We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 Stars” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2120 Harper Road, Beckley, WV 25801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 20%
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
Tallahassee, United States
1 review
“4 Stars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

4 stars. The only complaint that I can even think of is the noise by the pool. Our room was right above it. However, I loved our corner room. I don't know how you could lower the volume at the pool. We were here for our 50th WWHS class reunion.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you so much for the four star review. I will pass on your accolades to the team at our monthly luncheon, they will be pleased. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay, things can get loud sometimes with the pool, it's such a big hit with the children who stay. Again, thank you! Hope to see you again soon,

Sincerely,

Jerry Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    160
    57
    18
    7
See reviews for
210
95
16
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel while traveling down from Michigan to West Virginia on our motorcycles. We were pleasantly surprised when we were offered a suite and was very impressed with the cleanliness, amenities and helpful staff.
The person checking us in encouraged us to park our cycles underneath the entrance awning, which gave us peace of mind and a dry butt.
The breakfast provided us many choices and save a lot of money each day. When we weren't cruising around the twisty roads, we enjoyed a relaxing sit on the covered porch area.
I don't know if we will ever get back to Beckley, but if we do, Country Inn will be our choice.

Room Tip: We stayed at the end of the hall, on the third floor. It was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
WOW, thank you for the review! We love hearing best place we ever stayed in! That is a high compliment, thank you so much! We enjoyed you staying with us, we do love the motorcycle riders, such a great area to explore with two wheels! Again, thank you, we hope to see you soon!

Safe travels,

Jerry Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We stayed one night on our way to North Carolina. This hotel was a very good value for the money. The room was very clean and had a good suite layout; sometimes even two people like to have a little privacy, and this room worked well to that end. Roomy bathroom, good mattresses, and quiet at night make it easy to get a good night's rest.

The breakfast was very good, and we especially liked having chunks of fresh fruit in addition to the usual better-than-average free fare. Lots of cookies at the front desk, too, along with bottled water in the morning. Definitely a family place; lots of folks seemed to enjoy the pool, although we did not check that out.

This is our first stay at a Country Inn. Very competitive offering with Holiday Inn Express. Would definitely check in here again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for the review of the hotel. I agree that we are a good value compared to the others brands that you could have chosen, we do appreciate you choosing us. The hotel is so much fun to work at, I do love the staff at this hotel, they are great! Hope to see you soon, again thank you for the review!

Sincerely,

Jerry Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We decided to come to the area to see a friend in the Hatfield and McCoy Outdoor Drama and in order to make it a relaxing trip, we chose to stay the night in Beckley. We had stayed at Country Inns in Asheville so it was nice to stay once again at their properties. Our stay was wonderful and the staff was very helpful. The room was clean and the breakfast was nice. We will stay again when traveling.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for visiting the Beckley area, we hope you enjoyed the show! The staff and I take pride in doing a good job, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you soon!

Safe travels,

Jerry Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

After 9 hours of travelling by car, we arrived at the hotel on July 13 at 4pm and as we are parking, there people who are smoking in front of the hotel (right by the entrance). As we started to enter the hotel, we realized they are employees, they greeted us and said "Hi"... we went inside the hotel BUT there is no one at the reception area to greet us... we waited for about 20 mins and finally the two people who are smoking went inside - they both turned out to be the receptionists! One guy and one woman named Jaime. They apologize but we're not impressed at all. Jaime checked us in and went to our room which is a bit old but ok. I forgot my slippers and went back downstairs if they have complimentary slippers - they don't and did not really apologize that they do not have one. I was hoping that some smokers will be sensitive to non-smokers - even if they are not employees... they should not allow people to smoke right at the entrance of the hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
I am sorry to hear of your check in experience. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Everything about this hotel was excellent! Easily accessible location from the interstate. Close proximity to Tamarack. Adjacent to our favorite restaurant - Cracker Barrel. Park your car at the hotel and walk around the back to the restaurant immediately behind.

The room was impeccable, as was the entire motel. Beautifully decorated throughout. Huge pool. Wonderful breakfast. The breakfast room was crowded the morning we were there, so we took our food out to a table in the enclosed pool area. It was quiet and relaxing, to say the least.

Staff and service were efficient, knowledgable, friendly, and readily available. I don't believe you can find a better place to stay in this entire area. Great introduction to our vacation in West Virginia!

Room Tip: If you want to visit Tamarack, ask the staff how to get there via the "back" road. It'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review, it was a pleasure serving you during your visit. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The staff her are a good bunch of folks to work with, I am so proud. Again, thank you for the kind review, we hope to see you soon!

Safe travels,

Jerry Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed for a conference at the Beckley-Raleigh Conference Center. It is about a 15 minute drive with traffic. The staff are excellent. Always willing to help. It was clean and convenient. The breakfast is awesome... The hospitality.... Top of the line. Check it out! Totally recommend this place. The price is not too bad either.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
If I ever needed good vibes on a Friday, today was the day. Thank you so much for the glowing review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. I am so proud of the staff at this facility, they are truly the best people to work with, and they are so smart, and willing to provide that home away from home service we strive to perfect. I owe all the credit to them, truly amazing staff! Again, thank you for your review, you made my day! Hope to see you soon,

Safe travels,

Jerry Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley

Address: 2120 Harper Road, Beckley, WV 25801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Beckley
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley Hotel Beckley
Country Inn Beckley
Beckley Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.