We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   114 Dry Hill Road, Beckley, WV 25801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
Dayton OH
1 review
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2008

We were able to book a room on very short notice (we walked into the place on a sat night). We were traveling to Fort Stewart Ga to meet my husband's unit coming back from Iraq so I was traveling alone with 3 kids under the age of 11. We checked in and didn't have to leave the property the entire night. They were wonderful. I loved our waitress at the on site restaurant who was the same one for dinner and breakfast. The food was very good and the kids meals were free - which you can't beat! Later the boys went swimming in their pool, which was large considering it was indoors. The rooms were so nice. There was enough towels for everyone which usually isn't the case. The best part about the rooms were the beds. I wish I knew what mattress they have because I WANT one. The pillows and down comforters were a nice touch too. As you can tell, we loved our stay here and I would recommend this place to everyone. The kids have talked it up so much with their Daddy that he wants to see this place!!

  • Liked — Every thing was onsite and the pool
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    87
    33
    11
    9
See reviews for
120
59
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2007

Although the hotel was new and clean, we had a bad experience right from the start. The room we reserved from the web site was not available and we were downgraded. This would normally not be a big problem except that we needed the extra facilities that the kitchenette would have provided. The associate was unappoligetic saying "This happens all the time" I'm not sure if that is supposed to make things ok that their reservation system is that messed up. The room was modern and clean, but the AC system was very noisy. The AC was so noisy that if it was on I had to shout to my wife just 10 feet away. Also we were on the top floor and there was some type of mechanical system above us that rumbled at all times, vibrating the room. The associate never logged our complaint of notified the manager as she said she would.

  • Liked — Clean!
  • Disliked — Noisy AC
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2007

Got a great rate online on a Friday night at short notice. When we checked it in was obviously a slow night. Greeted warmly and genuinely. Key packets already made up. Standard rooms with a fridge and microwave.

It sits a few blocks off the interstate with a Microtel and a Country Suites, all owned by the same company. Practically in its parking lot is a large liquor and cigarette emporium, and within a 3 minute walk is a Cracker Barrel.

This is one of Holiday Inn's newer building types. Two-story lobby with an island-like reception desk, and 'Kem's Diner' restaurant beyond a large fireplace and seating area. Business center just off of the lobby, slow elevator, didn't explore too much.

The Diner has a slightly seperate bar, too, very capable with a good selection of beers (one local brew) and other alcoholic drinks. I don't remember the menu items, but generally typical American hotel food. I had a 12-inch 4 Cheese pizza which was way too much food for one person. Very doughy crust, overcooked cheese. It was average but filled me up. For a Friday night the restaurant and bar were dead.

The room was large with a small but comfortable and clean bathroom. The bedroom had a large couch in it, too, with a mediocre work desk area. Large flat-panel LCD TV. Refrigerator/microwave. The shower/bath was a one-piece fiberglass unit which was tall enough for me but I'd say if you're over 6'2" would be uncomfortably short.

The property opened in June '07 so is very fresh and clean. In fact, the hallways smelled very nicely - not your typical hotel air freshener. More along the lines of what they use at a Hotel Indigo. Got a great night's sleep in the very comfortable bed with fresh linens. Overheard the staff saying the outdoor pool is heated, and was indeed open on that chilly December night.

Saturday morning, we didn't have breakfast here, opting instead for Cracker Barrel next-door.

I've rated it highly due to its extreme newness, its value, and its location.

  • Liked — very new, clean, fresh, friendly
  • Disliked — food choices, workdesk area in room
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2007

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night, due to it's proximity to the Tamarack Conference Center (less than 3 minutes). It's a brand new hotel and the rooms are big. The 32" LG flat screen TV is a great addition. The bathroom is a little small, but has a curved shower rod which makes the shower feel large. While we didn't use, they also have a small fitness room, arcade room, and a nice-sized indoor pool. Mini fridge / freezer, microwave, and free wi-fi makes this a great find!

  • Liked — Big room
  • Disliked — Smaller bathroom
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2007

Read the reviews and decided to give it a try, Selling point for me was the plasma televisions in the room and in the lobby. Wanted to watch Sunday night football. Everything was new .. got a king suite and the room was huge .. Plasma screens in both the bedroom and living room area. Bed was very comfortable and they even provided variations to the pillows depending on your preference, Rate was a bit high compared to what we usually pay but still not bad at $121. Easy to find right off I-77.

  • Liked — Plasma televisions in room
  • Disliked — The price
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley

Address: 114 Dry Hill Road, Beckley, WV 25801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Beckley WV Hotel Welcomes you to a WV Vacation Paradise Discover the wild beauty and storied history of southern West Virginia when you stay at the smoke free Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites in Beckley WV. Ideally located off I-77 our Beckley hotel is close to the area's major attractions and businesses. Families enjoy our location because it provides easy access for their WV vacation. The Exhibition Coal Mine and Coal Heritage Trail are both nearby and offer a glimpse of West Virginia's coal mining past. The Tamarack is just a mile from our hotel. West Virginia also boasts the best world-class white-water rafting in the eastern US. After a day on New River's Class III-V rapids you'll be thankful for a Beckley hotel with a hot tub. Our indoor pool features an ADA-accessible lift; just another one of our Beckley hotel's thoughtful amenities. Business guests know that lodging in our Beckley hotel means convenient access to the adjacent Mountaineer Conference Center as well as the I.R.S. and Federal Court. Free high-speed Internet access and a business center make it easy to do business while on the road. We also offer 1150 sq. ft. of meeting space with conference and catering services. When you're looking for lodging in Beckley, think of Holiday Inn. As a family friendly hotel we feature a game room and a full-service restaurant where kids under 12 eat for free. Book your reservations for a WV vacation. Relax it's Holiday Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, BookIt.com, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Beckley
Holiday Inn Beckley
Beckley Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Hotel Beckley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.