We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent evening!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Theater West Virginia

Theater West Virginia
Whitestick Street, Beckley, WV 25802
800-666-9142
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 5 Attractions in Beckley
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Outdoor dramas. Mid June through late August. Nightly except Mondays.
Beckley, West Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An excellent evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Contrary to some listings, this show is NOT closed. The acting and singing is excellent, the story compelling, and the evening enjoyable. A lovely evening!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    15
    2
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A fun and entertaining evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Our group attended an evening performance of The Hatfields and the McCoys. We arrived an hour early and enjoyed a local group singing mostly original, folksy tunes until show time. Prior to the show, a man talked about the history of the theater. Apparently, it was forced to close for a time and it was recently reopened. It was a personal touch that conveyed to the audience the heritage and pride local folks take in this operation. The 3 hour play went by quickly with the inclusion of song, dance, and acting. It told the family story of what happens when we don't forgive and seek our own vengeance. The ending was a delightful surprise as they "gathered at the river." If it wasn't for the occasional use of strong language, I could wholeheartedly recommend this for the whole family.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckley, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Broadway Show in West Virginia !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

The hills of West Virginia are alive with great plays, such as "The Rocket Boys, The Wizard of Oz, The Hatfields and McCoys". Located in Grandview State Park, bring a picnic and make it a day event, shows start at dusk, Rain or shine so dress accordingly.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Rocket Boys”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This outdoor theater is a must see if you enjoy theater. Rocket Boys was enjoyable and priced right (use your AAA card for a discount). I gave it only 4 stars because the night I saw this there were some issues with the microphones and some dialogue was lost. Otherwise I cannot think of a more pleasant way to spend an evening.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Waste of money and no rain check”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Wife and I (seniors) paid $54.96 online for show tickets (general admission - sit wherever) and drove to West Virginia and stayed in nearby Charleston. On afternoon of performance, rainstorms made it impossible to drive to Beckley, let alone sit there until after 8 pm to find out if show was cancelled. We called from road and said they couldn't tell us if it would be cancelled until the intermission. Couldn't get there. Sent email. Got answer that we had to cancel 24 hours in advance (when it wasn't raining) and would not even give us a rain check, because show went on despite afternoon weather. At minimum wage these tickets cost eight hours of take home pay, and the rain check would have cost them nothing. Warning! Don't buy online and lose all your money!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Theater West Virginia also viewed

 

Been to Theater West Virginia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Theater West Virginia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.