles mostly uphill from the Potomac, which the C&O Canal trail follows, so they told us they had arranged to have our bikes held at a bike shop in Hancock, which is on the river, and they would ferry us up to Berkeley Springs. This was a terrific arrangement in both directions, as it turned out!

The rooms were lovely, and the house was just enormous. In some B&Bs you feel like you're always invading the personal space of the innkeeper, but here, it would've been easy to imagine not seeing Ellen and Wesley at all.

We also had a delightful breakfast of locally sourced foods: sausage, waffles and eggs.

I would also put in a tip for anyone on the C&O Canal trail that Berkeley Springs is sure a better place to stay than Hancock, MD. I mean, we didn't stay there, but it looked like they were about to roll the sidewalks up at 6 when Wesley picked us up to take us up the hill.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
33
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ivyland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The Manor Inn in Berkeley Springs, WV is well worth the experience. The inn is beautifully maintained, extremely clean, attractively appointed, and perfectly located to enjoy all that the town has to offer.
Ellen, the proprietress, is generous, knowledgeable, and a perfect guide to the area and its attractions. Her restaurant recommendations are superb. Without reservation, follow the advice of this review and make a reservation to experience this lovely woman's hospitality and this lovely home and its amenities.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consett, England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Well what can we say but excellent. Visited Berkeley Springs on our trip around the States from England. Ellen and Wesley could not have made us feel more welcome, beginning with seeing our names on the welcome board when we arrived. Room was large and comfortable with a lovely roll top bath. Breakfast was also really nice including our long and entertaining chat with our hosts and fellow guest. Would heartily recommend this B&B to anyone! Mike and Rachel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Newton, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

On our first visit to Berkeley Springs we stayed at the Manor Inn, courtesy of a gift certificate from family for Christmas. I understand now why they chose this place. Ellen and Wesley have the knack for making you feel right at home, like an old friend. The house is fascinating as well, and our room was very large, comfortable and beautifully decorated. Ellen's breakfast was healthy and delicious, made from scratch from mostly local, organic foods. Wesley provided stimulating breakfast conversation while Ellen gave my husband a tour of the house. We had a wonderful time there, as well as falling in love with Berkeley Springs. We will be returning soon!

Room Tip: The front room is the largest room. Along with a comfy queen size bed, there was a trundle bed that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Just returned from a lovely 3 night stay at the Manor Inn with my parents. And what a wonderful stay it was. Ellen and Wesley have created a special B&B with attention to all the small details.

The breakfasts were fantastic with fresh organic fruit and homemade dishes including a blueberry french toast to die for and local sausages. As good as the food was, the company was even better. Ellen and Wesley go out of their way to get to know their guests, chatting over breakfast, providing unique recommendations of things to do in the area, and even exchanging knitting tips with my mom,

I was traveling with my parents so we booked the 2 room suite, which was perfect for our needs. There is a sitting room and a bathroom between the 2 bedrooms. It also had a second entrance up from the kitchen.

We left refreshed and relaxed, having made some special memories at the Manor Inn.

Room Tip: If you are traveling as a family, go with the suite. It comes with a separate entrance and a sittin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greencastle
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed with Ellen and Wesley at the Manor Inn and we had a wonderful experience. We enjoyed Berkley Springs, but we loved Ellen and Wesley. They are the most gracious hosts, with a beautiful home, delicious and healthy food, and wonderful company. We had the pleasure of having breakfast alone with them our first morning and felt like we were old friends by the time we left. Ellen's food was fresh and delicious satisfying even my very picky husband. We stayed in the front room and were concerned with windows near the street that it would be too noisy to sleep, but we were wrong. It was so quiet and peaceful that we slept like we were in our own bed. We will definitely return to Manor Inn, if only to have breakfast with Ellen and Wesley.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We had a great time at the Manor Inn. Ellen and Wesley have a very nicely decorated home, with great attention to detail. Monday morning breakfast was great with the other couples staying there, the conversation was lively and good. We will come back again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 234 Fairfax Street, Berkeley Springs, WV 25411
Location: United States > West Virginia > Berkeley Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Berkeley Springs
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel Berkeley Springs
Manor Inn Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list