We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the better hotels in Beckley” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2120 Harper Road, Beckley, WV 25801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 20%
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
New Martinsville, West Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One of the better hotels in Beckley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

This hotel was very busy, but it offers a pool and a nice breakfast buffet. The location is good for sightseeing in the area and is close to the Tamarac and restaurants. We had a loud humming noise coming out of the HVAC vents. Hopefully they get that corrected.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am glad that you were pleased with your stay. I will pass a work order on to the maintenance team to repair the HVAC, thank you for bring this to our attention. Again, thank you for the review. We hope to see you soon!

Safe travels,


Jerry Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    152
    56
    17
    6
See reviews for
188
87
15
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I've stayed here before and my stay was overall, okay. This time I'm thinking the issue where more because of the amount of people staying and the type of people staying. Parking was difficult. Someone was stealing the do not disturb signs from the doors allowing cleaning people to come in when they should've have. Not the cleaning persons fault of course and not the hotels fault. Thankfully they have some honest cleaning people. I had an iPhone charging on the table and it wasn't taken. I think it's more about the cost then anything, $169 a night for a double bed basic room doesn't seem worth it to me and I won't do it again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
I am so sorry that you had a disappointing stay. Please contact me at jsmith@hlihotels, I would love to make it right for you.


Sincerely,


Jerry Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrell, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

The rooms were nice but rather dated. That being said I have to say that the room was very clean and the maid staff was very nice and thorough. The bed was great but the comforter was way too heavy and I mean, physically heavy and way too warm for a hot Texas night regardless of air conditioning. We took the comforter off the bed and used the blanket supplied in the room by the hotel as a bed cover. The blanket was plenty heavy enough for a comfortable nights sleep. The real downfall of this hotel was that all of the breakfast food was very stale and the ice machine on the ground floor did not work. In addition, the noise of toilets flushing in other rooms and people walking on the floor above us was pretty loud. Overall, we liked that the bedroom had a door that could be shut while I slept and my husband stayed up late working on the computer. Cleanliness was a big plus. Another downfall would be that the card key took several tries each time we tried to enter the hotel. I would stay at the Ft. Worth, Texas Country Inn and Suites again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. If you could please reach out to me by email at jsmith@hlihotels.com I would like to discuss your recent stay.

Have a great day!

Jerry Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Springs, Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

We stay here every year, and they continue to get us to come back.
We stay here for a full weekend. They have a great staff that is helpful and a beautiful porch with lots of chairs and rocking chairs. Every year they improve something. The brwakfast area was remodeled and it was nice but a little more noisy then before.

The bathrooms are starting to show some wear and we found it difficult to get the sink to be on hot.
There is a cracker barrel walking distance and a liquor store. Other restaurant close by.

We will be back next year same time.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of the hotel. We just begin adding all new soft seating to the guest rooms this week, with new headboards, artwork and lighting to follow by the end of the year. We are working to remodel the bathrooms hopefully in 2015. Hope to see you soon, thanks for staying!

Safe travels,

Jerry Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

From the moment we checked in the staff were lovely and helpful. Staying with a dog here was never so easy. We checked in with our 7 yr old who loved the indoor out door pool and the waffles the next morning. If you're looking for a quick stop over on a long journey this is the place to be!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you so much for the review of the hotel. We do appreciate your choice to stay with us. I will pass on this review to the staff, they will be pleased. We look forward to serving you soon,

Safe travels.

Jerry Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We were made to feel welcome the minute we walked in. Staff was accommodating and friendly, room was clean and spacious. The location was good with a restaurant with in walking distance, we did not want to get back in the car to drive to dinner after having been in the car for over 12 hours.We would recommend this location and would stay again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
What a very nice review, thank you so much! I will share the accolades with the team, they will be pleased. Again, thank you for staying with us, we look forward to your next visit!

Safe travels,

Jerry Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allenhurst, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

After many hours of driving we decided to stop for the night in Beckley, WV. First hotel in line was Hampton Inn. The only room they had was a double bed for $120.00. Went to Country Inns & Suites across the street and got a two queen bed room for $83.00. Friendly staff went out of their way to get us two cartons of milk for the 2yr. old grandbaby. We plan on returning as a stop over point from Georgia to Pennsylvania annual trip.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
We are so pleased you gave us a try! Thank you so much for your choice in accommodations, I keep telling my staff the service sells, I am so proud of my team, Again thank you! We hope to see you soon!

Safe travels,

Jerry Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley

Address: 2120 Harper Road, Beckley, WV 25801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Carlson, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley Hotel Beckley
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Beckley
Country Inn Beckley
Beckley Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.