We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sleep” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2120 Harper Road, Beckley, WV 25801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 20%
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great sleep”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This hotel is a great stop over while traveling. It's close to the interstate restaurants. The breakfast has very nice big selection the beds are very comfortable and the hotel is very clean. This is the third time we have stayed here and never been disappointed

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you so much for being such a loyal guest to our hotel. We are so proud of this hotel, and the employees here are great to work beside. I will share your kind review and our next employee luncheon. Again, thank you. We hope to serve you soon.

Safe travels,

Jerry Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    131
    52
    16
    6
See reviews for
169
77
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

This is the third time we've stayed at this hotel and we really enjoyed our stay here. The place is very clean, has a wonderful pool (but could use a few more tables and chairs in the pool area), and a good breakfast. Guest rooms are spacious, clean, and comfortable. We did notice something that did get our attention, however. During breakfast there were many, many guests looking for places to sit, yet employees were occupying a couple of the tables and they looked like they were waiting to start their shifts. This is a major black eye in my book and I hope management curbs that practice quickly. Guests should always come before employee comfort.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time ti review the hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. You are correct, I will make sure my department heads know that the employees are not to be in the breakfast area during the hours of breakfast. We do allow the employees to eat after breakfast hours, in an effort to curb such wasteful food, I will re- confirm our standing rule. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope to see you again,

Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Good clean comfortable rooms. The pool is nice sized along with a nice sized hot tub. Good breakfast. The beds were very comfortable. The staff seemed friendly and were very helpful. This was a very nice stay for our travel weary family.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for the kind review. The staff is great, I love working with this crew! I will pass on your accolades at our next employee luncheon, they will be pleased. Hope to see you soon!

Safe travels,

Jerry Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel was nice. Easy on and off the interstate. Pet friendly. Rooms were clean. Breakfast buffet was good. Only issue I had was that the smell of air fresh was overwhelming and triggered my allergies. I would recommend this property to anyone seeking a clean, economical, pet-friendly hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
I am so sorry that our air freshener triggered your allergies. Please contact me at 304-252-5100 to discuss your stay. Thank you for the review!

Safe travels,


Jerry Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We have stayed here quite a bit but over the last few years have chosen to stay elsewhere. This year for our conference my husband and I chose to stay here again because we got a good rate through Hotwire.

I was pleased to see that the rooms have been updates as well as the carpet in the hallways. Everything has a fresh new look. Although they have maintained a warm friendly appearance there is now a more modern (less country) feel to the place.

Things we didn't like:
~The water in our room never got hot. It was only warm enough for a quick shower but would have been very uncomfortable for a bath. This was not resolved during our stay.
~ Although our room had been updated the ceilings were in bad need of painting. I was please to see the 90's decor off the walls but the lack of anything on the walls wasn't so pleasing.
~Although the room was very clean when we arrived housekeeping was a little lacking during our stay. I love to come into my room to a well made bed and 2 of the 3 mornings it was not well made.

The additional space to the breakfast area and the new library/tv room is very nice! The flowers and outdoors is very well maintained. We sat on the porch one evening with friends and enjoyed a Summer rainstorm.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind review. We are working very hard to complete our renovations, I am so pleased that you noticed. Hope to see you soon!

Safe Travels,

Jerry Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelbyville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I travel to the Northern Neck of Virginia to see aging relatives about 4 or 5 times in a years and Beckley is my approximate half-way point. We have stayed a myriad of hotels in Beckley but now, we only stay here. The rooms are clean and comfortable and I believe that the Country Inn and Suite mattress is the best in the industry. I travel with my service dog and the staff always try to insure that we are on the first floor and near the side door for our convenience. The staff are friendly and accommodating (they have never even cringed at my request of the large number of extra pillows needed to prop my back) and allow me extra checkout time for my elderly mother. Breakfast is standard fare for a breakfast included hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for your review of the hotel. I will pass on your kind comments to our staff at our next employee luncheon. Again, thank you for staying!

Jerry Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I typically like Country Inn and Suites because of the free breakfast and predictable rooms. This place was ok. The breakfast area was super crowded and they had few choices. We are headed back thru Beckley in a few days and will try the Holiday Inn instead. There was nothing blatantly wrong with our stay, it just didn't impress us much. Sorry!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
I am sorry that you stay did not live up to our expectations. Please contact me at 304-252-5100 so we can discuss your stay.

Sincerely,

Jerry Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley

Address: 2120 Harper Road, Beckley, WV 25801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Carlson, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley Hotel Beckley
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Beckley
Country Inn Beckley
Beckley Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.