We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good first experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2120 Harper Road, Beckley, WV 25801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 20%
Ranked #2 of 15 hotels in Beckley
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good first experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

First time staying at this property and would stay here again based on this experience. Room was a good size. Not crazy about the beds...metal headboard with spindles and open under the mattresses. I prefer a solid headboard and the base under the bed so items can fall/slide underneath. Room was clean and comfortable though and great for my one night stay. It did show some signs of wear and tear but not in bad shape...just some areas that could be touched up. Staff at check in and check out were friendly and helpful. Great location, especially close to Tamarack where I was attending a meeting. I didn't have time for breakfast but it looked like a good assortment of items, including hot items such as potatoes, eggs, and make your own waffles. Great government rate.

Room Tip: Just be aware that the floor plan of this hotel includes long hallways (longer than other properties...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, we appreciate your comments and I will forward your concerns about the bedrails and headboard to ownership for review and possible replacement on our next series of updates to the property. Again, thank you for the review and we look forward to seeing you soon,

Safe travels!

Jerry Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    104
    45
    14
    6
See reviews for
123
60
10
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The Country Inn and Suites in Beckley has become the hotel that we stop at every summer on our road trip down south. Last year we noticed it had gone a little down hill and sadly, this year it has slipped even further. I was greeted by a friendly employee who gave me the AAA rate even though I was not a member. The room had a very odd smell, something I remember from my last stay as well- perhaps heavy chemicals to cover up the smell of smoke? The hot water took about 5 minutes to warm up and even then was only lukewarm. Absolutely no water pressure in the shower. My bed and pillow were comfy. The pullout couch was missing the majority of the springs which made for an uncomfortable night for the person who slept on it. We didn't discover the problem until 10 at night and that point we were too tired to switch rooms. The pool and hot tub seemed a bit dirty. Breakfast was bellow average for your typical 'hotel hot breakfast' in my opinion. I was turned off by two of the employees in the breakfast area get into a loud, verbal fight over a spilled tray. Very unprofessional and made myself, and I assume others uncomfortable. This property is average for the price, a few problems; but still an ok stay. I will probably look elsewhere next year when we are in Beckley, but often after a full day on the road it is easier to stick with something familiar (even when it is just ok)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
I am so sorry that your stay was not enjoyable, please call me at 304-252-5100 or email at jsmith@hlihotels.com so I can personally address your concerns.

Sincerely,

Jerry D. Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

clean room, restful décor, good breakfast, easy access from I-77.
breakfast crew a bit slow - the Belgian waffle batter ready 1 hour late (2 of 3 mornings), but excellent variety: stayed 3 nights and choices slightly different each morning. One day hot oatmeal, another day biscuits and gravy. had flatwear (not plastic!) and plates. Large, well-kept eating area. Enjoyed the coffee/tea available 24/7 just outside the breakfast room. would prefer if the indoor hot tub, not just the outdoor hot tub, also had the whirlpool jets. Reservation made on-line, but a little hard to get the appropriate room -- reservation defaulted to "handicapped" room, discovered (and changed) at front desk upon arrival. appreciated the separate countertop with refrigerator/microwave/coffee pot. bathroom had both a heat lamp AND exhaust fan; shower head easiest to adjust of all hotel rooms I have stayed in for the last several years.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. The staff and I are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will consider the Country Inn and Suites again if your ever going through Beckley in the future. Again, thank you for the nice comments, I will pass on to my staff at our monthly employee luncheon.

Safe travels,


Jerry D. Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
179 hotel reviews
Reviews in 171 cities Reviews in 171 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We tend to end up in Beckley quite often on trips from Michigan and Ohio back to North Carolina. We've stayed in this Country Inn many times, and I have reviewed it several times, always with good reviews. It's still a nice place to stay---rooms are in good condition, free breakfast is well done, indoor/outdoor pool complex is above average, etc., etc. The staff have always been friendly here. My only issue this time is that for some reason the price of the rooms has jumped up (room with two beds before AAA discount was almost $150, and suite was quoted at $164). This is Beckley, West Virginia, not a major downtown hotel in a large city!

Perhaps other good hotels in Beckley have gone up too, and they're just meeting the market, but the price now seems out of line. I noted that the hotel seemed to have less occupancy this time, so maybe the pricing is hurting demand.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for being a loyal guest to the Country Inn and Suites. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and just wanted to say thank you. If you wish to discuss our pricing structure please feel free to call me at 304-252-5100 or email jsmith@hlihotels.com Again, thank you for the business and safe travels!

Jerry Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Forced off the interstate due to storms, this was a decent place to stay. The breakfast in the morning was a good start to the day and comparable to the Marriott chains I normally stay in. The service was very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your time in reviewing this hotel. We are glad that your stay was good and we hope to see you again soon. I will pass on your praise to my staff and we hope that if your ever in Beckley (Hopefully under sunny skies) that you stay with us again.

Safe travels,


Jerry Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We were planning on driving straight through from Virginia Beach to Cleveland Ohio. Unfortunately my three year old became car sick. We decided to spend the night and finish the trip in the morning. This hotel was exceptional. Clean large rooms, sitting area, refrigerator, microwave, wet bar, two televisions, hot tub, excellent breakfast with anything you could think of. Warm cookies at front desk. Hot tea and coffee (always available in the lobby). Don't forget the hot tub(s), and pool(s) heated both indoor and outdoors. Makes the hotel on Virginia Beach we stayed at look like a "No Tell Motel"

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
What a great review for this hotel, thank you! WE are pleased that your stay was memorable and just wanted to say you made our day! The staff and I work hard to provide a hotel experience that meets your standard of hospitality and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again soon, safe travels!

Thanks

Jerry Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Springs, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a reunion. We have stayed here going on 4 or so years. This is a great hotel and have recently remodeled their foyer and breakfast area, which looks nice. This is a very large hotel. Has a great porch with chairs to sit and talk.

Being so big it is very busy. It is very difficult to find a chair at breakfast. Lots of foot traffic in and out.

The food was okay but not as good as other Country Suites I have stayed at. Would stay here but enjoyed the peace and quiet of the Princeton's Country Suites

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your honest opinion of the hotel. We are usually sold out every weekend, and it can be quite busy at times. Our popularity with the travels to Beckley is second to none and we work hard to make sure our guests are treated as individuals. I am sorry that you had some concerns, please feel free to contact me at 304-252-5100 or jsmith@hlihotels.com, I would love to earn a second chance. Thank you for the honest review.

Sincerely,


Jerry D. Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley

Address: 2120 Harper Road, Beckley, WV 25801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 hotels in Beckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Beckley
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley Hotel Beckley
Country Inn Beckley
Beckley Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.