We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waste of money and no rain check” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Theater West Virginia

Theater West Virginia
Whitestick Street, Beckley, WV 25802
800-666-9142
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 5 Attractions in Beckley
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Outdoor dramas. Mid June through late August. Nightly except Mondays.
Hatfield, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Waste of money and no rain check”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Wife and I (seniors) paid $54.96 online for show tickets (general admission - sit wherever) and drove to West Virginia and stayed in nearby Charleston. On afternoon of performance, rainstorms made it impossible to drive to Beckley, let alone sit there until after 8 pm to find out if show was cancelled. We called from road and said they couldn't tell us if it would be cancelled until the intermission. Couldn't get there. Sent email. Got answer that we had to cancel 24 hours in advance (when it wasn't raining) and would not even give us a rain check, because show went on despite afternoon weather. At minimum wage these tickets cost eight hours of take home pay, and the rain check would have cost them nothing. Warning! Don't buy online and lose all your money!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    15
    2
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Daniels, West Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“excellent show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

my mom and grandaughter and i went and seen wizard of oz and it was awesome.everyone did an excellent job of acting and singing.i would highly recommend this show to everyone.great job!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“I love this Theatre!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We attended all three musicals, even though one was in the rain- the show must go on! we will return for Rocket Boys!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent shows. Lots of action. Lots of fun.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My wife and I saw all three of the shows that were playing. They were very entertaining. The quality of the actors and actresses were a cut above most companies. The singing and dancing was outstanding. You can learn a lot about the history of the area which is another plus. They performed "Honey in the Rock", about how West Virginia became a state during the Civil War, "Hatfields & McCoys" which doesn't need explaining, and this year, "Wizard of Oz" , which had over 1000 people there the night we attended. A Broadway-quality show. Lights and sets were great. It was a joy to see so many kids there with their families.Good, wholesome entertainment. A must see!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My nephews (9 and 11) and I went to see the Honey in the Rock. The play was wonderful. There were a few technical difficulties, but nothing that really disrupted the play. They offered snacks at a reasonable price. The setting was wonderful, but a little scary to drive out of at night.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Theater West Virginia also viewed

 

Been to Theater West Virginia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Theater West Virginia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.