We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be Prepared to be Amazed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ambrosia Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beckley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ambrosia Inn
611 N. Kanawha Street, Beckley, WV 25801   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Beckley B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Be Prepared to be Amazed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This incredible B&B is a destination in itself! It is on a small hill, surrounded by 4 acres of grounds. The stone mansion is a luxurious B&B owned and operated by Sawsan Galal, a Boston-trained chef (Classic French cuisine!). The entire 2nd floor consists of a fully-equipped living room with fridge and coffee tea station, snacks, etc. The two smaller rooms are cozy, with great 4-poster beds, and the master suite is similar, simply more luxurious with a connected bath.

The breakfast was enough for the day! Everything was made "from scratch," and to order -- with the innkeeper magically transformed into a French Chef!

Don't miss it if you're in the area! In fact, make it a point to go there for a rest!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
13
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed recently at Ambrosia inn while on a white water rafting trip. We were struck by warmth and friendliness of Sawsan(the hostess and proprietor). I requested a cooking lesson in Egyptian cooking and she went out of her way to pick foods that even our three daughters may enjoy eating if I cooked them. The breakfasts were fresh, healthy and imaginative. We tried falafel, and after our visit I was inspired to visit a local market and buy items so that I could make the items from the cooking classes and the breakfasts at home. The bedrooms were well decorated and comfortable and attractively decorated. Our three daughters felt very much at home. They enjoyed Sawsan's food, accomodations. They also enjoyed her friendly cats and our youngest daughter says she misses the cats. We all really liked the Inn and getting to know Sawsan and we would definitely return if we were in the area!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

After hours on the road after leaving a wonderful Hilton Head vacation, The Ambrosia Inn was the perfect place to rest up for the next leg of our journey home. Even though we were arriving quite late due to accidents on the way, Sawsan graciously greeted us at 12AM and offered us juice and water. What a peaceful way to end a long drive, but to fall into a comfortable bed that felt like home. My husband and I stayed in the Marigold room, and our 12 year old son stayed in the Rose room, both equally beautiful. We all slept well and had a very tasty homemade breakfast made by proprietor,Chef Sawsan, that included fresh fruit and French pressed coffee. Sharing with Chef Sawsan, who is a world traveller, was an additional treat that you don't want to miss. I have added this gem to my favorites and will book the Sage Blossom Suite next time, as the view is gorgeous!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

The Ambrosia Inn is a wonderful place to stay. The hostess and atmosphere were delightful. It was a cozy and clean place to stay. Chef Sawsan made breakfast the best meal of the day! She had homemade breakfast treats as well as eggs and fresh fruit. We enjoyed our time there and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haymarket
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My sister and I were wanting to start a new tradition after our mother passed away. We came to The Ambrosia Inn and it was just what we were looking for. Beautiful home, very clean, very comfortable bed. The grounds are beautiful and there are many comfortable rooms to relax in. Sawsan's breakfast was delicious, especially the hash browns and pastries, and she was very gracious and took time to talk with us and answer our questions. We plan to go back next year and make it a new tradition.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denville, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I was given the task of finding an Inn for the night while we visited our son at the Boy Scout Jamboree at the Bechtel Reserve. Rather an choose a motel for my wife and daughter, I found the Ambrosia Inn online at a very reasonable price. We arrive late to a gorgeous stately mansion that was tastefully decorated. The innkeeper Swasan Galal was very interesting. I would have loved to stay to a cooking class. The beds were very clean and comfortable, breakfast was both nicely prepared and healthy. I would recommend this for those who do not want to totally 'rough it" while enjoying all the activities in the New River/Gauley River which are only minutes away.

Room Tip: Ask the innkeeper about food...she is a great cook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The Ambrosia Inn was perfect for us. Each room has it's own personality, they are all inviting but our favorite was the Sage Blossom. The grounds are beautiful and the kitchen garden and grape arbors piqued our curiosity as we strolled in the morning. Chef Sawsan is a wonderful chef and host, our breakfast was the perfect ending to our short visit.

Room Tip: We loved the Sage Blossom Suite, it was so quiet, the bed was extra comfy and the bathroom had it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ambrosia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ambrosia Inn

Address: 611 N. Kanawha Street, Beckley, WV 25801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Beckley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ambrosia Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Ambrosia Inn to your Saves list