We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beckley WV Beauty"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ambrosia Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beckley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ambrosia Inn
Save
You added The Ambrosia Inn to your Saves list
611 N. Kanawha Street, Beckley, WV 25801   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Beckley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Beckley WV Beauty"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We arrived late March and after a long cold WV winter, very little was in bloom but the property is expansive and one can imagine staying longer in warmer weather. The home is grand and inviting with great character. We stayed one night in the Sage Rose room with ensuite, very comfortable and clean. Chef Sawsan was delightful and attentive, as well as being a talented artist and chef. She sent us on our way the next morning, after a hearty breakfast, with a bag full of fresh muffins for our final destination to North Carolina. Very yummy and thoughtful, thank you Sawsan.
We love cats but anyone with allergies might have a concern, there are three.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank HappyCamperz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I slept in the Rose room and the bed was great. The rooms are very spacious and Chef Sawsan is VERY talented. The food is great and the service is great as well. The property is beautiful as well so if you dont feel like leaving you can enjoy the wide open spaces of the property.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chiprollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at the Ambrosia Inn for two nights. It was our first bed and breakfast so we didn’t know what to expect but we were delightfully surprised. We stayed in the Sage Blossom Suite which was very spacious. It had a bathroom (tub and shower included) inside the suite. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud, our bodies molded to the bed. The real treat was breakfast in the morning. This was breakfast for kings (and Queens). Tea, biscuits, muffins and fruit on fine china; eggs of our choosing with potatoes, carrots, avocado, toast with homemade jam. We are “foodies” and this was by far the best meal we’ve ever had.

The Inn was very clean, and safe. There are only three rooms so it never feels too crowded and Chef Swansan Galal was very hospitable.

We enjoyed talking with Chef Swansan she even had great recommendations for lunch in the area. She did a great job of hosting, there were chocolates, beverages and even a coffee/tea maker upstairs near the bedrooms for our connivence. If anything this trip felt more like we were in the comfort of our own home than at a hotel.

Room Tip: Stay in the Sage Blossom Suite, it’s the most spacious room and the bathroom and room are combined f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The smell of fresh baked goodies in the morning and coffee is the incentive to to leave the comfort and peacefulness of your room at the Ambrosia. It is also a pleasure to sit and talk with Chef Sawsan , the owner of the Inn. The old victorian house is beautifully situated on an elevated level of the town , allowing for a beautiful view of Beckley.
If you enjoy cats, Sawsan has several friendly cats . If cats are not your thing , they will usually do their own thing and leave you alone. Apart from Sawsan and her hospitality , they were my favorite part of the trip.
The food is exquisite, the Inn is impeccably clean, very peaceful, the hostess is friendly and does her best to make sure that her guest enjoy their stay to the utmost.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful. If you prefer private bath, reserve the Sage Blossom Room. For the other tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank normandy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We were looking for an overnight on a long road trip from MI to NC. I'd been past Beckley several times and started trolling TA for a likely spot. It's rare to see 100%-five-star reviews, but I believed them and am happy I did. The Ambrosia is everything it's reviews suggest.

I wasn't too hopeful after cruising by several strip malls, Wal-Mart, countless fast-food franchises, and a few No-Tell Motel establishments. But once on Kanawha street, it took only a few blocks to reach the Ambrosia, an imposing and well-kept manse on a hillside of well-kept grounds. We knocked on the door marked "entrance" and were greeted by Sawsan, the proprietress. She gave us a welcoming tour and showed us to our room. We reserved the suite because of the private bath, but the room itself is enormous as is the bath. There are a number of cozy sitting rooms to allow you to seek or avoid company as you like.

The food is a highlight of the stay as Sawsan is a gourmet cook in her own right. Insider tip: Sawsan is also a gourmet middle-eastern cook, as I learned by speaking a few words of broken Arabic with her. So if you want to try some foul-madamas and falafel for breakfast, Egypt-style, she can accommodate.

There are the usual amenities of self-serve coffee/tea service, a fridge, and good free wi-fi. We loved having the house cats around. In short, I can't recommend Ambrosia highly enough.

Room Tip: If the suite is available, the extra $25 is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco20009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We called at the last minute, but could've sworn our stay had been planned for days. The beautiful suite was warm and comfortable. The guest living room was equipped with a generously stocked Keurig center, extremely comfortable sofa and big screen TV. The breakfast was wonderful, but our gracious hostess topped everything when she packed a to-go bag of the best coffee cake muffins in the world and a jar of homemade pepper jelly. Thanks, Sawson, they hit the spot as dessert later that night and breakfast the next morning!

Karen and Brian

Room Tip: The Sage Blossom Suite has a private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Ashby, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

What a wonderful stay with a gracious host!!!!!! Chef Sawsan is an excellent chef....we asked to try her Egyptian Breakfast and the next morning, we were served an authentic Egyptian meal!! What a surprise....We recommend the Ambrosia Inn to everyone...Beautiful home, gracious host and, great location for the activities too!! You will not be disappointed...

Room Tip: The Sage Blossum Room is Beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beckley
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
1.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Beckley East
1.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Beckley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Beckley
7.7 mi away
The Resort at Glade Springs
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Beckley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ambrosia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ambrosia Inn

Address: 611 N. Kanawha Street, Beckley, WV 25801
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Beckley
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing