We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected More” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarack

Tamarack
1 Tamarack Park, Beckley, WV 25801
888 262 7225
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 6 things to do in Beckley
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A regional showcase of WV made Arts & Craft offers special events, craft demonstrations, a Fine Art gallery, a Theater, and a food court featuring treats created by our master chefs.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Expected More”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stopped here on our way back from the Greenbrier on a bus tour. I was hoping to find some nice crafts/clothing/souvenirs to take home, but it is very expensive. The restaurant food is good, but overpriced. Overall, it was a waste of time.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    87
    35
    13
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding arts and crafts store”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Tamarack - The Best of West Virginia - has juried in art, crafts, food, music and books by West Virginia artists and crafts people. The jury process is rigorous, so only the best gets in to be sold. It is an easy stop whether traveling north or south on the West Virginia Turnpike; and it has excellent food (a Greenbrier Hotel trained chef) at reasonable prices. Some items are very pricey (as one would expect from quality art), while other items are very reasonably priced. There is outstanding pottery, Blenko glass, quilts, high quality furniture, and woodwork. During the day some of the five or six resident artist studios are occupied by working artists, demonstrating their skills. It is a great source for gifts for all ages.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumney, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“One stop shopping and dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

On a rainy day in West Virginia, we were looking for an alternative to hiking and learned of the Tamarack in Beckley. It was easy to find right off the interstate and we were pleasantly surprised by the hand crafts, info and dining available all in one spot. From wine, salsa and chocolate to pottery, woodcraft, baskets and jewelry, we spent a lovely morning among the best that West Virginia has to offer. Traveler assistance and information are also available if you need directions or accommodations. Hungry? This is a great stop for lunch! Freshly made sandwiches, pizza, hot dishes like herbed crust pot pie, beautiful desserts and a clean, comfortable seating area made this a perfect experience.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Always a stopover.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

My vehicle doesn't go past Tamarack! It is a good place to stopover. If you are looking for a big mall atmosphere, this isn't it. Wonderful hand crafted items by WVA artisians ... and Greenbrier for a meal in the food court. Always good. ...and this time of year is a good time for that Christmas shopping for the unusual items..There is a lot of walking and can be a long walk from the parking area.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Top Contributor
294 reviews 294 reviews
128 attraction reviews
Reviews in 156 cities Reviews in 156 cities
242 helpful votes 242 helpful votes
“Not as Big or Extensive as I Thought”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We based our visit to Tamarack in large part from reading reviews on this site. Some things I would want to know that I really didn't realize from the reviews: One, there are an amazing number of different kinds of crafts presented and most of them are mind-blowingly well done. My wife, who is quite good at crafts, marveled that many of this skills still exist. However, the number of items in each of the crafts is very limited. Second, related to the first, is that it is not as big as I envisioned. I thought we would easily be able to spend half a day there. We were done with a pretty good look through in a little more than an hour. Fortunately, we were able to go into Charleston on an unplanned visit to take up time we had originally planned to spend at Tamarack. Third, the food court is not as extensive as what I'd envisioned. It is basically all prepared by one vendor with a fairly limited menu. I'd envisioned multiple food vendors. The food was okay, not fantastic, but not bad. That said, it is an amazing gem with great diversity of skill and talent and I would recommend going and spending some time.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tamarack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.