We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   114 Dry Hill Road, Beckley, WV 25801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
Tuppers Plains, Ohio
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Very Clean!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Just recently stayed at this location. I was very pleased with this hotel. The hotel was very clean, large spacious rooms, friendly staff, safe area, looks brand new, what more could you ask for? I would highly recommend this location. We did not eat at the restaurant, so I can't comment on that. Room service is offered and there was a menu in the room but we chose to eat elsewhere. There are a lot of eating choices to choose from in this area so that wasn't an issue. We typically stay at HI Express which offers a nice complimentary breakfast, but since there wasn't one in the area, we stayed here. Can't say we were disappointed, it was very nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    87
    33
    11
    9
See reviews for
120
59
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Deckerville, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We only stayed one night. Everything was very clean and nice. The pool was a little cool and the hot tub was a little hot. The complimentary coffee was good. We booked with Hotwire and got a very good rate. Would most definitely stay again if the opportunity arose.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sykesville, Maryland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

This was our first stay at this property (and probably our last) while visiting our daughter at college in the area. We have stayed at several hotel properties in the area in the last 18 months during regular 2-3 day visits.

First, I want to be clear that this is a very nice, clean and up to date property. Our room (4th Floor Queen Suite) was spotless, large, very comfortable and well-appointed and even had a large window that actually opened wide so we could enjoy some actual fresh air!

But, I also want to mention a couple negatives. First, the designated "smoking area" seems to be on either side of the main front doors. This was just disgusting. Every time you entered or left the hotel you literally walked through billows of nasty smoke, so much that our clothes reeked of smoke after our first day. And, the wind carried the smoke well into the hotel lobby. This needs to change.

The second negative is that this hotel does not offer the usual Holiday Inn Express complementary breakfast. They have an in-property restaurant that they push you toward much like the Hilton Garden Inn properties. We were not aware of this issue before checking in and given that the rate was higher than most every similar property in the area, we were taken aback by the lack of the free breakfast option. In fairness, as a Platinum member, I was offered a complementary breakfast for 2 on the fist day of our stay. So, we tried the restaurant the next morning and that was a complete disaster. The service was absolutely terrible and the food was bland, cold and very slow to arrive. Glad we did not waste our own money on that experience.

Finally, I want to say again that our room was very clean, the front desk staff was very nice and very helpful and the housekeeping folks were very accommodating to a couple special requests. But, at the end of the day, given the higher rates, the lack of breakfast and the abundant choices of similar hotels in the area, we will probably stay somewhere else on our next trip to Beckley.

Room Tip: If you want quiet sleep, ask for a room on the rear of the hotel, not in the front, facing the VERY...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear beefdoctor,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club Platinum member and for leaving us a feedback. We are glad you liked the room accommodations you received. Please allow us to apologize you were not satisfied with the food options we offer and the service you received in our hotel restaurant. We also apologize for the challenges you had in our designated smoking area. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewis Center, Ohio
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

3 families met here for a night and loved it because we all had the chance to gather in the lobby that had large tv so we could watch basketball games until midnight All the staff were very friendly and helpful so if you need a place to stay in the area you would be happy with this choice

Room Tip: Nice indoor pool for the kids to burn energy after being in the car all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites on our way down to NC. We arrived late after a long day of driving. The staff were welcoming and quickly checked us in. The room was clean and the bed linens fresh. For us it was the perfect stop to break up our long drive. The night was uneventful. For our needs it was perfect.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Sharon D,

Thank you for the great review of our property and for choosing Holiday Inn & Suites Beckley. I am very proud of our hotel and staff for their attentiveness and attention to detail. We love our guests and hope you can make it back this way soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was extremely clean and comfortable. We ate dinner and breakfast in the restaurant. While the food choices were limited, the server was very pleasant and attentive. The hotel pool was ok. We would stay here again when travelling through Beckley.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We spent one night at this Holiday Inn in mid-March, 2014. It was clean and neat, the hotel staff were very warm and helpful, and the rooms were nicely appointed. We were tired after a long day, so opted to eat in the hotel restaurant, Kem's. It has a very limited menu, but the food was quite tasty and was fine for us. The only drawback of the stay were the beds. The mattresses were so hard that we were miserable all night. Perhaps this was limited to just the room we occupied, and perhaps the beds will relax over time. But it really did make the stay a unpleasant.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley

Address: 114 Dry Hill Road, Beckley, WV 25801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Beckley WV Hotel Welcomes you to a WV Vacation Paradise Discover the wild beauty and storied history of southern West Virginia when you stay at the smoke free Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites in Beckley WV. Ideally located off I-77 our Beckley hotel is close to the area's major attractions and businesses. Families enjoy our location because it provides easy access for their WV vacation. The Exhibition Coal Mine and Coal Heritage Trail are both nearby and offer a glimpse of West Virginia's coal mining past. The Tamarack is just a mile from our hotel. West Virginia also boasts the best world-class white-water rafting in the eastern US. After a day on New River's Class III-V rapids you'll be thankful for a Beckley hotel with a hot tub. Our indoor pool features an ADA-accessible lift; just another one of our Beckley hotel's thoughtful amenities. Business guests know that lodging in our Beckley hotel means convenient access to the adjacent Mountaineer Conference Center as well as the I.R.S. and Federal Court. Free high-speed Internet access and a business center make it easy to do business while on the road. We also offer 1150 sq. ft. of meeting space with conference and catering services. When you're looking for lodging in Beckley, think of Holiday Inn. As a family friendly hotel we feature a game room and a full-service restaurant where kids under 12 eat for free. Book your reservations for a WV vacation. Relax it's Holiday Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Agoda, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Beckley
Holiday Inn Beckley
Beckley Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Hotel Beckley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.