We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   114 Dry Hill Road, Beckley, WV 25801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Superb stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

The lobby was clean, inviting and staff members were friendly. Coffee at the coffee stand off to the right of lobby was very good. The bed was comfortable and pillows had a nice fluff to them.

Our room was exceptionally clean and well appointed. We could not hear any noises from other rooms or from the road.

On site restaurant.

Highly recommend!

Room Tip: We booked our trip by using Priceline.com and got a very good rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    111
    44
    11
    10
See reviews for
145
75
11
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

My 8-year-old son and I spent one night at this hotel on our way from Atlanta to Punxsutawney for the Thanksgiving holiday. We just wanted a clean, quiet place to stay - someplace near the highway. Our room had twin Queen beds, and it seemed clean enough. Something in my bed bit me once on the leg in the night, though. When my son woke up, he showed me several fresh insect bites on his stomach. I searched both beds and the Internet for an explanation, and the best explanation I could find was young bedbugs. We have never encountered them before, and we're now boiling our pajamas, to be on the safe side. When I told the clerk at the front desk about it, he smirked and said, "Well! We've never had reports of THAT before!" He then added a comment to the effect of, "How awkward that must have been for you." So to ensure that this never happens to us again, we're avoiding Holiday Inns from now on. We suggest that you do the same!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Paige W,

Firstly, I want to thank you for your review of our property. A report of this type is something we take very seriously! I assure you that it will be investigated immediately and thoroughly. As you stated, we are a clean well kept hotel but bugs can travel with anyone and become an issue at any hotel overnight. The only thing I ask is that you not avoid the entire Holiday Inn brand for this issue as we greatly appreciate you as our guest! I will do whatever I can to restore your faith with our property.
Please contact me via email at jwilliams@hlihotels.com and let me know the best way to reach out to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandusky, Ohio
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This property is not up to the typical standards of the vast majority of IHG properties. There is a small coffee station, which was not maintained very well. There is no breakfast room with complementary standard breakfast options at almost every other HIE IHG property. I am a platinum member of IHG and apparently that doesn't mean anything at this property. If you are driving up/down I-77 and want to crash for the night, this is a clean property and appears to be a bit newer. As for the usual amenities that I expect at all other HIE IHG properties, it just isn't here.
The walls and floors are so thin that you can hear people talking in the room right next to you. The guy staying below us kept calling the room saying we were being too loud but we were only walking across the floor. The guy above us sounded like he was wearing giant stomping boots when he walked as well and I tried to explain this to the guy staying below us. This is a noisy property that was not built with insulation or sound reduction in mind.

Room Tip: There is no tip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear kentgrad,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am sorry to hear that you weren't thrilled with your stay. We work very hard and are passionate about making every stay a great one with particular attention to our IHG Rewards Club Members.
Our property is a Holiday Inn & Suites with a full service restaurant not an Express with a complementary breakfast. There seems to be a bit of confusion with the difference between the two brands so we offer a free grab-n-go breakfast bag at the front desk just in case.
I would enjoy discussing your stay with you either in person or by email if you'd like as we are constantly updating and looking for ways to better serve our guests.
Please contact me at jwilliams@hlihotels.com or simply call the front desk and they will direct you to my office. Again thank you for your thoughts, I hope to hear from you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham,nc
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

I spent one night on way to Pittsburgh from NC. As other reviewers have commented, this was clean, quiet and comfortable. Check-in was efficient and welcoming. The room on the fourth floor was quiet. The only slight negative was the ac which sent cold air directly on to the bed. No way to direct vents but an extra pillow strategically placed solved the problem.
The price was a little high for this part of WVA, but if all stays were this predictable, it would be a good deal and better than unpleasant surprises at a cheaper price.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleroi, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Very nice hote. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The room was very clean and comfortable. I will definitely stay here again. Was very easy to get on and off highway. The on-site restaurant was good. They did not have the continental breakfast that I am accustomed too when staying at a Holiday Inn Express, I suspect this was due to having the in-house restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paeonian Springs, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

First time at this hotel. Close to the Interstate exit; quiet, nice room, refrigerator, coffee in room or in the lobby. The swimming pool and restaurant looked fine, although I used neither. Easy parking.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We recently stayed here one night on our way back from the beach. Hotel was very nice. Rooms were clean and had flat screen tvs and wi fi also had mini fridge and microwave. We did not use the pool but it looked nice. Restaurant in hotel seemed to have a nice menu, although my son got a pizza and didn't care for it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beckley hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
0.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Beckley
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Beckley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Beckley
Hampton Inn Beckley
#3 of 15 in Beckley
4.0 of 5 stars 284 reviews
4.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beckley East
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Beckley
Comfort Inn Beckley
#8 of 15 in Beckley
3.5 of 5 stars 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley

Address: 114 Dry Hill Road, Beckley, WV 25801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Beckley
#3 Business Hotel in Beckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Beckley WV Hotel Welcomes you to a WV Vacation Paradise Discover the wild beauty and storied history of southern West Virginia when you stay at the smoke free Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites in Beckley WV. Ideally located off I-77 our Beckley hotel is close to the area's major attractions and businesses. Families enjoy our location because it provides easy access for their WV vacation. The Exhibition Coal Mine and Coal Heritage Trail are both nearby and offer a glimpse of West Virginia's coal mining past. The Tamarack is just a mile from our hotel. West Virginia also boasts the best world-class white-water rafting in the eastern US. After a day on New River's Class III-V rapids you'll be thankful for a Beckley hotel with a hot tub. Our indoor pool features an ADA-accessible lift; just another one of our Beckley hotel's thoughtful amenities. Business guests know that lodging in our Beckley hotel means convenient access to the adjacent Mountaineer Conference Center as well as the I.R.S. and Federal Court. Free high-speed Internet access and a business center make it easy to do business while on the road. We also offer 1150 sq. ft. of meeting space with conference and catering services. When you're looking for lodging in Beckley, think of Holiday Inn. As a family friendly hotel we feature a game room and a full-service restaurant where kids under 12 eat for free. Book your reservations for a WV vacation. Relax it's Holiday Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Beckley
Holiday Inn Beckley
Beckley Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Hotel Beckley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.