We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this Theatre!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Theater West Virginia

Theater West Virginia
Whitestick Street, Beckley, WV
800-666-9142
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #4 of 6 attractions in Beckley
Type: Theaters
Attraction Details
Buffalo, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“I love this Theatre!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We attended all three musicals, even though one was in the rain- the show must go on! we will return for Rocket Boys!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    7
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent shows. Lots of action. Lots of fun.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My wife and I saw all three of the shows that were playing. They were very entertaining. The quality of the actors and actresses were a cut above most companies. The singing and dancing was outstanding. You can learn a lot about the history of the area which is another plus. They performed "Honey in the Rock", about how West Virginia became a state during the Civil War, "Hatfields & McCoys" which doesn't need explaining, and this year, "Wizard of Oz" , which had over 1000 people there the night we attended. A Broadway-quality show. Lights and sets were great. It was a joy to see so many kids there with their families.Good, wholesome entertainment. A must see!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My nephews (9 and 11) and I went to see the Honey in the Rock. The play was wonderful. There were a few technical difficulties, but nothing that really disrupted the play. They offered snacks at a reasonable price. The setting was wonderful, but a little scary to drive out of at night.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“West Virginia's Best Kept Secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Little did I know that I would be amazed and entertained by this excellent show in the middle of nowhere. People come from all over the county to see this wonderful production. I will definitely go back. We saw Hatfields and Mcoys and want to return to see Honey in the Rock.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckley
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Theater West Virginia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Wonderful outdoor drama/plays. At least 3 different ones and some concerts during the summers. Well worth it. The acting and environment is great for all ages. We usually go on the first night of the performances as we are local. So sometimes these nights they are still getting some of the acoustical kinks out, but they always have it worked out by the end of the first show where locals can get in free with canned goods for the local food pantries and advanced reservations.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Theater West Virginia also viewed

 

Been to Theater West Virginia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Theater West Virginia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.