We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay in Beckley!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2120 Harper Road, Beckley, WV 25801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 20%
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay in Beckley!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Let me start by saying that the service at this hotel was top notch and you will not find a better place to stay in Beckley. I have stayed in a lot of Beckley hotels on our annual trips to NC from Ohio so I can say this with a lot of confidence. We normally try to stay cheap on our way down, but this time, with two kids and two tired parents, I just wanted a nice, clean hotel where we could get a suite so the baby could sleep separate from us without all of us having to go to bed at 7pm. This hotel isn't the cheapest in Beckley, but we more than got what we paid for.

Our check in was very easy and the front desk staff were eager to please. I had called the day before to ask if we could have a suite with a door that closed off the living area for the baby, and they told me that some of the suites did this and requested that I be put in one with a door, which we got. There were fresh cookies and the lobby was very welcoming and clean. Our room was spacious and while it was not yet updated (the chain appears to be updating all their rooms and hotels to be more modern), it was very clean and comfortable. The bed linens were wonderful and the beds were soft. The living area and the bedroom both had large flat-screen TVs and the toiletries provided in the bathroom were of nice quality (Pantene, Vaseline, Bath and Body Works brands). The room had a nice kitchenette with a fridge, nice coffee machine, and sink. We swam in the pool that evening, which was huge and both an indoor and outdoor pool-- again, very clean. There were two hot tubs, indoor and outdoor, and the indoor hot tub was so big it was like a pool. The pool area was large with a lot of tables and chairs and plenty of clean pool towels.

We had a comfortable and quiet night's sleep and the next morning went to the free continental breakfast. The breakfast area was huge with lots of tables and chairs. The selection was impressive-- honestly, the selection would rival a Bob Evans breakfast menu. There were many varieties of coffee, varieties of tea, different juices and milks, many cereals, oatmeal, yogurt, fruit, hot biscuits, sausage gravy, fried chicken and a homemade waffle machine, to name a few. The food was hot and delicious and the dining room was friendly with someone busing tables to keep clean ones available. The food was refreshed often and there was a nice big screen TV playing the news quietly. Our check-out was quick and easy and one of the best things about this hotel is the check-in and check-out times. Some hotels want you out by 10am, which is pretty much impossible with little ones and all their stuff, but here the check-out was not until 12pm (and check-in was available at 3pm-- early, in my opinion).

In the end, I believe we definitely got what we paid for and if you book through their website early, you can pre-pay for a 15% discount. It was worth the price difference to stay here versus some of the other Beckley hotels and I would absolutely stay here again. In fact, our stay was so great that I will go out of my way to stay at a Country Inn and Suites on our next vacation (and we are actually staying at a different one, equally nice, in a different part of West Virginia on our way home!). Great service, great rooms, great atmosphere.

Room Tip: The hotel has many suites but only some have a door that physically closes off the living area, so c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
What a very nice review of the hotel, thank you for the time in writing so a glowing recommendation. We really try hard to be a good value to a family and we are so pleased that we succeeded. Again thank you for the kind words, I will share your experience with my staff. Safe travels!

Jerry Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    152
    56
    17
    6
See reviews for
189
87
15
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
winter haven fl
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had a small but very nice suite at this hotel. We stayed here so we could see the New River Gorge and the exhibition coal mine. Staff is very attentive and takes care of your every need. The free breakfst was excellent! There is a good variety of selections that changes slightly every day. A staff of six, instead of the usual one, constantly brings out food and beverages and cleans tables.

The hotel resembles an old fasioned hotel with a large porch with rocking chairs in front.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the property. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and just wanted to say thank you for the kind words. I will pass on your accolades to the staff at our next employee luncheon, they will be pleased. Again, thank you and we look forward to your next visit.

Safe travels,


Jerry Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wv
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

By far, an incredible looking place. The following complaints are all minor, but added up. Staff was great, but with the items below, I'd try another hotel next time.

Stayed in room 212. At 7:00 am, was awoken by what sounded like jackhammering on other side of wall. Since this was in a series of 5-10 minute intervals, I assume this was the drainpipes vibrating in the wall.

Breakfast seemed to close early at 10 am given that most of it was pre-prepared and not requiring active staffing.

Pool temp was not what I expected. Getting in the pool was a very slow, one step at a time process to acclimate to the temperature.

The "fitness room" was extremely small with only 1 treadmill, elliptical, and bike. No bench, free weights, or hardly room to move. Both me and my guest had planned to make use of the fitness facilities but passed when we saw them.

Refrigerator barely kept drinks cold. It was turned to max cool and yet I ended up throwing out food and drinks because I didn't feel they were cold enough to be consumable.

Ultimately, the place looked incredible and had very high potential. But I would seriously consider other hotels in the area on my next visit. This hotel should easily be the top in the area.

I did have an experience upon returning to the hotel at night where a stranger tried to scam me for money in the parking lot. The staff saw this and quickly notified security before I even got into the hotel. Security said they would approach the guy and ask him to leave.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the facility. I am sorry that you had issues with your stay. Please contact me at jsmith@hlihotels.com or 304-252-5100 to discuss your concerns. Again, thank you for the review and I look forward to speaking with you,

Sincerely,


Jerry D. Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW County St. Louis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I agree with others who say this is the best accommodations in Beckley, WV. The service was excellent. The staff was very friendly and eager to please. The room and the bathroom was super clean. Beds were comfortable. Breakfast provided a good variety for everyone's taste. I definitely would choose this motel over others in which I have stayed in the past while visiting Beckley.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and thanks for such a positive review. The staff at this hotel is by far the best I have had in my 22 years managing hotels. They are so eager to please, and just a fine bunch of people to work beside. They give this property the personality of hospitality, like a home away from home. I can't stop raving about their talents, of course I am biased! lol Again, thanks for the review I will make sure and share your comments during our monthly employee luncheon.

