We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pet Friendly Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2120 Harper Road, Beckley, WV 25801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 20%
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Pet Friendly Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed at this hotel as Beckley was a halfway point on our trip to NC. The hotel was very clean. Staying in a pet friendly room, I was a bit concerned that the room would carry with it residual smells, but we were pleasantly surprised. The breakfast area stocked the basic continental breakfast choices plus some extras, including a waffle maker. However, we did not get a chance to try the food as the breakfast area was very crowded. Walking my dog in the morning, I had a chance to chat with some of the hotel staff. Everyone was very friendly. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    128
    52
    16
    7
See reviews for
166
73
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, Ohio
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Got broken down in Beckley and were fortunate enough to land here. Staff was very helpful. Stayed 2 days going to Outer Banks and 2 days back due to car issues. Very nice pool area. Nice enough rooms, but when they are updated, it will be fabulous. We will return here. Our 8yo son loves it here. Good hot breakfast, bacon, eggs, fruit, sausage gravy and biscuits, all continental stuff. Clean but in need of an update, which they are doing. We have really enjoyed this area, lots to do and see. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

I sleep like a baby in the comfortable bed. The room was clean and presentable. The floors smelled when we arrived and the next day after the room was cleaned. I wonder if they used some type of wet cleaner on the carpet.
The breakfast was not that great. I have stayed at a lot of hotels which offer a free breakfast. This one is lacking. There were no muffins and the waffles tasted awful. The fruit came for a prepackaged jar. There may have been 6 types of fruit, but they all tasted the same due to the packaging. Go for the comfort and save your appetite for lunch.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Just back from one night at the Country Inn & Suites in Beckley, WV. It wasn't a perfect stay, with the hotel and other guests sharing the blame. First, do yourself a favor when booking rooms. Call the hotel directly and ask if they've done any room painting recently. I sure wish I had done that. We breathed paint fumes all night from our freshly finished walls. I know I could have asked for another room, but we had been on the road for nearly ten hours that day and I just wanted to sleep. On a scale of 1-10, I'd rate the fumes at a 6...extremely noticeable but tolerable if very tired. After deciding to stay put in the room, I got a quick shower (in a spotless bathroom.....extremely clean and tidy.....credit to Rose the housekeeper) and tried to set my alarm. Last month, I spent a week in a hotel with the exact same clock radio as my Country Inn room. The other radio worked just fine. This one didn't. No big deal......I really needed some rest, so I just picked up the phone to leave a wake up call with the front desk. Only one problem...the phone was dead. I checked all the outlets, etc., and everything was plugged in. I even plugged the phone into an empty phone jack on the other side of the room with no luck. While I had a cell phone with me and could use it for calls and an alarm, here's my problem.....there aren't many things in a hotel room that need to work (a phone, a TV, and a few lamps), so why can't hotels make sure those things are always in working order?? Regardless, we did have a good night's sleep in the comfy beds. When we got up the next day, we skipped the hotel breakfast. No disrespect to the food (which we never got close enough to see), but the breakfast room was filled to the rafters with vacationing families and their young kids. We skipped it and went somewhere else. If I'm in the area again, I'd probably book the Hampton Inn across the street. It's very nice. I chose Country Inn this time due to an internet promotion.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powhatan, Virginia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

his hotel has it all for a respective price. Huge pool. They are redoing the hotel completly.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central OH
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

We stopped here on our last night of vacation (this was hotel #8 for us on this trip). We were in a room with two queen beds and had no complaints. The staff at check-in was very pleasant. We saw the warning that the hotel was undergoing renovations, but we were not disturbed by any noise. The rooms seem to be well soundproofed as it was a very large hotel that appeared to be rather full the day we were there, but we didn't hear much of anything. Our room was in the middle of a wing and faced the back, so not sure if things would have been different closer to the elevator or faced the road.

The room had a fridge, microwave and table with two chairs (perfect for playing a game). The room was very clean and the towels here were much better than the last Country Inn & Suites we stayed at.

There were indoor and outdoor pools and hot tubs, but we didn't get to try them out. Thursday morning is pool cleaning time (it was very clearly stated when we made the reservation) and we never got down there Wednesday night before the 10 PM closing.

The breakfast room was good sized. I had been concerned about finding a seat due to the size of the hotel, but we were apparently late enough risers that there were plenty of spots to choose from.

We would definitely stay here again if we pass through the area. It was less than $100 with tax for our one night stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

We stayed one night here on our way down to Hilton Head Island. Beckley is almost perfectly at the half way spot of the trip. We were traveling with two teen boys, so the two beds and sofa bed were a must have. Overall, the place was decent. No complaints about cleanliness or service. Price seemed a bit high for this level of a property.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley

Address: 2120 Harper Road, Beckley, WV 25801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Beckley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Beckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley Hotel Beckley
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Beckley
Country Inn Beckley
Beckley Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beckley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.