We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Special Place in Berkeley Springs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berkeley Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
234 Fairfax Street, Berkeley Springs, WV 25411   |  
Hotel amenities
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A Special Place in Berkeley Springs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Just returned from a lovely 3 night stay at the Manor Inn with my parents. And what a wonderful stay it was. Ellen and Wesley have created a special B&B with attention to all the small details.

The breakfasts were fantastic with fresh organic fruit and homemade dishes including a blueberry french toast to die for and local sausages. As good as the food was, the company was even better. Ellen and Wesley go out of their way to get to know their guests, chatting over breakfast, providing unique recommendations of things to do in the area, and even exchanging knitting tips with my mom,

I was traveling with my parents so we booked the 2 room suite, which was perfect for our needs. There is a sitting room and a bathroom between the 2 bedrooms. It also had a second entrance up from the kitchen.

We left refreshed and relaxed, having made some special memories at the Manor Inn.

Room Tip: If you are traveling as a family, go with the suite. It comes with a separate entrance and a sittin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
34
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greencastle
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed with Ellen and Wesley at the Manor Inn and we had a wonderful experience. We enjoyed Berkley Springs, but we loved Ellen and Wesley. They are the most gracious hosts, with a beautiful home, delicious and healthy food, and wonderful company. We had the pleasure of having breakfast alone with them our first morning and felt like we were old friends by the time we left. Ellen's food was fresh and delicious satisfying even my very picky husband. We stayed in the front room and were concerned with windows near the street that it would be too noisy to sleep, but we were wrong. It was so quiet and peaceful that we slept like we were in our own bed. We will definitely return to Manor Inn, if only to have breakfast with Ellen and Wesley.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We had a great time at the Manor Inn. Ellen and Wesley have a very nicely decorated home, with great attention to detail. Monday morning breakfast was great with the other couples staying there, the conversation was lively and good. We will come back again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have been to this bed and breakfast over a half dozen times, and each time is quiet , peaceful and restful, complete with a beautiful garden and a scrumptious breakfast. My room was spacious and well kept and looked out over the grounds. In the springtime, this is truly a beautiful setting. Breakfast was delicious, with homemade muffins, a veggie omelet and lean, tasty ham slices. We had a chance to chat with Ellen on the porch before heading home. My friend had a relaxing message at Atasia. A wonderful visit...

Room Tip: All of the rooms are spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We decided to take a quick get a way somewhere close to Washington so we looked up B&Bs relatively close. We like Berkeley Springs, WV so we ran across this Inn on Trip Advisor. With so many fantastic reviews, we choose the Manor Inn. I called and was lucky enough to book just one night (normally its a two night minimum). Ellen was so friendly and helpful, she even directed us to the Western MD Rail to Trail in Hancock, MD for a hike prior to our arrival. The Inn is lovely - we had the front room. We later saw the suite which was occupied by two very nice, interesting ladies. The suite would be perfect for two couples or a family. Ellen directed us to a fabulous restaurant (Lot 12) in town. When we arrived home, there was a fire set in the front room which we lit and had an enjoyable time reading by the fire and listening to albums on the record player. I bet they have hundreds and it was fun looking through them and reminiscing about my own collection of 33RPMs! Breakfast the next morning was a two hour delight with Ellen's husband, Wesley, keeping us laughing. It was all together a perfect time. I highly recommend the Manor Inn.

Room Tip: The front room is charming. There is a large bathroom that is shared by another room, but there is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife and I are a young couple in our late 20s. We decided to visit the sleepy town of Berkeley Springs this past weekend to check out the Fall foliage and explore the litte shops and springs of the town. The Manor Inn was certainly one of the highlights of the trip.

Ellen and Wesley are gracious hosts and bend over backwards to accomodate guests. Ellen is an excellent cook for breakfast and I highly recommend her pumpkin roll. Wesley is a lively and entertaining person who will get you to laugh no matter what.

The house is very vintage and certainly takes you back in time. From the high ceilings to cast iron tub, this place looks unchanged by the times. If you are a fan of classic architecture, this is the place for you.

Only one small complaint: the creaky floors. This is inherent with older homes, but it certainly makes it difficult to sleep in when the other guests are up early. If you are not a light sleeper like I am, then this will be a non-issue for you.

Room Tip: We stayed in the front room, which had plenty of natural light and space. A beautiful room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Staying at The Manor Inn took our experience of the Berkley Springs Apple Butter Festival
completely over the top of expectations. Ellen & Wesley are outstanding host and treated us as family spending the weekend. Could not ask for for a warmer reception and immediate
acceptance into thier home. We were also impressed with our fellow guest, the conversation
and sharing of experiences was exceptional at breakfast every morning. Add to it that the
breakfast served was outstanding and 5 star daily. Highly recommend The Manor Inn as
a Berkley Springs WVA B&B of choice to share with others

Room Tip: Suggest sharing the experience with 2 nd couple and taking the rear connected rooms with setting a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 234 Fairfax Street, Berkeley Springs, WV 25411
Location: United States > West Virginia > Berkeley Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Berkeley Springs
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel Berkeley Springs
Manor Inn Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manor Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.