We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truck Parking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   114 Dry Hill Road, Beckley, WV 25801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Truck Parking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011 via mobile

While it felt more like a Holiday Inn Express without the bonuses, the hotel is clean, easy to find and the staff is very helpful. They do have a large lot for truck parking along with a strong wifi signal.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    90
    34
    11
    9
See reviews for
122
61
10
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
PA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Very clean, nice flat screen Tv, comfortable bed, attractive overall appearance. I was very happy with this hotel. However, we did skip the breakfast. It's not free and I don't think you can do any better than the nearby Tamarack. Always make it a point to stop here. Food is made by Greenbrier chefs. Best french toast we ever had, and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

We walked into the Holiday Inn without a reservation. I was actually surprised that they had a room. I am a Platinum Priority Club member and was welcomed as such. The room was very nice and we had a good time in the bar talking to people and watching some sports. This Holiday Inn is a little off the main road. Most of the dining areas are nearer to the highway. Beckley is a very popular overnight stop on weekends so the reader might want to plan ahead if heading to the area for an overnight stop.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

We have family all over the East and often do layovers in easy access hotels. Before Trip Advisor, this practice was a dreaded part of all trips for me. Now I am able to get just what I need in the middle of a multi-day road trip: a clean and quiet place to rest my head, with a simple breakfast before getting back on the road.
What I found that I didn't expect: a refrigerator and a microwave, a choice of bed pillows (firm or soft) and beautiful bed linens. I also enjoyed the fact that there was a small bar in the hotel for a nightcap.
What I expected but didn't find: nothing. As I mentioned, this was a road trip. The hotel met all my expectations for a great spot to stop for a night.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Burnie, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

we booked a standard room for two of us for 3 nights. The hotel itself was great. On weekend mornings, there was a all-u-can-eat buffet in the restaurant downstairs for 7.99$ pp - can't beat that. Good indoor swimming pool.

But on the 2nd day after I woke up I discovered a lot of insect bites on my body. Such a terrible experience. It took me a while to realize these were bedbug bites and only after a week after we were back from vacation did all the bite marks go away.

I complained to Hotwire after I came back from vacation and asked for at least a partial refund for what I went through. After 3 weeks of waiting they came back saying the Holiday Inn manager investigated this, found no evidence of bedbugs and also said we never reported any problem during our stay. It was a mistake on my part to not report the incident immediately to Holiday Inn (not sure what could have changed in the end result if I had complained right then). For the "inconvenience caused" i.e., for not getting back to me sooner on this, Hotwire credits me a laughable 25 Hotwire bucks (for the 450$ we had to pay for 3 nights)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I typically choose Hampton Inn hotels but this Holiday Inn has me giving this chain another look while on our trips. Most everything was spot-on: Comfortable bed, choice of pillows (two each, hard or soft, and both were very comfortable), nicely appointed bathroom, everything was very clean, gues-controlled thermostat, nice lobby, and nice staff. The only weak point of the room was the old-style television. I'm not sure why hotels go through all the remodeling and don't put in flat-panel televisions. They give the room a more modern feel, are more enjoyable to watch, and can't be any more expensive. Also, the lack of a free breakfast might make this hotel a less competitive offering for some travellers. Otherwise this is a very nice hotel for this price range and I would highly recommed it. And ALL the rooms are non-smoking!

Room Tip: I got a great deal through Priceline but would be worth the full price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Was in town for business. Pulled in late at night and checked in fine. Got up the next morning and had to pay for breakfast at this hotel.

I left at 9AM and returned around 4, only to find my room untouched by the housekeeping staff. I immediately brought this to the front desk's attention. Their response was, "If you have a sign in your door, and it's not removed by 8AM, we don't touch your room." The only compensation they offered me was a bottle of water and a towel. At this point, I couldn't wait to get out of this hotel. And I made it a point of bringing this up at checkout, and the only response I received then was "oops, sorry. See you next time."

I find this to be very unprofessional of the staff at this hotel, especially to a Platinum Priority Club member.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley

Address: 114 Dry Hill Road, Beckley, WV 25801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Beckley WV Hotel Welcomes you to a WV Vacation Paradise Discover the wild beauty and storied history of southern West Virginia when you stay at the smoke free Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites in Beckley WV. Ideally located off I-77 our Beckley hotel is close to the area's major attractions and businesses. Families enjoy our location because it provides easy access for their WV vacation. The Exhibition Coal Mine and Coal Heritage Trail are both nearby and offer a glimpse of West Virginia's coal mining past. The Tamarack is just a mile from our hotel. West Virginia also boasts the best world-class white-water rafting in the eastern US. After a day on New River's Class III-V rapids you'll be thankful for a Beckley hotel with a hot tub. Our indoor pool features an ADA-accessible lift; just another one of our Beckley hotel's thoughtful amenities. Business guests know that lodging in our Beckley hotel means convenient access to the adjacent Mountaineer Conference Center as well as the I.R.S. and Federal Court. Free high-speed Internet access and a business center make it easy to do business while on the road. We also offer 1150 sq. ft. of meeting space with conference and catering services. When you're looking for lodging in Beckley, think of Holiday Inn. As a family friendly hotel we feature a game room and a full-service restaurant where kids under 12 eat for free. Book your reservations for a WV vacation. Relax it's Holiday Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Beckley
Holiday Inn Beckley
Beckley Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Hotel Beckley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.