We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but overpriced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   114 Dry Hill Road, Beckley, WV 25801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice but overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This was a clean hotel but not worth the $199 plus fees.There was an event in the area that allowed them to inflate their rate.Tough to pay this in the middle of nowhere! We were not there for the event but taking our son to the Boy Scout Reserve at Summit. This was our 1st time in the area and we paid for our unfamiliarity. At best this is a $110 per night property. At least they didn't charge me for parking! :)


The staff was very friendly and I have no issues with my stay other than the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    111
    44
    11
    10
See reviews for
145
75
11
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
130 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 415 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

It is your average Holiday Inn in items of room size and amenities. This Holiday Inn offers travelers a restaurant, indoor swimming pool, and free wifi. My twelve year old daughter is a big fan of hotels with swimming pools. We stopped for a one night stay on our way to Myrtle Beach in late June 2014. There were a number of chain restaurants close by. The hotel is located about a mile off the expressway, which makes it very convenient for people traveling through West Virginia. Breakfast is not included in the price; and moreover, it is not worth the extra cost. Go to IHOP right down the road for breakfast. It is much tastier and you get more for your money. The hotel lobby coffee was subpar, but free. The staff was friendly. Most importantly, the beds were comfortable and the room quiet. So we got a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear GMann003,

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. You are correct that the hotel does not offer a complimentary breakfast as we are a full service Holiday Inn versus a Holiday Inn Express that does have a complimentary breakfast. We do have complimentary coffee in the lobby as we know that helps to get the day going when you have to travel, I apologize that you did not care for it. I certainly hope that you will stop and stay with us again when your traveling through the area. I hope your daughter enjoyed the pool and please feel free to reach out to me jwilliams@hlihotels.com if you would like to discuss any further.

Thanks!
Jay Williams-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

After all the traffic on 77 we were very delighted with this hotel. The bed was comfortable. The pool and hot tub was relaxing. Staff was very friendly. Would recommend it to anyone looking for a place to stay while traveling.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Considering you can't even give a used mattress away for free yet we all pay 100$ or more a night to sleep on one, you can't go wrong here. We were traveling through on the way to the smoky mountains with my mother-in-law. Instead of getting two rooms, we opted for a suite. This was a good decision. It was everything you want in a hotel, quiet, clean, and comfortable. The restaurant was even decent enough to grab a late night snack(we arrived at 9:00pm) and something to wash the trail dust out of the throat. I booked this particular hotel because it was tops on here and AAA. You can't do any better. We didn't get breakfast because I figured if I was going to pay for it, I was going to go to a real restaurant. There are both a Bob Evans and Cracker Barrel near by as well as a pancake house. Happy trails to you.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We recently stayed in Beckley on route to Florida. This Holiday Inn was clean, updated and comfortable. The staff were extremely nice and very helpful. The breakfast we ordered was very good and affordable. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Nice hotel overall in what appeared to be a safe area in WV , but without free wifi I thought $140 after taxes was a bit much for a two bed room in West Virginia , it does have a quaint bar and appeared to be clean in the lobby as well as the rooms - staff was friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear emperic24,

Thank you for writing a review on your recent stay. It is nice to know that you found the staff friendly and the hotel clean. We provide service rates that are competitive in the area while simultaneously ensuring that our facilities are well maintained. As hospitality professionals, it is certainly not our intent to inconvenience our valued customers, but to instead provide good value, comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay with us more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotonda West, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This was a first stop on a road trip from Western NY to SW Florida. We thought the hotel was brand-new; it turns out it was about 10 years old. It was pristine, spotlessly clean, & the most comfortable beds ever (the mattresses are adjustable!). The staff are all friendly and helpful.

It was close to I-77, making it very convenient for off/on purposes.

I'd return there!

Room Tip: I always ask for the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beckley hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
0.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Beckley
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Beckley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Beckley
Hampton Inn Beckley
#3 of 15 in Beckley
4.0 of 5 stars 285 reviews
4.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beckley East
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Beckley
Comfort Inn Beckley
#8 of 15 in Beckley
3.5 of 5 stars 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley

Address: 114 Dry Hill Road, Beckley, WV 25801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Beckley
#3 Business Hotel in Beckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Beckley WV Hotel Welcomes you to a WV Vacation Paradise Discover the wild beauty and storied history of southern West Virginia when you stay at the smoke free Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites in Beckley WV. Ideally located off I-77 our Beckley hotel is close to the area's major attractions and businesses. Families enjoy our location because it provides easy access for their WV vacation. The Exhibition Coal Mine and Coal Heritage Trail are both nearby and offer a glimpse of West Virginia's coal mining past. The Tamarack is just a mile from our hotel. West Virginia also boasts the best world-class white-water rafting in the eastern US. After a day on New River's Class III-V rapids you'll be thankful for a Beckley hotel with a hot tub. Our indoor pool features an ADA-accessible lift; just another one of our Beckley hotel's thoughtful amenities. Business guests know that lodging in our Beckley hotel means convenient access to the adjacent Mountaineer Conference Center as well as the I.R.S. and Federal Court. Free high-speed Internet access and a business center make it easy to do business while on the road. We also offer 1150 sq. ft. of meeting space with conference and catering services. When you're looking for lodging in Beckley, think of Holiday Inn. As a family friendly hotel we feature a game room and a full-service restaurant where kids under 12 eat for free. Book your reservations for a WV vacation. Relax it's Holiday Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Beckley
Holiday Inn Beckley
Beckley Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Hotel Beckley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.