We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Believe the reviews: best accomodations in 100 miles” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ambrosia Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beckley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ambrosia Inn
611 N. Kanawha Street, Beckley, WV 25801   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Beckley B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Believe the reviews: best accomodations in 100 miles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We were looking for an overnight on a long road trip from MI to NC. I'd been past Beckley several times and started trolling TA for a likely spot. It's rare to see 100%-five-star reviews, but I believed them and am happy I did. The Ambrosia is everything it's reviews suggest.

I wasn't too hopeful after cruising by several strip malls, Wal-Mart, countless fast-food franchises, and a few No-Tell Motel establishments. But once on Kanawha street, it took only a few blocks to reach the Ambrosia, an imposing and well-kept manse on a hillside of well-kept grounds. We knocked on the door marked "entrance" and were greeted by Sawsan, the proprietress. She gave us a welcoming tour and showed us to our room. We reserved the suite because of the private bath, but the room itself is enormous as is the bath. There are a number of cozy sitting rooms to allow you to seek or avoid company as you like.

The food is a highlight of the stay as Sawsan is a gourmet cook in her own right. Insider tip: Sawsan is also a gourmet middle-eastern cook, as I learned by speaking a few words of broken Arabic with her. So if you want to try some foul-madamas and falafel for breakfast, Egypt-style, she can accommodate.

There are the usual amenities of self-serve coffee/tea service, a fridge, and good free wi-fi. We loved having the house cats around. In short, I can't recommend Ambrosia highly enough.

Room Tip: If the suite is available, the extra $25 is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
13
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We called at the last minute, but could've sworn our stay had been planned for days. The beautiful suite was warm and comfortable. The guest living room was equipped with a generously stocked Keurig center, extremely comfortable sofa and big screen TV. The breakfast was wonderful, but our gracious hostess topped everything when she packed a to-go bag of the best coffee cake muffins in the world and a jar of homemade pepper jelly. Thanks, Sawson, they hit the spot as dessert later that night and breakfast the next morning!

Karen and Brian

Room Tip: The Sage Blossom Suite has a private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Ashby, West Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

What a wonderful stay with a gracious host!!!!!! Chef Sawsan is an excellent chef....we asked to try her Egyptian Breakfast and the next morning, we were served an authentic Egyptian meal!! What a surprise....We recommend the Ambrosia Inn to everyone...Beautiful home, gracious host and, great location for the activities too!! You will not be disappointed...

Room Tip: The Sage Blossum Room is Beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful 3 days at the Ambrosia Inn. Sawsan Galal was the consummate host, initially assisting in our vacation plans but later when I became ill, giving me an herbal tea remedy to settle my stomach. Thank you for your care.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a large suite which was magnificent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckley, West Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This location was perfect for an annual weekend getaway for four longtime girlfriends. Our hostess provided impeccable service in the most luxurious of accommodations. Perhaps the only thing that could top this B&B's beautiful yet comfortable decor and historic charm is its friendly owner's culinary expertise. Never have we enjoyed a better breakfast. Chef Sawsan Galal's made-to-order farm fresh eggs, fresh fruit, homemade jams, jellies and breads, pancakes with balsamic fruit topping, and her delicious percolated or french-pressed coffee made us feel like royalty. The location is only minutes from outdoor adventure, so our delicious breakfast fueled us for a wonderful guided climb in the nearby New River Gorge. When we were ready to relax, The Ambrosia's indoor and outdoor common spaces were exactly what we needed for quality girl time. One of our party was slightly apprehensive when we learned the B&B is home to a couple of cats. She has a cat allergy, so she brought plenty of medication. She never needed to take it! The Ambrosia Inn's lovely hardwood floors and extreme cleanliness, combined with the fact that the cats are prohibited from the bedrooms, eliminated any need for concern. Overall, our best annual girlfriend getaway ever!

Room Tip: Our party used the two smaller rooms on the second floor. Both rooms were comfortable, quiet, and be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at Ambrosia Inn. It was such a delightful experience that we will definitely stay there again. Ambrosia Inn is a beautiful, historic home that Sawsan (the proprietor & chef) has tastefully decorated and made into a fabulous Inn. From the moment Sawsan greeted us, to the moment we left, we felt like we were with family. Sawsan's hospitality is over-the-top. She does everything she can to make you feel welcome, and 'at home.' The room we stayed in was beautifully decorated (The Marigold Room) and spacious. Its 2-sink, large bathroom with a tub/shower was wonderful- right next to the bedroom. It was conveniently stocked with many toiletries, hair dryer, and cotton robes, too! Right down the hall, is a community area where you can watch television, serve yourself coffee/tea, eat snacks, or sit and read a book. And Chef Sawsan's breakfast was amazing! Be prepared... first she serves a variety of pastries that she bakes fresh each morning, and home-made jams. Next, comes individual fresh, mixed fruit cups. Then, when you think you couldn't possibly eat more, she asks how you like your eggs prepared. The eggs are served with her delicious mix of potatoes, and local fruit/vegetables. She even makes her own breakfast sausage! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Ambrosia Inn, and look forward to the next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty Township, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stopped at the Ambrosia Inn on our way to NC. It was an unforgettable experience. Sawsan Galal welcomed us upon arrival. She showed us around her beautiful home and made us feel welcome. The second floor has 3 bedrooms and 3 baths (the Sage Blossom Suite where we stayed has the bath inside the suite and also a private balcony area to sit and enjoy the weather). There is also a very comfortable living room area with a wide screen TV, a microwave, a Keurig selection of teas and coffees, and a small frig with a selection of beverages. The bed in our suite was so comfortable, and every room in the Inn is impeccably clean. Sawsan sees to every need including an extra toothbrush or razor! The breakfast the next morning was exquisite. Sawsan serves several courses in a very leisurely manner, and each course is homemade and exceptionally delicious. We enjoyed talking with her as we ate our breakfast; she has many interesting stories. We hope to make this a regular stop on our frequent trips to NC...and YOU should TOO!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ambrosia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ambrosia Inn

Address: 611 N. Kanawha Street, Beckley, WV 25801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Beckley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ambrosia Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Ambrosia Inn to your Saves list