We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2120 Harper Road, Beckley, WV 25801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 20%
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
Southlake, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

This was a very nice hotel with excellent views. The location was convenient to the turnpike and restaurants.The room was clean and nice. It was very large. The staff was very friendly and courteous. The rate was very reasonable. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
What a great way to begin a Friday, thank you very much for the wonderful review of the hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Comments like these reaffirm our commitment to quality and memorable service, I will pass along you accolades to the staff. Please look for us on your next trip through Beckley, we would love to serve you again.

Safe Travels!

Jerry Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    156
    56
    18
    7
See reviews for
196
92
15
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Ontario
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Family of 5 stayed for one night (a Friday night), 2nd floor, double beds with living area. Located conveniently off highway and close to varied mix of dining spots. Inn was packed with lots of family, extended family traffic. Pool area was chaotic, to say the least. Probably inviting when not busy but definitely not with hordes en masse.

Room was good size, but dated. Beds themselves were comfortable but the sofa bed was a disaster. The mattress is, well, if there was even one, was just some material covering a series of bed springs - impossible to be even remotely comfortable; made for a nasty sleep. Further impacted by loud activity in the hallways and vibrations from floor above. Room a/c unit fan was fairly loud when operating.

Breakfast was plentiful and well organized despite the large crowd. Breakfast staff was efficient and pleasant, as was front desk personnel. A good spot for a quick layover. Just don't get stuck with the sofa bed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the property. We are pleased that some aspects of your stay was enjoyable. We strive to make things right, if you could please reach out to me at jsmith@hlihotels.com I would like to discuss your concerns. Again, thank you for staying and safe travels!

Sincerely,

Jerry Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Tennessee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Stayed at this hotel while taking our youth group on ski trip at Winterplace. Rooms were clean, plenty of space, large flat screen TV, free WiFi worked well. Staff very friendly and helpful. Full breakfast included in rate, (this is worth about $15 for 2 and $30 for 4 person room).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Country Inn and Suites, Beckley, West Virginia. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the stay and found the hotel to be such a value. We work hard to make this hotel a pleasant experience for the guest. I will share your accolades to the staff at our next employee luncheon. Again, thank you and we hope to serve you soon.

Safe travels,


Jerry Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We were traveling with cats and found this as a pet friendly hotel. The amenities were great. The room was clean. The air conditioning didn't have that awful smell. The only complaint I have is that it was supposed to be a pet friendly room yet the bottom of the beds were open. Normally the pet friendly hotels I have used in the past are enclosed so your pet doesn't hide under the bed especially when it is time to leave. I also wish all the hotels in this chain were pet friendly as I would use them for all my travel needs. In Georgia the hotel was not pet friendly so call ahead.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice. Just be sure to make sure if you are traveling with a pet that you make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are pleased that you and your feline family member enjoyed your stay. We take great pride in maintaining a property that is friendly to our guests and their four legged friends. Again, thank you for the kind review. I will share this review at our next employee meeting. Safe travels, and we hope to serve you soon.

Thank you,

Jerry Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhorn, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I spent time at this hotel and it was noisey guest after 9 pm on friday saturday and sunday of january 2014. third floor away from pets yet i heard a dog barking in the next room and the tv channels were not all working, the room curtains dont block out day light or parking lot lots .the wifi was not working the only day i needed it, i was the bus driver so i needed rest the first evening. i felt the breakfast choices were all cold items how ever were abundant, the pool was just down right cold due to the pool was exposed to the outdoor as it was 3 and 15 degrees during this visit. the elevator is centrally located far from the door i was going in and out. the door it self had card reader trouble to where a rock was getting used to hold the door open, yea real good security to all the children roaming the halls. further more the towels at the pool were very small but abundant. the front doors on the lobby were ear sqeachingly loud when opening and closing . it seamed like a easy maintiance repair issue.bed was comfy and the room was cozy.i likeky will not stay here again but this is all addressable stuff..

Room Tip: well its hard to point to room area. go and check it out
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Would you please contact me at jsmith@hlihotels.com or 304-252-5100 to further discuss your review.

Thank you,

Jerry Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

The long weekend was a great time to take a youth group on a ski trip to the area. We brought a group of 28 high school kids to this hotel and it seems that several other groups had the same idea. Despite the large volume of people, mostly youth, the breakfast was continually stocked so no one went without food. The front desk was gracious and accommodating, even with so many demands on them. They even made it a point to have plenty of cookies available to anyone who wanted one. The rooms were clean and in good shape. This hotel is very convenient to the local ski area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the property. The staff and I are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The staff does an excellent job in handling large groups, they really keep us jumping. Again thank you for your stay, we look forward to serving you soon, I will pass on the accolades to the staff.

Safe travels,

Jerry Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Very clean & accommodating for scent free cleaning products. Windows that allow for fresh air. Good value for the money & even included breakfast. Up to date appointments. Would definitely stay here again. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
What a way to start off a Monday, with a five star review of the CIS Beckley. Thank you so much for the kind review of the property. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The staff at this hotel are truly one of a kind, they are the reason for our success. I will share your accolades at our next employee meeting. Again, thank you. We look forward to serving you again, hopefully soon!

Safe travels.

Jerry Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley

Address: 2120 Harper Road, Beckley, WV 25801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Beckley
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley Hotel Beckley
Country Inn Beckley
Beckley Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.