We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing. The Bed and Breakfast anyone would ever dream of.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ambrosia Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beckley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ambrosia Inn
611 N. Kanawha Street, Beckley, WV 25801   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Beckley B&B and Inns
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing. The Bed and Breakfast anyone would ever dream of.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

I slept in the Rose room and the bed was great. The rooms are very spacious and Chef Sawsan is VERY talented. The food is great and the service is great as well. The property is beautiful as well so if you dont feel like leaving you can enjoy the wide open spaces of the property.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
13
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at the Ambrosia Inn for two nights. It was our first bed and breakfast so we didn’t know what to expect but we were delightfully surprised. We stayed in the Sage Blossom Suite which was very spacious. It had a bathroom (tub and shower included) inside the suite. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud, our bodies molded to the bed. The real treat was breakfast in the morning. This was breakfast for kings (and Queens). Tea, biscuits, muffins and fruit on fine china; eggs of our choosing with potatoes, carrots, avocado, toast with homemade jam. We are “foodies” and this was by far the best meal we’ve ever had.

The Inn was very clean, and safe. There are only three rooms so it never feels too crowded and Chef Swansan Galal was very hospitable.

We enjoyed talking with Chef Swansan she even had great recommendations for lunch in the area. She did a great job of hosting, there were chocolates, beverages and even a coffee/tea maker upstairs near the bedrooms for our connivence. If anything this trip felt more like we were in the comfort of our own home than at a hotel.

Room Tip: Stay in the Sage Blossom Suite, it’s the most spacious room and the bathroom and room are combined f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The smell of fresh baked goodies in the morning and coffee is the incentive to to leave the comfort and peacefulness of your room at the Ambrosia. It is also a pleasure to sit and talk with Chef Sawsan , the owner of the Inn. The old victorian house is beautifully situated on an elevated level of the town , allowing for a beautiful view of Beckley.
If you enjoy cats, Sawsan has several friendly cats . If cats are not your thing , they will usually do their own thing and leave you alone. Apart from Sawsan and her hospitality , they were my favorite part of the trip.
The food is exquisite, the Inn is impeccably clean, very peaceful, the hostess is friendly and does her best to make sure that her guest enjoy their stay to the utmost.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful. If you prefer private bath, reserve the Sage Blossom Room. For the other tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We were looking for an overnight on a long road trip from MI to NC. I'd been past Beckley several times and started trolling TA for a likely spot. It's rare to see 100%-five-star reviews, but I believed them and am happy I did. The Ambrosia is everything it's reviews suggest.

I wasn't too hopeful after cruising by several strip malls, Wal-Mart, countless fast-food franchises, and a few No-Tell Motel establishments. But once on Kanawha street, it took only a few blocks to reach the Ambrosia, an imposing and well-kept manse on a hillside of well-kept grounds. We knocked on the door marked "entrance" and were greeted by Sawsan, the proprietress. She gave us a welcoming tour and showed us to our room. We reserved the suite because of the private bath, but the room itself is enormous as is the bath. There are a number of cozy sitting rooms to allow you to seek or avoid company as you like.

The food is a highlight of the stay as Sawsan is a gourmet cook in her own right. Insider tip: Sawsan is also a gourmet middle-eastern cook, as I learned by speaking a few words of broken Arabic with her. So if you want to try some foul-madamas and falafel for breakfast, Egypt-style, she can accommodate.

There are the usual amenities of self-serve coffee/tea service, a fridge, and good free wi-fi. We loved having the house cats around. In short, I can't recommend Ambrosia highly enough.

Room Tip: If the suite is available, the extra $25 is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We called at the last minute, but could've sworn our stay had been planned for days. The beautiful suite was warm and comfortable. The guest living room was equipped with a generously stocked Keurig center, extremely comfortable sofa and big screen TV. The breakfast was wonderful, but our gracious hostess topped everything when she packed a to-go bag of the best coffee cake muffins in the world and a jar of homemade pepper jelly. Thanks, Sawson, they hit the spot as dessert later that night and breakfast the next morning!

Karen and Brian

Room Tip: The Sage Blossom Suite has a private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Ashby, West Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

What a wonderful stay with a gracious host!!!!!! Chef Sawsan is an excellent chef....we asked to try her Egyptian Breakfast and the next morning, we were served an authentic Egyptian meal!! What a surprise....We recommend the Ambrosia Inn to everyone...Beautiful home, gracious host and, great location for the activities too!! You will not be disappointed...

Room Tip: The Sage Blossum Room is Beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful 3 days at the Ambrosia Inn. Sawsan Galal was the consummate host, initially assisting in our vacation plans but later when I became ill, giving me an herbal tea remedy to settle my stomach. Thank you for your care.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a large suite which was magnificent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ambrosia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ambrosia Inn

Address: 611 N. Kanawha Street, Beckley, WV 25801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Beckley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ambrosia Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Ambrosia Inn to your Saves list