We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wrestling meet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beckley East

Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beckley East
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beckley East to your Saves list
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beckley East
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 South Eisenhower Drive, Beckley, WV 25801   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    104
    68
    44
    37
See reviews for
137
90
30
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

The place was like any other Microtel I've ever stayed at (almost identical), which isn't a bad thing. I actually felt as if I had stayed there before. Upon check-in on a Monday night, the staff was very friendly. She went above and beyond her duties, by basically offering me any room I wanted for my family and I, offering directions to shopping and restaurants. It was fairly early in the evening (maybe 7:00 or 7:30) and she went on about having to lock the side (or rear) doors to prevent people from trespassing. I didn't think much about it at the time, but I probably should have been worried. The room was very nice, but I did notice some garbage on the carpet that was missed by the housekeeping staff, which suggests to me that the room wasn't thoroughly cleaned. Another thing was that the shower did not work. After being on the road all day, I really wanted a shower, but instead I just washed my hair under the bath tub spout. I also found that the walls were very thin. The people in the room next to us were not being very loud and simply having a normal conversation and we could hear every word. All in all, the room was nice and the beds and pillows very comfortable. My major disappointment was that I left a pair of jeans and a belt there hanging on a hook on the wall. I called the hotel a few days later to inquire about my jeans and they said a pair of jeans was not found in the room, but they took my name and phone number and said that the head of housekeeping would call me to follow-up. I never did receive a follow-up call. I know 100% that I left my jeans there and I'm disappointed that they claim to have not found them. It's not like something small that can easily go missing. I'm sure the staff member that found them has taken them for themselves or a friend/family member. If this didn't happen, I would have easily given this place a 3 out of 5 and maybe a 4. I wouldn't stay here again and it really leaves a bad taste in my mouth about Microtel. It really was my own fault for leaving the jeans there, but I expect some honesty from their staff when finding items. What if it was something valuable?

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room away from other guests to ensure you have peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

It was clean and I slept well. That's really all I was looking for. I was in WV for a funeral and had never been in Beckley before. It was well located for my needs and was close to restaurants. I would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

The hotel itself seems clean and well kept, but when we arrived we were met with no less than 4 police cruisers in the parking lot and a few more officers inside. The staff was tight lipped about something to do with back door entry to the building by non guests, which I suppose happens to the best of places, but there was a guy on the lobby computer cruising some very questionable personal video and picture websites and when he was asked to stop by the staff, he began arguing about getting an attorney, only to find out by watching the confrontation, which the staff had in the lobby of all places, he seemed to have some kind of personal relationship with the staff he was arguing with! Then as I attempted to pay cash for a room, my credit card was demanded for security reasons. Security? From me? While the police escorted some girls husband out of the building? Are you kidding? This hotel needs some serious security and staffing overhauls. If we had not been so tired from driving, we would have run from this place!!!! On a good note, room was decent, clean and for the money, very acceptable. Note to management- hire new staff..!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crab Orchard
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

The rooms are nice the bed was comfy, but I noticed what appeared to be dog hairs on my bedspread. I stay here when the weather gets bad and I can't get home so it's convenient to my job. The staff is always nice but I did notice a little issue with the bedspread having hairs which seemed to be either dog or cat.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I chose this location due to Huddle House being nearby. Once we arrive, we learned that the diner had closed. I hadn't been to Beckley since moving to NC a few years ago. I was a bit disappointed in the price difference that I was quoted when I called the property and when I checked in...about a 10 dollar a day difference..I had only planned to stay 2 days but ended up getting snowed in and had to stay an extra day, that extra 30 dollars could have been better budgeted if I was given the rate that I was quoted, but " it is what it in the hotel business". The staff was incredible. Some were more helpful than others right from the start, some had to warm up. Overall, my kids and I enjoyed our stay. We slept well in the beds and the room was cleaner than I had expected based on the reviews. The room was peaceful and we did not hear any noise unless we were out in the hallways. The pool was heated, just wasn't too heated. Yes, that part of town is a bit sparse of businesses, but I did not at anytime feel unsafe in the building or even during a late evening walk to dollar general. If and when I come back to Beckley. This hotel will be my choice for lodging.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rkveton, Operations at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beckley East, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
I want to first thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and leaving the kind remarks. We strive to be the Best Place to Stay in Beckley! I want to apologize for the difference is rate as I am not sure what happened there. With the economy the way it is, every penny counts. I do hope you asked to speak to our General Manager and that issue was resolved. We love your final quote on being "your choice when traveling through Beckley". That is what we strive to be! We wish you Safe Travels and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beckley East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beckley East

Address: 1001 South Eisenhower Drive, Beckley, WV 25801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beckley East 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the NEWEST hotel in Beckley and the ONLY Microtel Inn and Suites by Wyndham. We are a 64 room, 100% SMOKE FREE hotel with a heated indoor pool, fitness room, free cont. breakfast and more.We are located only minutes from Winterplace Ski resort, numerous restaurants and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Wyndham, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beckley East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn & Suites Beckley East Hotel Beckley
Microtel Inn And Suites Beckley East
Microtel Beckley
Beckley Microtel
Microtel Hotel Beckley East

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beckley East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.