We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pet Friendly Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2120 Harper Road, Beckley, WV 25801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 20%
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Pet Friendly Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Never stayed in a "pet room" prior to this. Was traveling with two dogs and needed a place to stay for the night as the roads got bad due to sleet and ice. Great pet friendly room. Only drawback was that the front desk staff neglected to attach my Carlson Club member number to my reservation. That was resolved after the trip however. Great breakfast included in the stay.

Room Tip: Pet rooms were all on the first floor I believe. They had a nice "pet potty" area right o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and review of the property. We are pleased that you and your pet enjoyed your stay. We enjoy all the furry creatures that stay at the hotel, from big to small we take them all. Again thank you for your nice comments, I will pass on the accolades to the staff at our next luncheon. Safe travels, and hope to see you soon!

Jerry Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    161
    58
    18
    7
See reviews for
211
96
16
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walhalla, South Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Hotel was clean, inviting spacious, offered fresh baked cookies upon arrival and a very nice breakfast, starting early at 6:00 am for those who have to be on the road at an early hour. Nicely decorated inn, and beautiful swimming atrium inside the hotel. Enjoyed the inn very much

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you so much for the glowing review. I will pass on the praise to the staff during our monthly luncheon. I have to admit, the staff at this hotel are truly one of a kind. I am so fortunate to work with such talent, makes my job seem easy at times. Again, thank you for the review, please come back any time, our doors are always open!


Safe travels,

Jerry Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

The price for a suite with 2 queen beds and a sofabed was great. The pool and hottub were great. We had a problem with our toilet and the desk clerk gave us $20 off of our bill for the inconvenience and this was totally unexpected, so thanks!!

Room Tip: we were on the 3rd floor away from the elevator and it was extremely quiet although the hotel was qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for the review of our Inn. We take pride in all we do, and we are so pleased that are handwork has paid off! I will sure your accolades with my team, I know they will be pleased. Again, thank you for staying with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Safe travels!

Jerry Smith
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario-Canada
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

the hotel has been renovated a bit, lobby, breakfast area and pool have been re done and look great. Rooms are good but sound does transfer between floors and rooms because the construction style and age of hotel.
staff are very friendly and helpful.
would definitely stay here again, probably the best value in Beckley

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your return trip to the hotel and second positive review of the property. I am glad that you have noticed the public area / breakfast renovations. We will start the room upgrades
in January 2014, we are so excited to see the new look of the rooms. Again, thank you for your comments, I will make sure to share with the staff at our next employee luncheon. They are the reason this hotel is so successful. Safe travels and we look forward to your next visit.

Jerry Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The price for this hotel was nice $125.00 and you do get a lot. It is pet friendly very nice and the pool and the whole hotel is just like the pictures. This hotel is good size and has a great breakfast.

Room Tip: Those with a dog get a first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind review. I will share your accolades with our team, and would wish that if you are in the area please stay with us again, we look forward to serving you. Thanks again, safe travels!

Jerry Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed at this CIS for 4 nites. It was a solid CIS experience. You can expect the standard to be the same as all other CIS. The rooms were accommodating, the food standard and the location convenient not only to the highway for travel but also for attractions like Lewisburg, the New River etc. People are very friendly and welcoming. Lots of restaurants in the area as well as a CVS, which we needed. Their amenities were excellent in the pool, hot tub etc.

The only negative was some minor handyman work. The railings on the stairs to the second floor needed to be tightened as did the whirlpool railing. The microwave in our room had lost a foot and was unbalanced and it was a long time in coming for hot water.

This is not a deal breaker. Still a good stay. We have traveled to 40 of the 50 states and I would stay here again. A handyman can fix all of this.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the Country Inn and Suites, Beckley WV. Your review means so much to the staff, it is our way of fine tuning a hotel, I will pass your accolades and concerns to the team. Again, thank you for the review and we hope to see you soon!

Safe travels,


Jerry Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley

Address: 2120 Harper Road, Beckley, WV 25801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Beckley
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley Hotel Beckley
Country Inn Beckley
Beckley Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.