We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Choices Elsewhere!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Microtel Inn by Wyndham Beckley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Microtel Inn by Wyndham Beckley to your Saves list
Microtel Inn by Wyndham Beckley
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2130 Harper Road, Beckley, WV 25801   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Better Choices Elsewhere!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

With the number of chain hotels available in this area off the interstate, make this Microtel your last choice.It needs real cleaning and upkeep.There is never an excuse for not being clean. The rugs in hallways, in room were dirty, stained, frayed, bathroom had hair in tub and on floor. I've stayed in other Microtels which were clean, well kept. Staff at this hotel was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    83
    106
    55
    50
See reviews for
169
93
28
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tustin, California, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

The first room smelled like smoke and so they did move me, the second had bed bugs crawl out in the middle of the nite and bite me! (I counted about 10). Because of the late hr I stayed and let them switch me to a 3rd room. In the morning the manager left instructions to his staff to offer me a 10% discount. I explained I was about to call the Better Business Bureau if that room was not comped since I could not have slept in that bed bug infested bed, only then did I get the nites stay taken off. Ok so other than the bedbugs and smokey rooms.....( I pray that they tossed that mattress so that no one else gets horrified).... the front counter people are nice.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

We stayed here because we are on our way home from a two week trip and it didn't matter about luxury. This place charged $73 ($80 with tax) for a regular room. This is what we pay everywhere else for the Microtel suite, which has a sofa and wet bar and is much larger.
As everyone has said, the breakfast is embarrassingly skimpy, the towels are gray and the wallpaper is falling off the walls. To top that off, the lighting in the room is so dim that you cannot see to do makeup and hair, and the fan in the bathroom is so loud we could not stand to have it on, but the fan comes on with the light. We bring a nightlight that we usually put in the bathroom but the plugs only work if the light switch is turned on. The "high speed" internet is two bars and is too frustrating to use.
To sum up--never again at this one.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

My first negative review but you'd want to know! The only positive is the beds were comfortable and they do try to keep it clean but this place needs updating. Wallpaper was half off the wall in the bathroom, cracked mirror and mildew on walls. The breakfast, if you could call it that, had stale bagels, no fruit, the orange juice was like tang and the coffee - well - we stopped at the first McDonald's after leaving. This is one of the worst hotels we have ever stayed in. Paid $89.99 plus tax.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

If you dont like smoke dont stay here....cheap but nasty, dirty.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for one night because the Microtel in our home state was decent, and there was nothing else available. We paid $96.00 for one night. As soon as we walked in we noticed that the furniture in the lobby was sunk in looking and covered with blankets (all three pieces). Right above the counter there were two holes in the ceiling. The male worker at the counter greeted us very friendly and helpful concerning hotel questions and places to eat. After leaving him we noticed that the carpet was stained, and that the elevator smelled like smoke and also appeared like it needed to be wiped down a bit. When we entered our room we noticed stale odor. We noticed furtherr that the sheets were dingy and that they had a few remaining hairs on them. The wash cloths were dingy and tattered, but the tub appeared to be clean. The couch and other furnishings in the room were in need of replacements, they looked like they had truly given their money's worth. They were also worn and stained. I kept my shoes on walking around at night because the carpet looked rather suspect. At night we could hear people walking around on the ceiling and also getting comfortable in their bed. If you are looking for somewhere to lay your head because you are just way too exhausted to notice what the room looks like, then this hotel would suit you. I am not a neat freak, but I do enjoy staying in a hotel that looks like it's been well kept, with visibly clean linens, and one that smells fresh. Conversely, my realtives stayed at this hotel in a different room with their dog. They had no complaints and commented that they had a good night's rest.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

Microtel is exactly what you think it is in Beckley. It's a lower end hotel chain, but the people are courteous and the place is super pet friendly.

The continental breakfast is bare bones but that goes back to "you get what you pay for". My only hang-up is that they pull away everything except the coffee at exactly 9:30 am. That's great for coffee drinkers, but I don't drink coffee. I sometimes drink tea that I looked for tea bags -- no dice. Oh well.

The whirlpool/hot tub at the pool was frigid. The heater was broken and it had just been fixed. Unfortunately, it takes a loooong time to heat up a tub of water that size. It was finally just about warm enough right when we were checking out.

We had a non-smoking room, but we had to walk down the smoking hallway to get to it. It smelled like an old bar. The room itself was fine.

As for the pet friendly, we have a 10-pound dog and he tends to bark when left alone in the room. The hotel never complained and gave him dog treats instead.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Microtel Inn by Wyndham Beckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn by Wyndham Beckley

Address: 2130 Harper Road, Beckley, WV 25801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn by Wyndham Beckley 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are no longer a pet friendly hotel. NO PETS ALLOWED ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Microtel Inn by Wyndham Beckley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn & Suites Beckley Hotel Beckley
Microtel Inn And Suites Beckley
Microtel Beckley
Beckley Microtel
Microtel Hotel Beckley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Microtel Inn by Wyndham Beckley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.