We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb overnight accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2120 Harper Road, Beckley, WV 25801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 20%
Ranked #2 of 15 hotels in Beckley
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Superb overnight accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

We stayed in Beckley, WV overnight on a road trip between Tampa, FL and Toronto, Ontario, Canada. We were very tired and had not planned an overnight stopping point. It was pure luck that we came across this hotel. The room was very spacious. It contained 2 queen sized beds (unusual - most rooms have doubles), a microwave, small fridge, coffee maker, free wi-fi, clock radio and very large, well appointed bathroom. Hotel amenities include a heated indoor / outdoor pool and 2 jacuzzi's (one indoor, one outdoor). A hot breakfast is included in the price and the food was very tasty.

Staff were exceptionally efficient and helpful. There is an excellent selection of restaurants within walking distance. Overall, a very comfortable and convenient stay. Based on our experience, this property is an exception to the usual, off-the-highway options.

Room Tip: Rooms on main floor allowed easy access to cars for transporting baggage. Trollies available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    104
    45
    14
    5
See reviews for
121
60
10
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We were not pleased with our recent stay at the Country Inn and Suites at Beckley, West Virginia. We are members of the Gold Points Rewards and called their 800 number for a room. When we arrived, we got in the room and left for dinner. When we returned, we felt little bites on our legs and ankles. During the night, my husband could not sleep because he kept feeling bites around his face, neck and arms. Towards morning, we heard a dog bark nearby our room. When we got up, my husband was full of bites. We then felt it was probably flee bites from some previous dog that had been in the room. We asked at the front desk if the room was indeed used by pet owners, and it was in the past. The man at the front desk then gave us $25.00 off of our room rate because of our dissatisfaction.
We are unhappy because no one at the front desk informed us that the room was used by pet owners. We would not have stayed in that room if we knew it had been used by pets. Also, we feel that the 800 number service should have informed us that the hotel was pet friendly because we would have stated that we did not want a room that was used by pets.
Based on this experience, we will not be staying at a Country Inn and Suites in the future.

Room Tip: Check that you are not in a pet friendly room. Pet rooms are nice for pet owners, but they should o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

My wife, son, and two grandsons stopped here on the way to Chapel Hill NC. This was the first motel that our grandsons, 6 and 3 had stayed in. They loved the one bedroom suite and the indoor/outdoor pool. They did not understand why our next night stop did not have either. They really enjoyed the morning breakfast also. They said Wow never seen so many cereals. There were many hot and cold items to choose from and most important the coffee was excellent.

The rooms were very clean and comfortable. They were pretty much the standard Country Inn suites that one comes to expect. The staff was very courteous. We stayed on Thursday and again on Saturday. The staff remembered us and gave us a suite on the first floor with two queen beds. The morning breakfast room was very crowded and we could not find seating for 5. It was very convenient to go into the pool area and find seating for the family.

This was a great exit to stop as there were many restaurants and gas stations. For us it came after traveling the toll road on Thursday and before we started on the toll road, Sunday. There were not many stopping places on the toll road so this worked out great.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Almost ALL of the motels in West Virginia and other southern states have motels that you cannot open the windows. Its ridiculous and horrible. This Country Inn has windows that DO open. Its overpriced by at least 15% but Country Inns always are and this place has a pool etc.
The rooms are well worn but ok...similar to Comfort Inns. Its a good place to stay in this really weird town called Beckley that has the worst road designs I have ever seen in the USA.I am not
kidding. There is something wrong with this whole area but its hard to describe. I would stay away from here. I wont be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We stayed here for only one night while traveling down south for a family vacation. The hotel is in a safe area and it was clean. We had a nice room with two large tv's. The bathroom was clean. It was raining while we were there so I cannot comment on the pool outside. The indoor pool was clean. We did not use the hot tub.

The breakfast was your typical breakfast. It wasn't awesome, but it wasn't horrible. I don't expect a 5 star breakfast at a hotel anyway. I don't know why others do. I would stay here again when passing through.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Lots of bus tours, short on amenities, long on cost

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Because of the excellent reviews on tripadvisor we decided to try Country Inn and Suites .
The hotel was excellent. Our breakfast included hot waffles,bacon,eggs and hash browns. When in Beckley again this wil be our hotel of choice.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley

Address: 2120 Harper Road, Beckley, WV 25801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 hotels in Beckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Beckley
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley Hotel Beckley
Country Inn Beckley
Beckley Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.