We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Visit to the 2013 Jamboree lead to a very pleasant experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ambrosia Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beckley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
The Ambrosia Inn
Save Saved
You added The Ambrosia Inn to your Saves list
611 N. Kanawha Street, Beckley, WV 25801   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Beckley B&B and Inns
Denville, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Visit to the 2013 Jamboree lead to a very pleasant experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I was given the task of finding an Inn for the night while we visited our son at the Boy Scout Jamboree at the Bechtel Reserve. Rather an choose a motel for my wife and daughter, I found the Ambrosia Inn online at a very reasonable price. We arrive late to a gorgeous stately mansion that was tastefully decorated. The innkeeper Swasan Galal was very interesting. I would have loved to stay to a cooking class. The beds were very clean and comfortable, breakfast was both nicely prepared and healthy. I would recommend this for those who do not want to totally 'rough it" while enjoying all the activities in the New River/Gauley River which are only minutes away.

Room Tip: Ask the innkeeper about food...she is a great cook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
15
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairview
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The Ambrosia Inn was perfect for us. Each room has it's own personality, they are all inviting but our favorite was the Sage Blossom. The grounds are beautiful and the kitchen garden and grape arbors piqued our curiosity as we strolled in the morning. Chef Sawsan is a wonderful chef and host, our breakfast was the perfect ending to our short visit.

Room Tip: We loved the Sage Blossom Suite, it was so quiet, the bed was extra comfy and the bathroom had it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southside VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The rooms at the inn are well furnished and comfortable. Innkeeper Sawsan Galal asks about dietary issues soon after arrival. Breakfast was plentiful with fresh seasonal fruit, a variety of breads or pancakes, eggs made to order, special in-house preserves, etc. In addition, a small refrigerator is stocked with bottled water and juice, and there is also a fully stocked coffee/tea station in the upstairs lounge. Have been to many B&Bs over the years. This one is super! Location is ideal because it’s not in the middle of town, but close to shopping and site seeing. Quiet atmosphere was very restful. My husband and I were there this week. He attended Boy Scout Jamboree. Luckily, innkeeper Sawsan is also a chef who offers cooking workshops, and I was able to attend with locals since I am not a scout. Fun time. Overall, I would say that this B&B will prove to be a favorite for those who travel through Beckley. Would I stay there again? Absolutely!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckley, West Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

wonderful B&B with great hospitality and exeptional food. Each room has it own character, beautiful setting in the heart of the city , peaceful and quiet. Chef Sawsan will cater to your culinary needs and her cuisine is remarkable. A great asset in the town of Beckley.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ambrosia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ambrosia Inn

Address: 611 N. Kanawha Street, Beckley, WV 25801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Beckley
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ambrosia Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.