Safe travels,

Jerry Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Ohio
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on our way to Myrtle Beach. The parking lot and grounds of the hotel are very clean and nicely landscaped. Check in was quick and the staff was very friendly. Our room was exceptionally clean and huge! What sets this hotel apart is the pool facility! As a travel agent, I travel extensively---and was impressed by the indoor/outdoor pool and very large hot tubs. The indoor pool connects to the outdoor pool by a "swim" under door. The pools and pool room are large with nice windows. Breakfast was very good with nice selections-eggs, waffles, chicken. We loved this hotel so much, we decided to stay again on the way home, and loved the king suite! It had a large living room, wet bar, and big bathroom. I can't wait to come back in the fall to see the foliage and the Gorge--and most of all, to stay at this awesome hotel! Keep up the good work hotel staff!

Room Tip: The king suite room was very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Wow, your review is so nice! Thank you, coming from a travel agent that is high praise, and we are so pleased to have received your review. The staff and I take pride in the property, they are a great bunch to work with, I owe all the success of the property to their tireless work and their commitment to hospitality. Again, thank you and we look forward to seeing you again, our light is always on! Safe travel,

Jerry Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed there a few weekends ago. We had to book a room last minute because we were coming in town for a funeral. The rooms were quite pricy (we paid 200 for a suite, because we needed a handicap accessible room) but the regular rooms were 189 we were told. Jeremy who took my call though was great and gave us a AAA discount even though we didn't have AAA. Its easy to find, right off the highway, really close to tamarak and restuarants.

Check in was easy, but It was super packed there due to high school reunions and some teacher conference. Our second night there were no vacancies! I didn't have a problem at all there, i'm not a picky traveler. Rooms were clean, breakfast was very good for hotel food (though it was hard to find a table b/c off all the crowds!) they offer free cookies and coffee all day long in the lobby. We did not use the pool or exercise room but seemed nice. I did use the business center (which is 2 computers in the lobby) and they were very fast and decent. The lobby is cute, and they have a great outdoor patio with rocking chairs.

Our room was a suite, which had 2 queens, fridge, microwave, and a front room with a pullout couch and some armchairs. Great for my handicap grandmother to be able to sit in and rest between events we had. We asked to use a shower chair for her, and the desk brought one up for us no problem. My mother thought the shower pressure wasn't great. The only issue we had really was that we requested an accessible room, and our room was on the 3rd floor, and quite far from the elevator. it was a lot of work for my grandmother to go back and forth. i ended up using her seat walker as a wheelchair for her most of the time because it was too hard for her to get to our room. I know it's not the hotel's fault how the rooms are, and we did book last minute, but that part really bothered us and made our stay quite difficult.

other family also stayed in the hotel with us, and they said they had stayed in a Country Inn elsewhere before, and it wasn't as nice as this one. All in all, I thought it was a great stay (though pricey). It just makes a difference if you have a handicap person with you. I would stay here again just my husband and I if it weren't so pricey.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the property. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and just wanted to say thanks for the kind review. The staff works hard to meet expectations especially during our peak rate season, we are busy all the time. I am sorry though that the ADA room was located away from the elevator. We have several on the first floor but unfortunately they were reserved during your stay. I think the ADA room on third is a little too far I just wish I could fix that issue. Again, thank you and we look forward to your next visit!

Safe travels,

Jerry Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Country Inns and Suites during a family trip. Check-in was easy and the staff was friendly. However, when we got to our room the stench of smoke from a "no smoking" room made us back right back out. The staff at the front desk was helpful and apologetic, moving us to a new room immediately. The new room was fine except for an empty plastic cup on the night stand. The room was cold (about 52 degrees) so we turned the heat on to get the chill out. Unfortunately, a horrible burning stench came out of the unit which proceeded to set off the smoke alarm! Not a positive first few minutes to say the least!

After the excitement, I'm happy to report no other problems. The beds were fine and the shower was hot with good water pressure. The room itself was quite large with a room containing a bed and a small table with two chairs. The back room had two queen beds, so the set-up was great for a family of four. Breakfast was you typical cereal, breads, fruit waffles and some eggs, sausage, etc. The pool was larger than most, but a constant high-pitched squeal (a fan?) was head-ache inducing.

Upon check out, I'm happy to say that $35 was taken off our bill without any being asked. I feel that they really do care about their customers.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am so pleased the staff used their service recovery techniques learned through many training classes and staff meetings. We encourage our staff to be proactive and take appropriate action to resolve guest complaints while the guest is still on property. I have a great crew and I am so proud that they turned that frown upside down! Again, thank you for taking the time to review the property, your comments are important and will be shared at our monthly meeting. Safe travels!

Jerry Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley

Address: 2120 Harper Road, Beckley, WV 25801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley Hotel Beckley
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Beckley
Country Inn Beckley
Beckley Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.